X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Academy Hostel Reviews

Via Ricasoli 9, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
2551 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Hostel was in a great location. Unfortunately there wasn't much of an atmosphere here. They offer free wine and pasta each night but doesn't seem that a lot of people take them up on the offer! Initially staff were friendly. However on my second day, what I take was the owner and another staff member, had an argument in the main area for 30mins. No attempts to quieten their voices or go somewhere private, had to leave the area as it was so disruptive so found this quite unprofessional.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we sincerely apologize for what happened during your stay here. Obviously even the best companies have their own problems but, usually this should remain in the backstage, unfortunately this time it didn't. We want to make clear that this is not our way to work here at Academy Hostel and that we are deeply sorry for the image of us we gave. The Academy Hostel Staff

97%

Fantastic location easy to find, very clean great staff everything you need here like a hotel. Would defiantly go back.


77%

Booked this hostel because of the high rating but found that the staffs were rather cold although they do greet you and answer your questions. Location was the best thing about this hostel. The bathroom was rather dirty because they only cleaned it once a day (and because other guests from other rooms kept using the one which were meant for our dorm). Breakfast was simple and nice although the room was a tad small. Like their torchlight concept, but they need to have more power outlets!


91%

Unfortunately there were no power outlets by the beds and (at least with my phone) the WiFi wasn't strong enough to connect in the room. Everything else was really good.


77%

You have to ring the bell every time you want to enter the hostel (easy access for externals part 1). Room doors are open 24/7 because the doors can't be locked (easy access for externals part 2 and other guests). Yes, you do have a separate locker in the room but overall lack of security in this hostel is a problem for me...

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
as a receptionists we know exactly who is sleeping in the hostel and as you said you have to ring the bell,first:because the two gates are closed both at night and one all day , to get in , second : we have webcam and we see your face before we open the big wooden door and the gate. third: the reception is open 24/7 and part of our job is to control everything , because our desk faced the entrance door ( that is already the third one) , we know who are our guests and in which room they sleep

97%

The Hostel is awesome, the location is unbeatable only a few steps to the duomo, the front door give you the sense of night protection, the staff is kind and friendly especially Rose, the room had a locker even when we travel 4 friends, the housekeeping of the room is good. The breakfast is not helpful for a big belly but is enough for a good start.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(46 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback