X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abhostel Reviews

Kattenberg 110, Antwerp, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
856 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is exactly like a hostel should be. Bridget & Greg go out of their way to make your stay in Antwerpen enjoyable. When you checkin you will be given loads of tips of what to do in Antwerpen with a nice map. The Hostel is a bit outside of the city center (but very walkable) in a safe and quiet residential area. The hostel got decent facilities and is very clean. It also got the most comfortable hostel beds I have ever slept on!! Nogmaals bedankt, groeten van Dennis uit Nederland :).

Owner Comment (Hide)
That s exactly the hostel that we want to be, a little bit outside but in a safe, interesting area with loads of tips, comfartable, decent and very clean. Making it enjoyable for great guests is not diffucult at all ;) thanks heaps!

91%

This was a very comfortable hostel. Myself and my friends all commented about how much they enjoyed staying at the hostel. There was an excellent roof garden to spend time in. The kitchen was well equipped and saved us money by being able to cook ourselves meals. Things that the hostel failed at, were the lack of hand towels. It may sound like a small bugbear but after washing your hands you really want to dry your hands obviously. The lack of hot water in the communal bathroom was annoying.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for enjoying our exellent roof top and fully equipped kitchen :) luckily the water in the showers are hot and only the sink in the bathroom has cold water to brush your teeths,... We also like to think about the environment without giving not to much lack of luxery! x bridget

94%

This was a lovely hostel to stay in. The interior decoration was really special and homely and everyone was very friendly. No complaints at all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
So great to here, no complaints at all! The interior decoration keeps on growing so we hope someday you come to check it out :) thanks!!

100%

The hostel was lovely, Bridget and Greg were excellent hosts and I will definitely stay there again should I return to Antwerp!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you soooo much for this 10/10 this keeps us going :) x

80%

Funky hostel with cool atmosphere. A bit disappointed in the room we were given as we booked a twin private. But we had to go through a dorm room to get to our room and we were right next to the outdoor area where everyone drinks at night. So was a noisy room when we wanted a quite one. Other than that the hostel was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for finding us funky and great! The outdoor area is kept quiet! But we also like a cool atmosphere! We try to make everybody happy! But,... HaPpY travels :) x

89%

Great place to stay in Antwerp! It's away from the touristy area which is great for an alternative view of the city.... Although I only stayed two nights, I would gladly stay for longer! Staff are extremely hospitable and made sure everyone was taken care of! Fantastic place! Jonny

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That s what we also like an alternative view but close enough to the touristy area! Thanks and next time, stay longer ;) x

94%

Abhostel is one of those gems that you want to hold out in the sun to shine upon the whole world. From the moment we got there the the owners personally showed us around, giving tips and recommendations on Antwerp. Their hospitality & generosity is rare for a hostel. It is more of a home, opened to weary travelers who are ready to relax in a safe, comfy and relaxing environment with good showers, bathrooms, and lots if space in the dorms. Great kitchen to cook! HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woooow, tears! THANKS! x

94%

amazing place - some rooms have windows only to the inside, but the the hostel is perfect. commen facilities are large and well kept. beer wending machine, self service breakfast included. games, video, books, maps.... Bridget and Greg are amazing - the gave me a lot of insider tips to visit the city. You can also get a "use-it" map which is great. Location is a bit of the center in an area mostly inhabited by arabian people, which also means many interesting shops and food stores.


97%

A thoroughly enjoyable visit; would recommend to anyone visiting Antwerp and wanting to experience the local area/ meet new people. Bridget and Greg gave us such a warm welcome and we felt comfortable in the hostel instantly; really clean and a lovely atmosphere.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you sooo much. That s really what we really want to share our local area/ meeting new people in a warm, welcome atmosphere! x bridget&greg

77%

Bridget & Greg are very warm and welcoming, the atmosphere of the hostel was cool and i liked the creativity put to decorating

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent staff, one of the best hostel ever. Free wifi. Only negative thing is the toilets which should be more private.


83%

Located 10min by foot from the train station, in an area with lots of late-night convenience stores and some cafes. Spacious common area, with TV and book exchange and even a guitar. Greg explains very nicely the sights to catch in Antwerp and places to eat near the hostel. Breakfast is bread, milk, cereal and eggs, with a selection of bread spreads. Secure lockers with key provided, but large enough for valuables only. Bathrooms shared but comfy enough. Place with great character.


94%

Abhostel was an oasis in Antwerp. Bridget and Greg are incredibly kind and hospitable, the hostel itself is immaculate (great showers, beds, wifi, info, and breakfast), and the people who stayed there are great. The only negative was the location: a bit of a walk from Antwerp Centraal and not located in the best area. But overall, my stay was very pleasant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We try to keep our house immaculate, thanks for noticing :) x

86%

Not bad at all, reasonably cheap, walk distance from the CS and well connected with bus and trams Very cozy environment, nice breakfast, and decent shared toilet I spent only two days but I could have easily stayed more! Good service!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Grazie mille! x

91%

Great hostel, clean and spacious, run by a super friendly family. Internet works well, especially in the rooms. Common space is huge and kitchen has all the basics. We got an introduction on the city by one of the owners, which was extremely informative and helpful. However, in the evening the family retreats to their private quarters and check-in times are limited. Maybe it's an idea to attract a volunteer to work in the evenings?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! And we re flexible with those limited check in hours. It s just to keep our prices as low as possible,... x

94%

Such a cool hostel! Greg and Bridget were so friendly, made sure you'd feel right at home! Huge kitchen and common room makes it ideal to meet other travellers. I highly recommend this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
That s what we think is the most important meeting fellow travellers and make friends from all over the world :) thanks!! x

97%

FANTASTIC place. Bridget and Greg were lovely. Eggs we available for breakfast, rooms were cozy, everyone was super welcoming. Probably the best hostel we've stayed at.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for liking us! HaPpY travels! x

63%

Its out of the way and area isnt nice. Full of mosquitos and the owners dont care at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest! Believe me if we would not care,... We would not check you in outside of check in hours, gave you tips an a map about alll the new trendy things happening in this area, showed you around so you could feel at home, helped you with you re sleeping problem and your allergies, invite you to a free dinner, have intercoms so you could reach us 24 h, buy expensive anti mosquito plugs and mosquito screens,.... We do care, a lot! Happy travels!

91%

Yup, stay here :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yup, come back soon :)

57%

Staff was nice at first. Full of mosquitos. If in a room upstairs, you must shower downstairs. Wifi didnt work. A bit out of the way, but not too far. Social, met some cool people. Everything was ok til the last day. It was 10:59 am, I was downstairs in common area with my luggage, and staff got really aggressive & pretty much said we need to get the F out by 11 or will be charged half day. I've been to many hostels and have never been to a place where we couldn't be in the lobby after checkout.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our common room is great. We understand you and all your newly made friends still wanted to enjoy it and the free drinks and the free breakfast,... But yeah, I think this is just a common sense case! We offer you a free anti mosquito thing to plug in! But ypu heve to plug it in! Keeping the terrace door closed at night also helps! Wifi works! Please if you give a review be honest! This really hurts. You even thanked us for the best hostel ever when you left!?

(628 results)


View all Antwerp Hostels

Please give us your feedback