X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

African Array Lodge Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
66 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Our party of 2 guys couldn't feel more welcome during out stay there in May. Mathew, Vicky and the wonderful family provided terrific views, accomodation, food, drinks, setting and hospitality on a night we needed to relax. Some of the best food we had in all of our South Africa tour. Special thanks to Charles who made our night by providing great company and the whole family who addressed any needs for a great night. One of our favorite places in South Africa and would try to make it back


100%

Perfect accommodation, very friendly staff, just PERFECT!!!!!


97%

It's kinda hard together, but it's totally worth it!!!


97%

It is a hostel so the furnishings are not fancy or new but in all other respects this is a great place to stay. The staff was very helpful even to the point of finding us a recipe so we could make potjie. The view from the veranda is terrific.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The location of this hostel is pretty cool! You have a view over the forest, the lagoon of Plettenberg Bay and also over the sea. There are many places to sit outside and also fire places. It's really worth a stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and all our fire places.

91%

Awesome place, but better when you are with your own car.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

97%

Amazing place! The view is stunning, must go and see the sunset from the deck with a beer and the daily campfire. Matthew and Vicky are very helpful and friendly, as well as for the rest of the staff. Absolutely recommended to try Matthews homemade breakfast and dinner. Very cosy lounge room, many couches, tv, fireplace. The road is a bit bumpy but it's a worthed experience, no need of a 4x4 :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are so happy that you enjoyed the company of our amazing international volunteers they are always awesome and we are so happy that you enjoyed our food and views.

77%

The views from this hostel are beautiful. We stayed in a dorm room as there was no private room available and it wasnt to our liking so checked out early but there was nothing wrong with it. Unfortunately the long driveway to the hostel is in very poor repair with large dangerous pot holes and large stones, not advised for a little rental car like our . Staff are friendly

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review however you did not book out early but rather left without saying anything to us and also left without paying your bar tab. we were trying to see if we could find you a private room which had you stayed you could have gotten one as we had a late cancellation. I must say we enjoyed our conversation around the fire with you and never expected that you would run away. we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful country.

94%

This is a real gem of a hostel. We drove up to it with some trepidation, as its accessed by a long, dirt path that seems to be going into the middle of nowhere. However, we soon discovered that this is really what makes the place. The stunning views over the valley make its distance from the town totally worthwhile.The place itself is nice and clean, the staff are lovely and their cooking is both excellent value and delicious! I would definitely return.


97%

Beautiful setting and a very relaxed vibe. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is really an enjoyable place. The view is great, the fires outside are cosy, the atmosphere is really easy going, and the meals served are simply outstanding. Possible improvements: the matrasses on the beds in the dorms are thin, there are no plugs near most of the beds, the door to the dorm is always open (however, the place itself is gated) and the road to the hostel needs some maintanance. Nevertheless, I think this is the best backpackers of Plett - should not be missed!


83%

Friendly staff and nice clean hostel, however the location was very out of the way and it was difficult and expensive to get transport to and from the hostel.




View all Plettenberg Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback