Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Academy Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
8.9

This place was pretty amazing. The instructions to find it from the train station were spot on, even when I was busy staring at how amazing Florence was. The location was perfect, super close to wonderful sights. The only downfall was getting kicked out for the cleaning period, but even that wasn't too much of a problem. Our room also didn't have outlets at every bed, which was a slight annoyance made up for by the lack of bunk beds. Absolutely loved the little balcony to hang out on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.1

Everything was great except the wifi was spotty in our room and also the plug to the electrical outlet only worked when the lights were on in the room so we couldn't charger our phones at night. The shower also always didn't have hot water. Other than that, it was a great stay and everything else was up to par (beds, room itself, breakfast, facilities, etc).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
10.0

Im traveling alone and as a girl it was important not only to be secure but clean and next to the Duomo and believe me it is! Loved the place! Great and definately recommended for the price!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.4

The perfect location for exploring Florence!!! The staff was also extremely helpful the entirety of our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.7

it is located in the center of florence, the church is just out of the door of this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
7.4

I expected a little more for what I was paying (compared to their hostels in Florence), but the location is great. The staff member who checked me in in the afternoon acted like I was an inconvenience, but the rest of the staff I met were super friendly!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.9

Great location! Staff is generally cold but not rude. Great bathrooms for a hostel, lots of warm water and clean. Easy to get into which may cause safety issues but there weren't any when I was there. Locker for your things is helpful. I enjoyed being able to make a cup of tea and the free map. Rooms feel private. The only major downside is how much they really don't want you there between 11-3. But free luggage storage after you check out is a big plus! Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
7.7

WIFI is NONEXISTENT. Had to steal it from the restaurant next door. The location of this places is great. The common area lacks a bit. The toilets and showers are shared making it a race to the bathroom. The security is formidable. You will be kicked out at 11 am for "cleaning purposes" rain or shine. The staff (the blonde lady)is not a people person and customer service is not her strong suite. I also felt scammed having to pay 12 euros to do two loads of laundry. Likely wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Feb 2017
8.9

This hostel is in a great location: from the street you can see the Duomo! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there is free breakfast in the morning. It is an older building, so the availability of electrical outlets in the room was limited. Other than that, it was a great value for the price and I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
5.1

The location was perfect. Other than that, I have nothing good to say: the staff varied from unhelpful to downright rude, you were not allowed to enter from 11a-2:30p without a condescending interaction with the staff, the breakfast was entirely tasteless simple carbs with nothing sustaining, there were no lights of outlets anywhere near my bed, and the layout of my room was quite inconvenient. I would definitely not stay again, notwithstanding the location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your point of view and we are sorry that it is not too objective, you have expectations of luxury hotel, but in the hostel, there are some common rules that must be respected, as general closure for cleaning. the staff it's available 24 hours, if you did not like the guy in a morning shift, you could ask to the guy in the afternoon and if you did not like this one , you had the last chance to talk with the night shift... the breakfast it's continental and we have also fruit salad that is totaly free of carbo! For sure you are more hotel person , the services are better for sure but you have to pay for it, in the hostel you share experiences with other travellers, at reasonable accomodation.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.