X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abigails Hostel Reviews

7 - 9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7124 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Good hostel in a great location. One of the better experiences I've ever had in a hostel.


91%

The cleanliness of this hostel really nailed it for me. Right on the river, the noise actually wasn't too bad at all! The kitchen was always sparkly, and the bathrooms were actually really clean! (I stayed in mostly all-female dorms which helps!) I have had hostel experiences that definitely felt more like 'home', but it's in such a heavily tourist-dense area that it felt a lot like a hotel version of a hostel! Overall, absolutely lovely, though!


97%

We stayed at Abigail's Hostel throughout the month of August as we were travelling around Ireland and using Dublin as our base. We used three different rooms - the three person private, a five person private and a six-bed mixed dorm. The rooms were great - a bit dated, but extremely clean and comfortable. I also loved the atmosphere of Abigail's hostel - the hostel itself is brightly coloured and fun, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Abigail hostel was my first hostel in my life, I must to say that was a very wonderful experience! I will return :)

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Location was great. Quiet considering area. Whole floor and room smelt like a men's uribal though which was not very pleasant. Room and bathroom furnishings and fittings very outdated. Breakfast was great.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

You have where to plug in your bed and your lamp. The kitchen is beautiful and clean!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel! Very clean and nice!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were clean, comfy bed, nice common area

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

One of our group left an iPad behind and the staff organised to have it sent on to the next convenient city, excellent service!


94%

Friendly staff who was more than willing to answer all my questions. Everything was clean and the rooms was nice and big. free breakfast as well!


89%

I loved the location and the shared fridge. Breakfast in the mornings helped out a ton and just the overall staff was very helpful.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A very nice hostel. Location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. However the room could be a bit cleaner, the floor was full of Hair. Value of money is excellent because everything you need is there. You can book nearly everything at the reception (bustours, airport shuttles, taxis, pub crawls etc.) I would come definitely come back!!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostal was really nice. Just it's too big, so might be a little big a bit impersonal if you are travelling on your own.. The rooms are nice, but bigger when there's more people, so I recommend to book that. The bathroom is inside the room, and that takes away the privacy. Plus showers are tiny. But overall, staff is really helpful, location is perfect, everything is clean, there is free breakfast, a nice kitchen.. Wich makes the relation quality/price very good.


66%

My girlfriend and I stayed here after a terrible hostel experience elsewhere in Ireland and it was a nice change. The rooms were modestly spacious and had their own separate toilet / shower. It was fairly clean and had a nice common area. It is a good walking distance to bars and the heart of Dublin.


100%

Thanks for everything guys! Couldnt wish for more! Excellent Clean hotel, with and Extremely friendly and helpful staff!!! Fergal did a brilliant job!!! Well Done Abigail!

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

very good hostel, maybe just the kitchen a little bit small for the number of the guests, so very busy something

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Positive: excellent position in the city centre, very useful power oulets and lamps in each bed, good wifi, luggage store for free. Negative: little kitchen and not enough tables for the number of guests, so at dinner time it gets hard to cook and to find a place to eat. All in all a good stay.


89%

I felt very safe and comfortable in this well equipped hostel - but it would be really great if there would have been free lockers in the room (under the beds for example) as they are in other hostels and not just in the lobby for which you must pay. And great to have a hairdryer at the bathroom - needless to say that backpackers normally don't have one with their stuff. :-)


69%

First time, no warm water on the shower !!!!


91%

After a rough start with no hot water (misbehaving boiler!), leaky bathroom sink and light bulbs out, our stay turned out very well. This was due to friendly and efficient staff, who attended to the issues as quickly as possible. A little updating of the facility and rooms would help to move stays from very good to excellent.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(352 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback