X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Abrahams Hostel Reviews

82 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
6862 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The stay was good but -and this is a criticism that actually extends to most hostels in Dublin- it is ridiculously expensive during the weekend. Cold showers happened on Saturday morning where there was a group of a zillion high school students probably all having showers before breakfast, so just have a shower at another time (warm and nice at other times). Breakfast is very simple and on Saturday there was no space to sit down or functioning toasters. Good for exploring the centre.


100%

Staff were friendly and helpful, having breakfast included was nice!

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice and clean, friendly staff, good quality for a hostel. Only minus was the quite expensive price.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great stay, staff was nice and very helpful, location was great as well.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Kind of dirty, but good location and relatively cheap for dublin.

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is well located and clean, but completely void of character. No space for people to hang out inside the hostel, and the small couch area in the front was completely empty, even on a Friday. Gets the job done for a place to sleep, but don't expect to have any memorable experiences.


69%

The bathrooms could have been cleaned more regularly. The beds and floor were relatively clean. The staff could have been more helpful, but didn't really have a negative experience staying here.


94%

Couldn't find a shower, though that may have just been because I was rushing in the morning

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

If you are looking for a place just to sleep and to have a very nice breakfast (which is included in the price), it's the right place to go. The location is excellent and staff are friendly and helpful. However, the building is a bit old and I've seen nicer ones. Also, the beds are shaking with every move you make, and there is not much space for your stuff in the rooms, and no lockers in the rooms. A big bonus are individual reading lamps, sockets and USB ports to charge phones or whatever.


80%

A great, basic hostel. Staff was always accommodating, helpful, and friendly. Was in a bit of a situation with a guy who wouldn't leave me alone and they quickly helped to move to me to another room. A bit of a rough interior, and at first can be a bit of a maze to get to your room depending on where you're placed, but very typical for the pricing of the hostel as I've seen on other travels--I expected as much. Nice breakfast to start the day, good placement of hostel to get anywhere in Dublin.


80%

Good hostel, I was quite happy with it. Stayed there twice within 10 days. First time was in a 12 dorm room, I really liked it. The second time was in a 4 dorm room and I wasn't as impressed, the outlet for my phone was far away and the wifi didn't work in my room.


100%

Definetily I recommend it!


20%

The luggage room was not secure. The beds were very uncomfortable. The room smelt bad. The people were very nice though. It was very easy to sneak someone in. For example in my room there was 2 people who didn't even pay to be there. They slept with their friends for free.

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I felt the staff were helpful and informative. The breakfast was also very good and big enough to actually not be hungry later on during the day!

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel gets bonus points for providing charging stations at each individual bed. The location is great, easy walk to get anywhere worth visiting in Dublin. The hostel is quite large, and I was surprised by how many different stair ways and halls were present. Staff were fine, not overly friendly, but did their job. Only con was the stair ways leading to the kitchen. They are severely bowing in and it's only a matter of time until they collapse.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel was less than thrilling. They messed up the reservation and we're just not helpful in trying to accomodate. Overall, the rooms were fine and the shower basically never got hot. Overall the location was kind of out of the way which kept it quiet but a bit of a walk to the bars and sights.


89%

The hostel was in great location. Rooms were clean and common area downstairs was spacious.


74%

Tiniest bathrooms ever for an 18 person room, even the bathrooms in the hall were bigger


97%

the staff were really friendly and I like the people who stayed there. Very convenient location and the bus stop is just outside the hostel. It's a good option for those who want to explore Dublin.

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Would be better if staff would check the occupants whether they really belong there. When hostel is booked out, people sneak in and hang around in the common areas over night. Then the same guys eat breakfast in the morning etc. Ridiculous !!!


(191 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback