Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Afei Surf Hostel

  • No.264, Nan Wan Rd, Heng Chun Town, PingTung County, Kenting, Taiwan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
Afei Surf Hostel Located at No.264, Nan Wan Rd, Heng Chun Town, PingTung County, Kenting.
Afei Surf Hostel
Taiwan
Kenting 264.Nanwan Rd,H No.264, Nan Wan Rd, Heng Chun Town, PingTung County
82% 114
21.9614896 120.7624214
Afei Surf Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2016
8.9

This place is exactly as it sounds. A kick back, chilled out, surfer vibe style hostel that offers an incredibly nice staff located in an area close to the action. The one bathroom is fine as long as you have a bit of patience. Afei (the owner) is super cool. He went out of his way to open his closed t-shirt shop for us so we could grab some tanks before we had to leave. I recommend giving this place a try if you are going for a beach vibe kind of experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
8.3

The staff was super friendly & helpful. The facilities were nice & clean. Breakfast was scant, but it was something. The location is directly across from Nanwan beach, which is the most crowded beach in Kenting. When I arrived, there were speakers blaring EDM music on the beach, so it was less relaxing than I had imagined. There are few restaurants nearby, so you really need to rent a scooter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
7.4

If you want to learn to surf w/a great teacher at a nice beach, this is the place. If you want creature comforts, space to lounge, and peace & quiet away from tourist crowds, Nanwan is not the place, try Jialeshui. Afei is a great surf teacher & the waves at Nanwan beach @end of summer were spot on for a beginner. The hostel is a bit cramped and right on a loud, busy road, many tourists, the left side of the beach is loud (if you don't look left, you could pretend the right side is remote).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
9.4

I stayed one night in Afei and one night in Awu, the hostel next door. The dorm in Afei is very small compared to Awu but well dispatched. There is only one bathroom so it can get a bit crowded as mentionned in the comments, but it's always clean. The staff makes a whole of a difference, everyone is very nice and helpful and it's always busy so book early. This hostel is great for backpackers as it has some of south east Asia vibe, and it's easy to meet other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2016
10.0

The hostel made an error with our booking. We asked for a dormitory but there were no beds anymore so they gave us a really beautiful room (for the same price of course!). Very nice staff! We tried the beginners surf class and it was really fun! There is a restaurant and a bar just next to the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
7.7

Okay hostel. The 8 bed dorm is really small almost like in a coffin, the bed wasn't the most comfortable. Staff was pretty knowledgeable if you aksed them questions. There was a bit of a mixup with my booking but that was solved right away. The hostel is very close to the beach, it's only a minute walk to the beach from the front door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Great place. Staff is so cool, during and after work. Good atmosphere. There is a bar with live music on weekends. Although Kenting is not like other party beaches, you can have good time here. Small but comfortable rooms and facilities. Personal lockers. Just in front of the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location! Simple but decent free breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • paulholliday5600
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
4th Jul 2016
10.0

Loved this place. Afei was great and he let me use his laptop computer as I don't have my own iphone at the moment to check my emails, facebook, etc. Diving was spectacular and was on par with Thailand and Philippines diving. Cost for one dive and underwater photos is 1800 Taiwan Dollars. (About $75 Australian currency) The night markets are also really great fun and they have a nice bar there called Golden Beach which is good for drinks and entertainment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks paul enjoy your trip see you next time

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.4

It was a pleasant stay. Highly recommend for those who travel by themselves. Since there are ten beds in the hostel, It was easy to meet other travelers. Location was pretty good. AC worked perfectly. However, there is only one bathroom. So, if the hostel gets busy you might need to wait around to take a shower. I am happy to stay in Afei again when I come back to Kenting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.