X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abraham House Reviews

82 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
5216 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

very good and very nice staff, ready to help and provide information thank you


100%

It was a good experiencie and i could met new people.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful place to stay, sets a great name for hostels

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

location was great


34%

We booked ensuite room no-59 for 135 euro for 2 adults and one kid.The staff at the reception was very rude .When we entered the room,it was smelling bad .The room is very dirty and the bed sheets are not clean and smelling badly.The worst part was the toilet which was not flushed,the shower was not working.It was a nightmare for us and we leave early without taking breakfast.When we complain this to reception,the staff has no reaction and just give us a smile to show us that he does not care.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

We only stayed one night after a concert and generally enjoyed our stay, Staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and very happy to help but housekeeping staff were very rude the following morning telling us to vacate the room around quarter past ten as she 'didn't have time'.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Decent hostel. No atmosphere at all since the common areas are really awkward and split up. Beds and bathrooms were clean enough but facilities could be updated. The hostel itself was huge and like a maze.


20%

Awful staff so unhelpful disgusting behaviour by staff thieves stole my money while I was on the phone trying to cancel my booking due to family death.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Awful set up. Like a maze to get to your dorm. Security is a joke. Spend the money and upgrade to a key card system. It will make things easier for everyone. The random lounge areas in the hallway also just awkward. If you are looking for a cheap place with no real atmosphere go ahead. If you are a lone traveler, not advised as no real way to mingle.


94%

Was only here for one night for an airport transfer. The security is good for the fact you need to leave your key at the hostel before you leave, the downside is that there arent any lockers in your room so your bags are pretty much free to anyone. So bring locks. Had a nice stay there and the price was really nice considering there was a concert going on that weekend.


54%

Do NOT stay here. The bathrooms were disgusting, and toilet didn't work, and the floors were fithy. The reviews were not accurate and we were very dissapointed

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It would be great if the hostel features some activities like quiz, go all together to a pub, DVD night, dinner in the kitchen all together, ... activities in order to approximate customers. It would be great if the hostel features a telephone to let customers receive phone calls.


80%

We only stayed at Abraham house for two nights so its hard to say much. The location is perfect, the staff was really nice and was able to tell us information about all trips we could enjoy. Breakfast was continental breakfast which only consisted of bread and jam. A toaster would have been nice and maybe more varieties of jam. We just saw orange jam. Dublin is an expensive city but seeing the price for those two nights the value for that money was good. Its still a nice hostel :-)


71%

10-15minutes walk to the centre of Dublin and a Tesco near by. Supplied sheets and a free breakfast. Breakfast was bread, boiled eggs, canned fruit, cereal, coffee and tea. But whenever you leave/enter the building you give the key to the front desk, which would be fine, if there wasn't a line when you wanted to get the key to your room.Also, there were alot of families/school kids at the hostel. Wasn't easy to meet other travelers. Good for a money though,

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We ended up staying here because other places didn't let us book less than 3 days during a weekend, but we were not disappointed. Good location and friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Thanks!


77%

The staff here were extremely friendly and the location is great - a short walk to Temple Bar area. However, I booked here for a few euros more per night so my 3 friends and I could be in the same room - but we had to be split up the first night. There was a huge puddle outside our bathroom that did not dry and it smelled strongly of mildew. There is no housekeeping so you need to bring back the bed linens. I guess the above is common in most hostels, but I've paid less for better facilities.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Its on a busy street but the 1st floor rooms are very quiet at night, great value.


77%

Good location, spacious rooms. Small common area. Basic hostel but good value for the low prices.


97%

Lucky the staff attended us very good and helpful but I can observed a moment some other staff were not that good attending the on coming travellers. no smiling or welcome faces at all.


80%

3rd time at Abraham's with a group of students . I used to love the place but this year our food was constantly stolen from cupboards and fridges. Hard luck when you have to cook for 20 people. A coat disappeared from a bedroom too. Life must be getting harder in Dublin. The staff at the desk is extremely helpful and always very friendly. Rather noise on Friday night.


(148 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback