X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abigails Hostel Reviews

7 - 9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5877 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The 12 Bed dorm was not pleasant. I only stayed two nights, but the room did not appear to be cleaned in that time (shower and toliets- gross!) The male staff were very friendly and helpful, but the two female staff I encountered were quite rude, and didn't try to help in the slightest- they appeared to be put out by me even asking a question.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff was excellent. Location was excellent.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The location of the hostel is absolutely great! You're very close to the center and all the 'buzz', but yet you're not in the middle of it. The breakfast was so-so, but still good enough for the total price you're paying.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

el hostel esta muy bien, situado en todo el centro de dublin. lo mejor es la hubicaci'on. el desayuno esta muy bien. lo que veo que le falta es que al compartir habitacion con mas gente deberian tener consignas en las habitaciones para obtener un poco mas de seguracion con las pertenencias.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel!!!


94%

Great people there! Beautiful and helpful staff!! I was astonihed at the seeing of a specially designed for glass bin. It was full of cardboards (pizzas) and tins. There were a few very rude women shouting and burping late at night! God forgive them! That...I didn't like. Fare price, God bless you all. Please, follow mw in facebook. Thanks a lot. Alica Riesco Chueca


69%

This was my second stay and my impression was that the quality has decayed. I would still recommend Abigail's, but with caveats: The lockers are very expensive. 4 € a day just to keep your laptop safe. The receptionist was nice, but he didn't have a clue of how the lockers work. That cost me another 3 € because I made a mistake the first time I tried to use a locker. One of the lightbulbs in the toilet was burnt out. Overall, still a decent choice, but certainly not great.


94%

Very nice 8 dorm with a view on the river !


80%

Location is great. The hostel is huge and feels more like a cheap hotel than a hostel. Guests don't really mingle as a result and the staff don't get to know guests either. The staff are helpful when you ask them.


57%

Whilst the hostel is in a great location, the security was a little lax on the front door. I have also stayed in cleaner hostels in the middle of New York, with cleaner bed linen, so I was not impressed on that front.The room was cold, and they obviously didnt think about double glazed windows!! I was also unimpressed that loud and noisy groups were able to carry on unchecked at stupid hours in the morning.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is very centrally located and only a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport. It was easy to get to all the places we wanted by walking. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast that is included is okay and the rooms are alright. I was mostly concerned about something getting stolen since there are no lockers/locks in the rooms, but there seems to be a trust system, so that gave me a slight boost of confidence. Overall, the hostel did the job.


69%

price quality ratio was ok. the breakfast was scanty but at least you got something to eat. The bunkbed and blankets where bad quality but sleepable. one particulire complain wich is not acceptable for an hostel are the doors on the corridor. When somebody is enter (wich is a lot beceaus its a big hostel) you hear a big roll like someone is close the door in prison. We couldnt sleep of it!!! so this is mayby a suggestion for the hostel.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This might be one of the best hostels to stay in because it has a welcoming layout and luggage room on the ground floor and security lockers for a small charge. There just aren't any padlock lockers in the rooms. Would a large suitcase fit in there anyway? Perhaps something the size of a backpack. There is a laundrette next door but no washing macihe facilities or guests to access. But everything else was really good. Lots of brownie points for the lift!


77%

Location is the strength of this hostel. Beds are also comfortable. FYI: this is a major party hostel, with parties spilling out into the hallways and rooms throughout the night, so don't expect much sleep.


74%

Great hostel for a party weekend, most annoying was the automatic closure of the doors. The loud slamming throughout the night makes it impossible to sleep properly - you should install some sort of door stop to soften the noise.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Just a cheap, central, decent option.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, bus stop literally right out the front. Loved that the wifi worked everywhere and there was 2 power points, a light, and a shelf for each bed. Massive bathroom in our room with an actual bath tub was surprising to see. Would stay again!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

7 of us stayed here for 2nights. The location was fab and the staff were very helpful. Would definitely return

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The place is full of mould I paid for 2 nights but only stayed 1 and couldn't get a refund


83%

you get what you pay for.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(302 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback