Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Academy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3489 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Aug 2017
8.6

Very close to main sights. The air conditioning in the room helped. Breakfast was small and not very filling. Water stopped working in shower for some reason but management resolved the issue. Not much of a common room, but there is an outdoor patio. About a 10 minute walk to the main train station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Very thorough cleaning gets done on this place daily. The lockout from in the day is quite annoying though. The bathrooms were great to use and very private. I would stay here again if there were no better options.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
8.0

Great location, nice rooms, friendly staff, but our lockers were broken and the door to our room didn't lock so our belongings weren't the most secure. We also had a massive cockroach in our room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
8.6

Good hostel in a great location. 4 bed bathroom ensuite gets flooded after a shower though, shared bathrooms seemed better. Good Wi-Fi and security and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2017
9.7

Best hostel Ive stayed at yet. Friendly and helpful staff with plenty of social activities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
4.3

An absolute trainwreck. I'd really like my money back. The air conditioning was completely useless. It made more sense to leave the windows open which gave us horrible mosquito bites. The wifi didn't work at all in our room. The shower water never got hot. This Hostel was so bad on all of the basic levels that it shouldn't even be advertised on Hostelworld. It is hands down the worst Hostel experience of my entire life.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
6.6

Positives: - Amazing location. Literally 50m from Duomo. Negatives: - No lock on dorm door - anyone can walk in. - No A/C. Rooms have A/C units, but are apparently centrally controlled at what seemed like ~30°+. It would be more comfortable sleeping in a sauna. - No hot water. Not even lukewarm. - Mosquito epidemic in room. Ended up a human pin cushion and looking like I'd contracted pox. - No power points or lights near beds. Terribly disappointing stay given the positive reviews/ratings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
9.1

Great location in a cute, safe part of Victoria! Staff is wonderful and helpful. Stayed in July, so only complaint is it was veryyy hot in our room and the little plug in fan did us no justice! The beds were alright, but the hostel was great besides sweating at night. Showers were always hot!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
7.4

Location and staff are excellent. I would not recommend this hostel as the WiFi was poor in my room and the hostel does not provide hot showers. They display a sign stating for eco reasons they use natural gas and the water is 45 degrees but it is simply cold water. Air-conditioning in the dorms was not sufficient making it uncomfortable to sleep. There was also quite a few mosquitos in the hostel and dorms as they keep the terrace area near reception open to the outside.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
10.0

If you're looking for a hostel in an incredible location where you will get a good nights sleep - look no further. Such a brilliant hostel, the staff were lovely and the rooms were large and tidy. above all the location is incredible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.