Hostelworld.com

Absolute Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Absolute Backpackers Located at 28 Wongaling Beach Road, Mission Beach, Mission Beach.
Absolute Backpackers
Australia
Mission Beach Queensland 4852 28 Wongaling Beach Road, Mission Beach
76% 498
-17.8960944 146.0928869
Absolute Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th May 2016
8.3

Quiet place in green surroundings. Great for beach walks but not very practical for self organized trips since the first public bus comes by at noon. Staff is supportiv and Wifi good in the reception area. Cheapest dorm room could use a change of matress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
6.3

Nice hostel. Close to the bus stop and bottle shop but that's about it. A lot of people at the hostel were working there I believe, so the atmosphere wasn't great but chilled out. Good for 1 night's stay for the skydive and that's about it I think. Even the main street is tiny so not much to do there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. It is deliberate that Absolute has a chilled out atmosphere, we find that guests choose us because they want to put their feet up and relax for a few days. Mission Beach is a quiet little town however there is a lot to do, or you can just choose to chill. We feel we are perfectly located to suit all the needs of our guests.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.6

Extremely close to the greyhound bus stop and also Woolworths. Really friendly staff and they have a DVD room which is cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We do pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and we also consider that the hostel is the most conveniently located to suit the needs of our guests.

7th Apr 2016
6.0

Location is ideal for the greyhound bus but is a 50 minute walk from mission beach and the Main Street. Public buses run but not very often. Hostel is okay for the night with a large kitchen and good wifi, with clean enough bathroom. If going back to mission beach (with I doubt I ever would as is pretty dull) would stay closer to town centre

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.3

The staff here are really friendly, the kitchen is well equipped and clean, bathrooms are clean, a nice pool area and tv room with loads of choices of DVDs. Dorms are very spacious, however ours was just off the road away from the rest of the hostel which felt a bit unsafe but that's the only fault. Location is good, five minute walk to woolworths and to the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2016
6.0

Decent hostel and good location for skydive pickup Downside was we had a small 4 bed dorm outside and down by the road so had to trek up the main hostel every time we needed a bathroom/ toilet in the night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys & thanks for your feedback, the 4 bed dorm that you chose to stay in is approx 30 mtrs away from the bathrooms, its also the cheapest room we offer, we have accommodation suitable for all budgets. If you had of asked to be moved closer to the bathrooms, our staff would have been happy to oblige.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Mar 2016
4.6

To be fair staff and kitchen were really nice, but the rest was just awful. The room was so dirty, the showers were not working properly, just cold water showers and really weak... The bathroom was terribly dirty, hair and insects literally everywhere (insects especially in the nighttime). But the most annoying thing was that the room was so dirty... I had dirty sheets and the floor looked like not wiped for months

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
9.7

Really good location for bus stop, skydive, supermarket etc. staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Nice pool and air conditioned tv room. Very cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your positive comments. Management & staff work very hard to ensure guests have a great stay.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Feb 2016
7.7

Stayed there for two nights, room was clean and comfy. Toilets and Showers are on the first floor and not in each room. There are no lockers in the rooms, you have to rent them outside the rooms which is pretty much the only thing I critizise. Kitchen is very clean and everything you need is provided. Woolworths is a 7min walk and the BWS 2min walk. Free Wifi provided which is very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys, thanks for your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us, all the staff do genuinely care that guests enjoy their stay at Absolute Backpackers.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Feb 2016
9.1

Loved this hostel. There was nothing to do in Mission Beach so I am glad we had this hostel to spend our time in. Really big/clean kitchen, very clean bathrooms, a lovely living room the watch movies (with aircon). Spacious dorm, without bunk beds too which is a treat. Staff are great and had a free sausage sizzle BBQ which was nice. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the feedback guys, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.