X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Acacia Hostel Reviews

14 Queensberry Place, South Kensington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
119 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 58%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 58%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

First impressions are that the hostel is basic but functional, we arrived after our assigned 5pm alloted time and were met by a very nice and efficient man who booked us in and gave us the key (£20 cash deposit) so straight to our room. Room and bedding was clean, tidy and comfortable, toilet & shower very clean though the building structure does show signs of it's age. Room was quiet. Breakfast is in a small staffed room in the basement and offers simple coffee/cerial/toast.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

You cannot beat the location, it is fabulous. The staff range from civil to friendly, and while the facilities are basic, they are entirely adequate. If you are fussy, you probably shouldn't stay in a hostel...we enjoyed our stay and were comfortable and satisfied. We are a family with teenaged sons. We would recommend the Acacia.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

FIRST if you are a student, book on their website to get 10% off. They wont give you the discount if you book through hostelword. I picked this hostel specifically for the location, but was disappointed by the place. I was on my own and hoping to meet people and there was no opportunity to. The only lounge the staff reserves for themselves. Also this is all ages, so Im 26 and only saw people who were 15 years younger or older than me. I also got no wifi in the room.


69%

Our room was in the basement, there was no bathroom on the floor which the ad stated so we had to go upstairs to use one. The window to the street shut but didn't seem to lock. The room was clean enough but very run down looking with paint peeling off the walls

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Stayed in this hostel only one night, thankfully. I booked it for the price and location to the train line I wanted, but it was not a pleasant stay. Rooms were dirty, shower was moldy, and wifi did not work in the bedroom. Overall poor cleanliness overall. The only plus was the guy working there, who was very helpful and accomodating. Still didn't make up for the grossness.


57%

Perfect location on a hostel. Beds are clean, but rest of room not.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location, hostel is fine for short stay and small budget, cleanliness isn't so good but it's not a big deal.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
51%

The whole place needs refurbishing. Paints are falling off the walls, decade old mold around the frames of windows like I've never seen before. Shower was NOT showering but dripping, not a gd thing to have especially during winter. Heater in the room was broken the knobs were not even there anymore. The fridge was covered with graffiti, the cleaning lady unlocked our bedroom door without knocking b4 entering, my boyfriend was naked and I had my pants half way down, thanks love. She was not sorry


71%

Stayed in a lot worse! For the location you can't really knock the price. Only downsides was the bathroom was not cleaned, even after a guest had got mud all over the floor and the breakfast staff were quite rude. Would stay again if I ever go back to London.

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The bathroom was dirty and VERY small. The kitchen facilities were a joke. The included breakfast was a couple pieces of dry toast.

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location, Central London, the mattress and the bedding were clean, the electric radiator was working very well so the room was very warm, wall paper needs to be replaced in the room we were in, holes in the windows have been covered up with paper and they didn't vacuum properly, was given a room on the 6th floor and no help to get the suitcase up. BUT only needed the room 1 night, SATISFIED with the room as we just needed somewhere decent to sleep inside London. (Pack your own towels)


83%

The staff were very friendly and did a great job. The only down side was that the bathroom was a little damp and needed cleaning. The general feeling was that it all needed a clean and for it to be improved. But by far not that bad that I would not stay again. Great value for money.

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was big. The curtains were broken, and it was impossible to close them.We asked the staff to provide us some towels for the shower and they told us that they didn't have because some people sole them. So we had to use the toilet paper as we dind't want to buy one for just one night.The bed wasen't good, and in fact it was two single beds together. There wasen't a chair on the room. There weren't cutlery at the kitchen. There is a computer but customers can't use it. The staff is nice.


74%

Very nice for "regular" backpackers. Not the place for "wild"-travelers.


83%

As it is November, there weren't many people staying there. We took a private lockable room and felt safe. It's an old building so it's a bit damp but it is off of the main streets by a block or two so there isn't a lot of noise. It is within a few blocks laundry, coffee and the tube, making it easy to access the city. However, unless you're on a tight budget and an all-out don't-care diet, don't plan to eat here. Its not gluten- or dairy-free friendly. Just cereal or toast to choose from.

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


26%

It sucked, we arrived and were told there was a problem with the room and transferred to its sister hotel which was a lot further away. We booked the hostel because it was so close to the blues fest at the royal albert hall and were being moverd without any real explanation or apology. Instead of a taxi being called and paid for us to take us to the hotel for the inconvience caused we had to walk. Once there we were greated with an inquisition as if we'd commited a crime by a man without manners

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Not a good place to hang out and meet people. Stayed with a large group, mostly older people or large groups. Awesome location. No lockers. Clean rooms, pretty big. Not the best hostel ever but a place to sleep, better for groups not meeting others.


66%

Tucked into a quiet street near South Ken cafes, this hostel is pleasantly quiet. The rooms have a shabby-chic feel with high ceilings, solid wooden bunks, and plush carpets. Anyone can walk into the hostel, and many guests don't bother to lock the door to the room, so it's not very secure. However it's in a safe area, so there were no problems. The bathrooms were clean enough, but could do with some mold/mildew management. The 'living room' doesn't feel very welcoming, but the kitchen is busy.


74%

The Office wasn't occupied for for longer periods in the morning when People wanted to check out.


74%

Our stay in your hostel was quite nice, but the room and the lavatory were pretty unclean. Try to rectify it. Also, we would like to recommend you to make your rooms more homely :-)

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback