X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

African Array Lodge Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
52 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The views from this hostel are beautiful. We stayed in a dorm room as there was no private room available and it wasnt to our liking so checked out early but there was nothing wrong with it. Unfortunately the long driveway to the hostel is in very poor repair with large dangerous pot holes and large stones, not advised for a little rental car like our . Staff are friendly

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review however you did not book out early but rather left without saying anything to us and also left without paying your bar tab. we were trying to see if we could find you a private room which had you stayed you could have gotten one as we had a late cancellation. I must say we enjoyed our conversation around the fire with you and never expected that you would run away. we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful country.

46%

The hostel is on an unpaved road uphill very hard to reach when it rains on a small car, specially after dark. We booked ensuite and got a shared shower with no hot water that was quite dirty. There were 2 other families staying there and they were terribly loud, and our room was right next to the kitchen so we could hear a lot of noise since early in the morning. The sink doesn't even have hand soap. Great views from the main terrace, but this is useless if it rains. Our room was quite large

Owner Comment (Hide)
I knew you would be giving us a bad review as we told you that we were going to give your room away as you only arrived at 11pm after we sent you numerous messages. You booked Buzzard room which is a budged room with shared bathroom stated on Hostelworld. all bathrooms has hand soap and gets filled all the time. as you stayed in high season it is possible for bigger groups to get up early and be noisy. you are welcome to ask these guest to keep their voices down. Please read your confirmations

94%

This is a real gem of a hostel. We drove up to it with some trepidation, as its accessed by a long, dirt path that seems to be going into the middle of nowhere. However, we soon discovered that this is really what makes the place. The stunning views over the valley make its distance from the town totally worthwhile.The place itself is nice and clean, the staff are lovely and their cooking is both excellent value and delicious! I would definitely return.


97%

Beautiful setting and a very relaxed vibe. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is really an enjoyable place. The view is great, the fires outside are cosy, the atmosphere is really easy going, and the meals served are simply outstanding. Possible improvements: the matrasses on the beds in the dorms are thin, there are no plugs near most of the beds, the door to the dorm is always open (however, the place itself is gated) and the road to the hostel needs some maintanance. Nevertheless, I think this is the best backpackers of Plett - should not be missed!


83%

Friendly staff and nice clean hostel, however the location was very out of the way and it was difficult and expensive to get transport to and from the hostel.


100%

description of the way to the hostel could be better :)

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel almost made me change my trip so I could enjoy one more night there. Amazing place, so comfortable that makes it sounds like home. Incredible view, and friendly staff. You can order your food at the hostel, so if you want a night to relax, that's the place you should be. The hostel is a bit far from the center, but if you are by car this is no excuse to miss it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Backpackers Lodge, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you visit in the future.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Stunning View. Very helpful host, who helped us to find the right activities to do in our limited time. excellent food and an athmosphere as if you wolud be at home. Only the road to the place is an unexpected long adventure with a tiny little car.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Backpackers Lodge, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

91%

it was a very nice hostel although a little far away from the actual city plettenberg bay because it was up on a hill. But the view and the atmosphere of the hostel defenetly make for that! It was a very pretty house, clean and overlooking the country side and the damm of plettenberg. For a chill out time i would recoomend it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Backpackers Lodge, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the views are absolutely amazing.

97%

Fantastic lodge with great service from Matthew, Vicky and Sebastian! Couldn't have made my stay any better in this extremely beautiful lodge!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

91%

Beautiful view of the water reservoir, but you are quite a ways away from the ocean and beach. The owners are incredibly nice and the place has a very homely feel too it, everyone talks with everyone and you can even sit outside at night around the fire pit which is kept going until everyone goes to bed. The place has a security gate and cameras, but no lockers. The food they sell is very pricey, but the alcohol is very reasonable. I had a great time at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review African Array Lodge, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry if you feel the food is too pricey but we only use fresh products and most been organic where we can.

100%

We had an excellent stay in African Array. Very friendly staff, good meals, we feld at home.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I really enjoyed my stay there. At first I thought it was to far from the town center. But when i arrived and saw the view and the nature, peaceful atmosphere it changed my mind. Its a stunning location. You are catered for with cooking and there is a bar. The staff are very cool. Get ready to relax next to the fire places. And book for more than one night, because you wont want to leave:)


94%

Matthew and Vicky are wonderful people, providing a comfortable stay for travellers, but also doing good things in their community to support those in need (including domestic animals). The views from their multiple decks are impressive and there is plenty of wood for the many fire pits if it is chilly. The road in is a bit of a challenge right now but don't let it deter you, it is worth the effort and road maintenance was underway while we were there to make it better.


100%

The best South African hostel. Clean rooms, amazing view and outstanding food!! Visited with some Americans and they rated the food the best they have had in South Africa. Will definitely visit again! Thanks


94%

The African Array Lodge was great. It was very cosy and my room was beautiful. Everything was very clean. My breakfast was also very good and I had it on the terrace with a great view. It was really cheap for what you get.


100%

wonderful hostel, exceptional location, good food, perfect value for money


94%

Verry friendly and hospatality owners. They gave us an free upgrade to a big room with bath and a own balcony with a great vieuw to the ocean and sunset. They serve ferry good food and brekfeast. It is an awsome hostel just outsidd plett.


97%

Matthew, Vicki and Wayne were amazing hosts at African Array. We practically had the place to ourselves which was wonderful. The outside areas were great for groups, sitting around the fire and looking at the amazing views from up on the hill and at the stars at night. Matthew's breakfast was one of the best we've had in a long time. The place was clean, spacious and had clearly been cared for. Matthew and Vicki are true professionals! You will surely enjoy a rest here - highly recommended.


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Plettenberg Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback