Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ace Inn Shinjuku

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 1703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 1703 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Apr 2017
6.9

My stay at Ace Inn was good. I felt it had the essentials but nothing more. It's an older facility right next to the subway station. It's not a place to dwell & relax, just for strictly sleeping & bathing. The staff was nice and accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
5.4

My friend and I only stayed here for one night and were glad cause we didn't think we'd be able to handle any longer. We were in the largest room on the top floor and the bathroom absolutely reeked. I refused to brush my teeth there and used the sink in the little kitchen area instead. The smell kinda crept into the room too a bit so it was not great. The common area/ lounge area was also pretty gross. All the couches and seats were stained or torn.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
25th Feb 2017
5.4

Let's start with location, even though it says in its name that it is in shinjuku the truth is, is actually about a 20 min walk from the clubs and restaurants. The hostel? Super ran down, not a lot of maintenance is done to the place, compared to all of the hostels in Japan it looks like a dump. Showers are all the way on the basement and not too clean. The lounge sucks. Overall bad experience and it is really expensive for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.4

Decent enough place of you don't have much stuff. No electrical outlets or way of charging your stuff in your capsule though, big bummer. They provide outlets near the lockers. Capsules are spacious enough though. Lockers are the tall skinny kind. Only a single elevator for all ten floors and no stairs, you might have to wait a bit. Plenty of toilets though. Awkward having showers only in the basement.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
6.3

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay then this is it. Although it says Shinjuku it's actually two metro stops to get to all the bars which is kind of a pain. The mattress and pillow are hard but the worst part is there's no plug in the capsule. Don't plan on showering because the water switches from hot to cold every 2 minutes.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Great location right out of train station. Quiet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

Positives: Great location. 20-25 mins walk from Golden Gai. 2 minutes walk from Akebonobashi Station. The room rate is reasonable. Free-Wifi. Beer in Vending machines. Negatives: They need to get new furniture in the common room and give the place a general overhaul. They were painting during my stay (Dec2016) so hopefully that freshens the place up. The lockers are extremely narrow. Hard to fit any bag in there. A more square locker would be great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • melodicyeah
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 44 reviews
21st Nov 2016
4.9

An ok place to stay if you are looking to stay somewhere central as most, if not all other hostels, are located in areas away from central Tokyo. The bed they gave me was positioned in the middle of the darned room.....no access to power near my bed and did not want to leave my phone or laptop unattended at this place. No real hostel kind of vibe. Place is old and dirty compared to other Japanese places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Nov 2016
3.4

We originally had booked beds in the cheaper option, which was a bleak mixed dorm on the top floor, where beds were practically touching each other and there was no privacy and it was dirty. We paid a bit extra to be in a capsule-type dorm instead which was better - but still dirty, and musty, and loud. My friend and I spent 6 weeks in Japan, and this was the worst place we stayed in, but it is close to Shinjuku; location is about all that's good with this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
7.1

The beds are not exactly comfortable. Also the fourth floor bathroom always smelled really bad. it had a weird odor during my entire stay. The couches in the common area aren't in the best condition. The hostel is fairly cheap but I'm sure there's better out there for the same price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.