X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ace Inn Shinjuku Reviews

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1436 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good, though not great location. Certainly affordable. Very raucous, social environment if that's what you are looking for.


83%

The process of showing keys to staff members was not adhered to, and baggage was left on the 1st floor. As this is Japan and crime is significantly lower than other places in the world this may not have been a problem for most people, but it doesn't serve well for people's piece of mind. Staff were welcoming and friendly, there was great value for money and the services available are definitely worth the price.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really close to the station and easy to find


89%

Ace Hostel was really good. We stayed here at the beginning of our Japan trip, I was interested in Capsule Hotels, so thought that the dorm may be a good introduction to it (obviously had to try the real thing later too). The staff were great, really helpful and very friendly. There are computers you can use, there is a large common room to meet other people and good shower facilities. Plus there are some great Ramen shops just around the corner.

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome staff. Great location.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

LOVED the place. The staff was so friendly. Met some incredible people, definitely would stay there again. Beds are comfy (the capsules give a good sense of privacy). 9th floor common area is spacious. The elevator is NOT kind, as the sign says.


77%

Ace Inn's location was perfect. It was located two minutes away from a subway stop and one station away from Shinjuku, an area known for its shopping and night life. The facilities were okay. One gets a free 10 minute shower, free towel, etc. The luggage storage room is an open corner of the main lobby, but there's a security camera watching the luggage. The cheaper capsules were in a packed room. I would definitely recommend staying in the more luxurious capsules on the 8th floor.


71%

I think the kitchen should be well equipped.


94%

I thought this place was absolutely amazing!!! I was a solo traveler and the moment i went in they were super friendly and outgoing. The purpose of my travel was to celebrate my 25th birthday and i have to say this trip definitely was the icing on the CAKE! What made this location so awesome was the "cave style beds"( that's so big 3 ppl fits ) and the train station is about 60 meters to the hostel. I do recommend buying a transit pass in the train station because it easier to get off and on.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this hostel. There isn't so much in the immediate vicinity, but its only seconds from the subway and close to shinjuku, harajuku, and shibuya. It was clean and the staff was really friendly and helped us with anything we needed.


100%

I usually don't leave reviews but this place was fantastic! Very clean, perfectly located and kind staff. You won't regret it if you want an authentic japanese capsule experience!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • jaygermcgough
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location, close to the metro and not too far from a lot of tourist sights, especially for the price. Not many showers for the number of guests, but at least they're free now, and towels are provided. The capsules are bigger than most, large enough to fit an average person and a large travel backpack, but there are no charging outlets inside; they're outside and, again, not many for the number of people. Lockers are tall, but super thin and it's hard to fit a daypack in. Staff very helpful.


74%

not a bad place. a bit expensive because it's Shinjuku. but it was something new and a weird for me that a free shower is available only once in a day and only for 10 minutes. as to the staff, they are quite nice, especially the pretty Japanese girl who's name I didn't find out.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A clean and nice hostel in a good location! The dorm was spacious, beds were big enough, the mattress was a uncomfortable, though. But all in all highly recommended!


100%

had a wonderful time when i was there. great people . Location was the best . very easy to get. if you will be in Tokyo make sure you stay in this place.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice Hostell. Dorms(capsule) were nice. Clean! Like that. Negative:only 10 min shower. And poor cooking facilities... A microwave is not enough to make food.


94%

very nice place and friendly stuff....good location . i would recommend this place to anyone hanging around Shinjuku


100%

Fantastic place to stay! The hostel itself is easily accessible and is within walking distance of Akebonobashi Station. The hostel staff are warm and friendly, and the hostel itself provides enough for a comfortable stay. I personally find the capsules nice and cosy and it also offers a lot of privacy. Will definitely stay here when I come to Tokyo again in future!

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a no-frills place to stay in Tokyo. Don't expect the best and you'll love it here. PROS: - Great location - Private beds CONS: - Bathroom smells bad - Limited to 10 minute showers - Lockers can't fit large luggage - Big room means someone will wake you up during your sleep


74%

Located 25 min walk from shinjuku, or a short metro trip away. Beds were a bit too thin but wooden capsules nice. Not the best collective hostel experience. Nice and clean hostel for those who go for the Tokyo experience, not for the party experience.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback