X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ace Inn Shinjuku Reviews

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1375 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

This hostel felt cold and money grabbing compared to most around Japan. Barely welcomed, we paid and were thrown a key, not even shown where the lift to the upstairs floors were! Plus the 10 minute shower rule is just stupid, you have to queue at reception to get a token for a shower, and there are four for a building with hundreds of people in! Much better places to stay in Tokyo that are far more welcoming, go elsewhere.


91%

Perfectly placed to get to shin juku there is an amazing ramen restaurant across the road. Always full of people

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

It was a very strange experience inside those capsule, creepy but very funny. The place is very near Akebonobashi Station, so excellent position. It's not the top of hygiene, and the showers are quite far (we were at 5th floor and the showers at -1) but I must say that afterall it was not so bad and surely it is very cheap, so for the price you pay it's ok.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Beds were really really hard. This was my first hostel on the trip and found out after most places had more comfortable sleeping capsules. No outlets in capsule in bigger dorms. Got upgraded to luxury and was much better, bad roommates turning lights on early am which wasn't the hostels fault at all, they do had curtains on the bunks which was nice. Kitchen/common area could have been a bit cleaner.


60%

No power in the beds, bathrooms weren't very clean and the common room is dirty old and falling apart.


91%

Always lovely to stay here when in Tokyo. Cheap, convenient and very clean.


89%

Super nice place to stay. Staff where really nice and helpful.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice location just walk only a few minutes from the station and the place is easily found. For the shower, there is a limited time to use the shower and it was pretty difficult to me.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were friendly and helpful. All had smiles on their faces and were welcoming. Good price and convenient

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

only thing that was the let down was the lack of atmosphere.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It is a nice capsule hotel with a friendly staff which caters to foreigners.


54%

a very bad experience! shower is available for only 10 minutes, if u wanna take longer than that, then u have to pay 300yen more to take the bathtub. but i dont want that bathtub,because their bathtub is not clean. also paying 300yen to take a bath there is not good shopping. シャワーを10分しか利用できないことをすごく不便に感じました。

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a good hostel but too bad for my 2nd night here, there are 2 person came back late night and drunk. They make noise and laughing until 4am.


83%

Cabin style beds provide good privacy. I was upgraded to one of the deluxe dorm due to them not having space in the standard one. The cabin was clean and neat but did not have a power point inside. The main entrance looks a bit tired but the dorm room looked newly refurbished. The communal room was a bit sparse but good enough to sit and chat.


69%

30seconds walk from a metro station. Capsule style so your get a curtain for privacy. Beds are a bit thin (Japanese style). Only light, no power point in the capsule so you need to charge your phone/laptop in the walkway. WiFi works in the bedrooms. Showers all located in the building's basement but they are good and hot. Large common area but it's hidden away and not used much. Stay here if you want to be in this area. If your after a party hard hostel look elsewhere.


91%

Great location, really helpful and friendly staff. Not the most colourful or liveliest of places, but there was definitely everything I needed. I loved the capsule hotel layout of the dorms, it gave you a nice amount of privacy and it was very quiet. As a solo traveller I would definitely stay there again!


71%

Great convenient location near Shinjuku, helpful and friendly staff. Layout of the building does not really allow for good social interaction with other travelers.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Staff were friendly and helpful in providing information. Location was near the subway line that connects to Shinjuku. The capsule rooms and adjoining bathrooms/sinks were clean, but the lounge on the 9th floor was kind of a mess, with really old random furniture and stains on the rug. But because they can accommodate up to 80 people, I understand that it's difficult to keep clean. Also, there were no electrical outlets in the capsules, so I recommend bringing a portable charger.


94%

Price, service, comfort, hygiene and even offer towels for free. Hostel frequented by people of many nationalities. The bath is also free although it seems that you pay.


57%

Tokyo is expensive, so I can't expect too much form a budget hostel. The place was clean enough for the most part. My bed, sheets, and towels looked pretty clean, but I did get run over my a huge roach in the common area. The kitchen is quite small, and dirty looking. Because the place looks a bit run down in the lobby, some travelers don't make as much of an effort to pick up after themselves as they should. But, if you just want to stay for a night or two this place might be okay.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback