Hostelworld.com

Academy Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.9

This hostel is in a great location: from the street you can see the Duomo! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there is free breakfast in the morning. It is an older building, so the availability of electrical outlets in the room was limited. Other than that, it was a great value for the price and I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
5.1

The location was perfect. Other than that, I have nothing good to say: the staff varied from unhelpful to downright rude, you were not allowed to enter from 11a-2:30p without a condescending interaction with the staff, the breakfast was entirely tasteless simple carbs with nothing sustaining, there were no lights of outlets anywhere near my bed, and the layout of my room was quite inconvenient. I would definitely not stay again, notwithstanding the location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your point of view and we are sorry that it is not too objective, you have expectations of luxury hotel, but in the hostel, there are some common rules that must be respected, as general closure for cleaning. the staff it's available 24 hours, if you did not like the guy in a morning shift, you could ask to the guy in the afternoon and if you did not like this one , you had the last chance to talk with the night shift... the breakfast it's continental and we have also fruit salad that is totaly free of carbo! For sure you are more hotel person , the services are better for sure but you have to pay for it, in the hostel you share experiences with other travellers, at reasonable accomodation.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.4

Great place. Would absolutely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.1

The location was excellent and right next to the Duomo. The free breakfast was very convineient with fresh fruit, cereal, crackers, and crossaints with juice, milk, tea, and coffee. I felt very safe at night with the 24/7 security with the fob and pass code needed to get in. There are maps and routes to the clubs on the wall, which was great for our nights out. Very worth the price we paid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.9

This is a pretty decent hostel. It's in a brilliant location but it's not a very good hostel for meeting other travelers. They also kind of kick you out between 11:30-2:30 for cleaning which is weird.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Great location, very clean, decent common area, kitchen is lacking. If this hostel had a stove I would give it a top rating. Another nice addition would be lockers in the luggage room. Otherwise very cool place, very secure, flexible staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
8.9

Good hostel! The atmosphere is more similar to a little hotel, but I think that depending on you that can be nice! The location is perfect, no way it could be better. The breakfast is ok, nothing much...but after all it is a hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
10.0

Awesome super clean hostel! Location was absolutely perfect in relation to the dome and just a few streets over from the leather market. They even let us keep our bags for the rest of Sunday after we checked out. Breakfast was great with different cakes and coffee. Great atmosphere and super helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • vadasavin6714
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Second Time Im coming to Academy Hostel, and this place keeps doing the job. The location is the best you can imagine to find in Florence. The place is extremely clean, quite, nice and and more then all - Rosa, Toto and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive, handing me precious help with some urgent pain that required far more Italian vocabulary then I have, as well as a lot of helpful tips that really shifted my travel. Im so coming back here. Ciao until the next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ciaoooooooooooooooooooooo :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Nice hostel. Room was clean and comfortable, as was the bathroom. We did have the free breakfast as it was just sugary things. Staff were nice and helpful. The hostel is located right next to duomo which was great, you don't need to use public transport as everything is in walking distance. Wifi was not very good, it was slow and kept dropping out in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.