X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ace Inn Shinjuku Reviews

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1318 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Staff has really good English. The shower system was weird. You got a 10min. token for every night, and you could up to 1 more a day. Lockers were super narrow like most capsules so don't expect to lock up a real backpack or suitcase.


100%

Cool people, clean, comfortable bed pods. Love this place!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

No electric plug in the bed, Coin to use Bathroom for 10 minutes is really not cool


83%

Nice place, you get what your pay for. The beds were very private which was nice. The staff were good and wifi worked well!


66%

Basic but cheap! Good for short stay

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel!


89%

I was really enjoying my stay this place. Good staff and big common room. Easy to make new friends. If you are backpacker you can enjoying your stay there. バックパッカーには快適な宿だと思います。 staffの皆さんも親切で常に居てくれるので安心です。上の階の共有スペースもとても大きく皆でワイワイ出来る雰囲気と自分次第では簡単に友達が出来ます。ベットはカプセルホテルみたいな形で小さなプライベートが持てます。コンセントは少ないですが特に問題なかったです。シャワーが10分無料のコイン制ですが自分は問題無かったです。新宿から一駅とアクセスも良く電車が無くなっても歩いて来られる距離でした。楽しかったですありがとうございました。また利用します。

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff is great and the location is awesome for tokyo. Right next to a station and only one stop from shinjuku sanchome is hard to come by at this price. The other guests are sometimes loud, or make messes but I don't fault the hostel itself for that.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The Hostel is perfectly adequate if you're going on vacation in Saigon or perhaps Transnistria, but the photos on the page are deceptively clean, and of course you can't smell a picture like you can an elevator, a room, or a lounge. Because you will smell them, a lot, as the odour of feet permeates the entire property. While of course removing one's shoes before entering the interior of a building is a common custom in Japan, I don't believe that nauseating smells are. Try again, Ace Inn.


71%

I wasn't thrilled about the capsule idea, but the space was big enough. I liked the privacy and quietness of the facility. The restrooms on the first and 9th floors were fine, but the one on the floor where we stayed smelled so bad it made the whole room smell bad.


71%

Building and facilities are a bit tired, but the staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is great.


100%

I WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN!!!!


77%

Common room upstairs is a good place to meet people. Staff is friendly. All other accommodations are suitable for the money. Not the best place ever, but don't worry about staying here if you're in a pinch.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Large common area room, nice to meet people. The "Capsules" are quite large, easy to get in-out, sit in. The have to get that carpet steam-cleaned, but in general good repair state. Helpful staff at front desk.


77%

It would be useful to have a secure place to store luggage, like a locked storage room. The storage area was just a section of the main lobby behind computer bar, where all the bags and stored objects were clearly visible to anyone walking through or using computers. Anyone could potentially help themselves to any stored items without being seen by staff (who sit at the front desk beyond a partition screen). It was also disappointing that the "private" rooms aren't lockable. Not secure enough.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

They could improve public area, such as clean the window glass and floor. Young Front lady was very nice.


51%

Not the best place we stayed in Tokyo. We were on 10th floor, showers in basement and you have to pay for them. Weird atmosphere, not very social.


86%

I had a fantastic time :) the capsule bed was very comfortable and the location was convenient, especially at that price. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. I know a lot of people have mentioned the showers so I'd like to say that compared with ways that some other hostels encourage shorter showers (eg, very low water pressure, lack of privacy/cleanliness or just no hot water at all) paying 100 Yen for 10 minutes shower with as much hot water as I wanted was great!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Sable
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The management should upgrade this entire place!The lights everywhere are dim,the elevator is slow,there are no extension plugs provided to charge our electronics in the dorm.The area sometimes smells,the reception area near the small little pantry has loadsa junk and in a mess.The plus point is they have very nice and helpful hosts,the location is 3 mins walk from Shinjuku subway & toilets are acceptably clean.Please have a thought of upgrading this entire place's cleanliness and exterior.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The near metro station and price are positive points. However, the room (20 beds) smelt bad. This hostel is no well fitted out. During my 6-day stay, there was no event. Just a place to sleep.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback