X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Absolute Backpackers Reviews

28 Wongaling Beach Road, Mission Beach, Mission Beach, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
354 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff here are great, so helpful and friendly. location is good, close to the beach, woolworths, bus stop and bottle shop. kitchen and bathrooms are nice and are always clean. we had a great time, will definitely be back!


86%

Great hostel - Mel & Jake are excellent hosts; they offer plenty of cheap/free activities in the local area and are extremely friendly. Brilliant atmosphere & vibe in the hostel, all about fun times. Really enjoyed my stay!


97%

Absolute backpackers is a great hostel with friendly staff, clean rooms, good air con and great wifi - my only comment is that the hostel should keep up at being a great hostel rather than trying to be a travel agents aswell, we booked over a grands with of tours each through Jake and Mel to only have trouble along the way with constant incorrect bookings maybe it's teething problems but I wouldn't book through them again other than that lovely stay :)


91%

Beautiful resort style hostel. Great staff Mel and J are great managers and offered help all the time, the free shuttle to the main Mission beach area was handy. The cleanest hostel we have been to! There is no bar, but there is a bottle shop and a woolworths opposite. We also wandered out and went to the bar across the road at the resort hotel and into town to Millers (who have a free bus after 6pm if you call them for a lift!) or 10 min walk. Don't miss this hostel!! See you again!


100%

Staff were amazing, couldn't be more helpful! The hostel is super chilled out, in the evening its ideal to sit and chat with the other guests and staff, we met some lovely people! The place was constantly being cleaned, I don't think i have stayed somewhere with such a clean kitchen. Bedrooms were ideal, we were upgraded to a room with air con which was needed in the humidity. Always a friendly face going about, would 100% recommend!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The managing couple is very nice and forthcoming, when it comes to chatting with their guests. They want you to feel like home. They helped us opening the coconuts as well😉 special service! We would definitly stay there again!

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Close to Woolworth and the beach. The staff was nice and helpful. The area outside was good and clean. The bedsheets weren`t that clean and the room could be cleaned a little bit better as well. All in all we enjoyed our stay and we would come back :)


89%

Staff very friendly and welcoming, rooms basic but very clean, bathrooms clean and perfect location for shops & the beach. Best hostel on the East Coast so far 👍


91%

Nice, chilled out and very good place to stay. Staff members were very friendly and made me feel welcome :))

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfectly located for a stay in Mission Beach. Within walking distance to Skydive, and to Woolworth. Very friendly staff who do their best to make your stay enjoyable and fun.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel we ever stayed in !


69%

Couldn't have asked for a better location, near to the greyhound, supermarket and beach. Comfy clean beds and a nice pool area. Bathrooms were clean. Big downside was no air con in the rooms, the fan was not enough. Nothing overly special about this hostel but fine to stay in for a couple of nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately you made a booking for a fan only room. We do have air conditioned rooms and you could have upgraded upon check-in and this is available to all guests subject to availability. We do hope that you stay with us again and we will ensure it is an air-conditioned room for yourself.

66%

Nice hostel to stay, clean showers and a huge kitchen with everything you need. Not the most cosy hostel and the staff wasn't really nice, but for 1 or 2 nights I would recommend this hostel. Supermarket really close and the hostel organises 2 or 3 small trips each day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Evelien, thank you for your feedback, it was very helpful as it was the day management had a break and was not at the hostel, we have recently changed staff and hope they are more friendly. We thank you for staying with us and hope you come again.

91%

Super friendly and helpful staff, free tours and activities every day. Relaxed atmosphere, close to the beach and 5 minute walk to Woolworths and Greyhound/Premiere Bus stop. The double room we stayed in could need a new matress/bed, but we still slept very well. The kitchen is big and well organized, however something to hang the wet towles after cleaning would be an improvement. All in all 9/10 points. Great backpackers experience.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This place has a nice chilled out atmosphere. The staff are really friendly here and provide lots of information on tours/events happening today/tomorrow on a whiteboard at reception. There is a supermarket nearby to get food and the kitchen/bathroom are kept really clean. I recommend doing the walk where you can see the sea turtles.


94%

Everything was nice and clean and the set up of the place was great! Nice TV room with a good selection of movies and decent couches. The shower set up in the bathroom was good too with spacious showers and a shelf and hooks for your shower stuff. The AC in the room wasn't the greatest, I'm not too sure if it was working. They also gave us watermelon and a glass of water on check in which was a cute touch.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the best hostel I have stayed in so far on my travels. Friendly staff met me off the Greyhound, rooms were spacious and very clean. Staff offer free tours and shuttles which are great. Kitchen is large and clean. Great laid back atmosphere. Would certainly recommend.


91%

Great hostel! Big rooms, big kitchen and everything was clean. Very nice staff helping you with planning trips. Drop-off and pick-up every day in the small centre of Mission Beach and another walking track every day. Good location, 5 min. from Woolworths and 10 from the beach.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a very pleasant stay in Absolute backpackers. Staff is very friendly and they organize free walking tours and other entertainment daily. Hostel was clean and other guests relaxed and nice. Skydiving place was near.


97%

I am a female backpacker from Hong Kong and it's one of the greatest hostels I've stayed around Australia. Excellent location as it's a 3 minute walk from the transit centre of Mission Beach/ Greyhound bus station. Super friendly staff- they even welcome you at the bus stop and make sure you're enjoying your stay from start to finish. They also provide good information about the area, local attractions and tour packages upon arrival. Highly recommended. Thank you Jake and Mel for everything

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Mission Beach Hostels

Please give us your feedback