Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Adventurers Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
4.0

Customer service with I believe it was the manager was the worst Ive ever come across in my life, My room was broken into whilst in town for the night and while trying to return my KEY!! The next morning was accused of the brake in and not given my refund for the returnd KEY!!! My friend had his bag stolen and his passport taken and yet we some how were being accused with our room keys in our pockets.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, we apologise that you feel the customer service was not satisfactory. What had actually happened was that during the weekend you stayed here it was the Groovin the Moo festival in Townsville; we were fully booked. During one night of your stay it was discovered that the door to your dorm room had been broken down and severely damaged. We were not accusing you or your friends of breaking in, we simply wanted the two keys we had given to you upon check in to be returned. When it turned out that you only had one key with you, we told you we couldn't give back both key deposits. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, but key deposits are paid in the event that you lose a key, where upon the deposit will not be returned. Thank you for your review and we wish you the best of luck with your future travels. Kind regards, Jessica

9th Apr 2017
7.7

Friendly staff, tea/coffee/toast offered every morning, large clean rooms with mini-fridges, and decent wifi in common area. However, most kitchen supplies are kept in reception, which closes at 7 - bummer if you've had a long day on the island. Hostel is far from the CBD and bus/ferry (though the owners do offer pick up/drop off service during office hours), and the common areas are creepily accessible for anyone to just walk in off the street, so I definitely always locked my door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your review of Adventurers Backpackers Hostel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made use of the free breakfast, tea & coffee in reception. We keep utensils for the kitchen in reception area and inform all guests on arrival to come and help themselves before reception closes so that this does not occur. The hostel is open plan but we are very safe and never have any incidences where people come in unless they are staying here. Thank you for your review and we wish you the best of luck with your future travels. Kind regards, Jessica

18th Mar 2017
7.4

breakfast very poor

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear that the free breakfast provided by Adventurers Backpackers resort was not up to standards. We offer all guests free toast and spreads (butter, jam etc.) every morning. We believe this is satisfactory as we also provide free tea & coffee. Thank you for your review and we wish you the best of luck with your future travels. Kind regards, Jessica

  • meganbates97
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Mar 2017
5.4

Roof top pool and shuttle bus are the only good things about this hostel. It was so dead when I was there, the kitchen was massive but hardly any of the stoves worked and those that did you needed a lighter to get it to work which they did not provide. All the cutlery is kept behind the reception which closes at 7 and you have to pay ridiculous amounts for wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear you felt this way about Adventurers Backpackers resort. When it is quiet season, we do our best to keep everything working and clean. There are always matches in the kitchen provided for the stoves. We keep utensils in reception which we inform guests on arrival to ensure they can get access to anything they need before we close. We are sorry to hear you didn't use our free wifi - every guest can get the code from reception to use in our common areas downstairs. Thank you for your review and we wish you the best of luck with your future travels. Kind regards, Jessica

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2017
3.7

The only good point about this place was the toast and coffee in the mornings but even that didn't start till 9am while most have already got up and left by then!! The beds were uncomfortable and the air conditional made an awful lot of noise and didn't actually cool the room in the slightest! The toilet was so far away from the room it would have been faster to walk to a public toilet!! The place needs some money spending on it to make it a worth while stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.