Hostelworld.com

African Array Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

The property is at the end of a very long off-road drive which was a bit of a pain and caused a flat tyre. However the location itself is quite central, although you would need a car. The security of the property was good, and the staff were quite friendly. The rooms were clean and we were impressed with the facilities. The view from the balcony was absolutely stunning - it is worth staying here just for the sunset. We would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
7.1

Nice spot with lots of space and amazing views. Good atmosphere too. Room was a bit tired and bed was a bit grubby tho

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Spent 3 nights in one of their private rooms and was very happy overall. Rooms had a spectacular view as does the hostel itself. Very laid back and chilled atmosphere although I am sure it changes with the people that are staying. Beautiful fires every night outside which we enjoyed very much. We didn't have our own car but the staff were great about driving us into town and picking us up when we needed. all the staff we tremendous and went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Dec 2016
8.3

Great location. It is a little bit further away from the main street in Plettenberg but honestly worth the extra 10 minutes. Lovely views and a great set-up add to the experience. Would definitely go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.7

Best backpackers I've stayed at as far as scenery goes! Staff very friendly and welcoming. Rooms lockable with towels provided and probably one of the cleanest backpackers I've stayed at. A fully stocked bar is available and I think things may get quite festive. We partied in town mostly, which is about 4km away, but a shuttle service is available 27/7. No option to do laundry. Wifi available in all rooms. Braai facilities available. Definitely recommend!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2016
8.6

Ok.. I was there during hi-season, but there was one bathroom for a dorm room of like 12 people. The logistics of just that fact were horrible. They also don't assign beds and the cleaning lady comes in and cleans the beds of everything, so its extremely common for you bed to be stolen....It's also in the middle of no where, but that's kind of its charm, you definitely need a car to get there. Awesome vibe and cool people though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
7.1

This is OK. It's outside Plettenberg Bay, so quite a trek if you want to go into town and you don't have transport. The views are great over the reservoir. The place is fairly clean but could be better, particularly the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff were friendly and helpful and the good was great. Overall fantastic place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.4

Awesome people, staff and owner. Got good advice for things to do. Very nice food for breakfast and dinner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dooglemcd
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 58 reviews
5th Oct 2016
10.0

Great stay, relaxed atmosphere and amazing view. The guy running the place is very nice and knowledgeable about the area. Dirt road was ok in our little car. 10 minutes from town. I'd stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.