X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Acacia Hostel Reviews

14 Queensberry Place, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
196 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Room was dirty and there smelled like mold and like someone has smoked in it. Matresses were old and looked filthy. Breakfast room was very tiny and breakfast was so poor, I didn't felt worth eating it at all. Showers were terrible, there only came boiling hot water and the heat regulator was broken and the water did'nt lead very well to the floor drain. Only good things about this hostel were price and location.


57%

no lockers, felt safe in the surrounding area. wasn't the best night stay at a hostel. if you just want a cheap one nighter, decent for that.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is located in a very good position, 5 min walking from underground station.Our double private room had one bunk bed and one single bed,fridge,TV,sink...and a hole in the window (not a big problem but it was winter). Every floor has two private bathroom with wc, sink and shower. They offer a little breakfast be made up of 2 slice of toast bread, butter and jam, cereals, coffee, milk and tea. The big problem is that the buiding is very very old!U need a real & great adaptabilty spirit!

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

As expected: Simple and no luxory but clean, safe and warm. Exactly what we were looking for . On the upside: Free storage room for luggage after checkout (it is not always so in UK we have noticed) On the downside: The breakfast was much smaller than we expected.

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, friendly staff, basic facilities but nice and clean. Mattresses could have been a little more comfortable. Breakfast was included and it was great to have wifi too, good value for money. :)

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

A good cheap hostel to be in London. Good location and good connections there. On top of that, walking distance to museums. However, do not expect a great place, it is just what you pay.


63%

Shower on the basement is much better than on the top floor. Wifi totally bad , only the lobby has signal. So I sometime stay at lobby to access wifi, however, staff said no people is allowed at lobby unless you are checking in or out. Really bad!


71%

Need larger kitchen facilities and lounge to re-create in.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

TV and fridge in room- both broken. Ate standing due to lack of chairs or space. Someones hair on my sheets and pillow- now I have bug bites. Don't ruin your London trip by staying here.


40%

The hostel was very very unhygienic and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. None of the toilets flushed but were rather running all night, the showers were mouldy and dirty and the carpets in the bedroom were incredibly dusty. Furthermore my duvet had not been cleaned and smelled awful. Would not recommend

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Nice people, except for the lady at the breakfast who kept nagging everyone to hurry up and make room for the next guest. Breakfast room should thus be able to accumodate more people to avoid this problem.

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was good for what it was but is nothing special. Great location, poor wifi and a staff who at one point told us we couldn't use the reception area which was the only place with decent wifi. No fridge in the kitchen.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Great hostel. Perfect, convenient location in a very nice neighborhood. Close to the tube. We were on the 5th floor with no elevator, so if you're out of shape beware. But it overall was a very good experience and I'd strongly recommend it!


51%

Staff was extremely unfriendly. There was forbidden to use BIG reception room for guests. So, big room now use for check-in and check-out procedure ONLY, meanwhile guests must seat and use own laptops on the dirty stairs!!! /// Kitchen WITHOUT plates, cups etc. Electric kettle ONLY! :( Breakfast is VERY basic :( Location is super (a few steps from S. Kensington), BUT personal DON"T WANT made from this place good hotel. WHY they try made like arabian hostels, but not clean, good european hostel?


74%

Just a block from museums and some blocks from subway. It is worthy


80%

A great location and a low price but the bathrooms weren't great and the staff was always moody


86%

Thank you for your warm welcome, the person at the reception kindly accepted to print our bus ticket for our return trip to Paris. Breakfast was good, there was a TV in our room The only bad point is the lack of bathroom/toilets, there's only one by floor, it's not enough The hostel is in a safe and clean area, close to Museums (Victoria & Albert, Natural History, Hyde Park), South Kensignton station is very close too I reccommend this hostel !


83%

This hotel is a very good value for money. We are a couple with 2 teenager in room with 8 beds. The room is what you expect for the price. Positive point : we had a fridge in the room and very good location, the price Negative point : the kitchen is small, they are not lockers, but all others participants were very nice, we should like have orange juice for the breakfast


74%

Great location. Poor wifi in our room on 2nd floor.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

The breakfast is so little and of bad taste, the bathroom is dirty and smelly, the rooms are also smelly, everything terrible


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(120 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback