Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

African Array Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th May 2017
9.1

We stayed at this hostel for one night as a stopover while on the Garden Route. Really enjoyed our stay here - it is in a very safe location and the compound itself is secured with a 24h reception. The common room is excellent - with a log fire to keep us warm. You'll definitely need a car to stay here as it is quite a way away from anything else. The hostel is well maintained and, though we didn't use it, the kitchen appeared to be well equipped. I definitely recommend staying here if possible!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th May 2017
10.0

Such nice people and the view is incredible. Little bit out of town but worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
9.7

Amazing view, delicious food, friendly service. Yes, it is on the outskirts of Plett, 2 km off the highway. Well worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.4

Excellent location if you want a nice retreat as you have to get a shuttle into town. Incredible incredible views! Security was pretty good as long as you had a padlock (lockers in the rooms). There was also excellent braai facilities but the self catering kitchen wasn't the best, due to most people staying ordering food from the hostel kitchen. Was a delightful stay, thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
9.7

The staff was seriously amazing here! The food was delicious and the location is beautiful. It's a bit out of town but if you like a quiet relaxed setting, this is the perfect place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxpardoe
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
8.9

Absolutely stunning the hostel workers were amazing and really made me feel so welcome! And just an incredible view

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
8.3

The Lodge has a great location. it is lovely to sit on the decks and absorb the view and listen to the birds etc. However, because there is a volunteer programme running there, it is quite confusing to know who is staff, who are volunteers, who are guests etc. This affects use of the bar and kitchens, for example. Also, if you need to speak to a member of staff, it is really not clear who that might be. (As, for example, volunteers staff the bar in the evening, so there is a cross-over).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

The property is at the end of a very long off-road drive which was a bit of a pain and caused a flat tyre. However the location itself is quite central, although you would need a car. The security of the property was good, and the staff were quite friendly. The rooms were clean and we were impressed with the facilities. The view from the balcony was absolutely stunning - it is worth staying here just for the sunset. We would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
7.1

Nice spot with lots of space and amazing views. Good atmosphere too. Room was a bit tired and bed was a bit grubby tho

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Spent 3 nights in one of their private rooms and was very happy overall. Rooms had a spectacular view as does the hostel itself. Very laid back and chilled atmosphere although I am sure it changes with the people that are staying. Beautiful fires every night outside which we enjoyed very much. We didn't have our own car but the staff were great about driving us into town and picking us up when we needed. all the staff we tremendous and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.