X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Abraham House Reviews

82 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5070 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Stayed in a 2 bed private ensuite. Nice and clean, room was lovely and bright - loved the availability of ensuite rooms. Not many places can offer that. Was about a 10 min walk to Temple Bar which was not too far but far enough that it was nice for a quiet night's sleep. Would definitely stay again!


46%

I don't believe our room was cleaned before we moved in. There was hair in the shower, in the beds and everything was stained. The balcony was locked but through an open window people threw a lot of trash there. The breakfast was mouldy (!!) and we always ate somewhere else. It wasn't mentioned that a room for three people had only two beds. The lamp on the night stand was broken, the one on the ceiling was too low to walk underneath and the mirror was too low to look into it. Not recommended!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff during the day was very nice and helpful, although was not the same at night shift, he was watching the TV and not even looking at us when he gave us the beddings. The first day, the public toilets were out of use ( all of them) and the cleanliness was very por.


86%

We loved our stay the atmosphere was really good .We met a few in the hostel and all ended up going out to a nightclub together.We stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm was grand all people in dorm were friendly.Unfortunately there was ony wifi in the communal areas.There was a main bathroom for us which was good cean and spacious .It was strange having to bring bed linen down the next morning but for 13 euro a night I guess youve to save some way. The breakfast was fantastic.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in a large dorm, where there was only one bathroom for 10 girls. This meant often waiting to use te bathroom. In general there was a large lack of toilets around the hostel.


91%

very good and very nice staff, ready to help and provide information thank you


100%

It was a good experiencie and i could met new people.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful place to stay, sets a great name for hostels

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

location was great

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

We booked ensuite room no-59 for 135 euro for 2 adults and one kid.The staff at the reception was very rude .When we entered the room,it was smelling bad .The room is very dirty and the bed sheets are not clean and smelling badly.The worst part was the toilet which was not flushed,the shower was not working.It was a nightmare for us and we leave early without taking breakfast.When we complain this to reception,the staff has no reaction and just give us a smile to show us that he does not care.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

We only stayed one night after a concert and generally enjoyed our stay, Staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and very happy to help but housekeeping staff were very rude the following morning telling us to vacate the room around quarter past ten as she 'didn't have time'.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent hostel. No atmosphere at all since the common areas are really awkward and split up. Beds and bathrooms were clean enough but facilities could be updated. The hostel itself was huge and like a maze.


20%

Awful staff so unhelpful disgusting behaviour by staff thieves stole my money while I was on the phone trying to cancel my booking due to family death.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Awful set up. Like a maze to get to your dorm. Security is a joke. Spend the money and upgrade to a key card system. It will make things easier for everyone. The random lounge areas in the hallway also just awkward. If you are looking for a cheap place with no real atmosphere go ahead. If you are a lone traveler, not advised as no real way to mingle.


94%

Was only here for one night for an airport transfer. The security is good for the fact you need to leave your key at the hostel before you leave, the downside is that there arent any lockers in your room so your bags are pretty much free to anyone. So bring locks. Had a nice stay there and the price was really nice considering there was a concert going on that weekend.


54%

Do NOT stay here. The bathrooms were disgusting, and toilet didn't work, and the floors were fithy. The reviews were not accurate and we were very dissapointed

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It would be great if the hostel features some activities like quiz, go all together to a pub, DVD night, dinner in the kitchen all together, ... activities in order to approximate customers. It would be great if the hostel features a telephone to let customers receive phone calls.


80%

We only stayed at Abraham house for two nights so its hard to say much. The location is perfect, the staff was really nice and was able to tell us information about all trips we could enjoy. Breakfast was continental breakfast which only consisted of bread and jam. A toaster would have been nice and maybe more varieties of jam. We just saw orange jam. Dublin is an expensive city but seeing the price for those two nights the value for that money was good. Its still a nice hostel :-)


71%

10-15minutes walk to the centre of Dublin and a Tesco near by. Supplied sheets and a free breakfast. Breakfast was bread, boiled eggs, canned fruit, cereal, coffee and tea. But whenever you leave/enter the building you give the key to the front desk, which would be fine, if there wasn't a line when you wanted to get the key to your room.Also, there were alot of families/school kids at the hostel. Wasn't easy to meet other travelers. Good for a money though,

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We ended up staying here because other places didn't let us book less than 3 days during a weekend, but we were not disappointed. Good location and friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Thanks!


(123 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback