X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Afrique du Sud Backpackers Reviews

Corner St. Johns and Main Roads, Sea Point, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

62%

Rating
70 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 56%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

the hostel is located on main road with very heavy traffic noise, so you could as well set up your tent down on the pavement for a similar night rest. I spotted individuals taking “guests” to rooms. During the three days I was at the hostel, the owner was not there, but friends of hin who acted as supervisory staff. Jaded 50-60 year-old, who smoked cigarettes day-in day-out and used to boss around junior (black) staff in a way one would not expect to have to witness in the new South Africa!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The dorm room is so much small if you compare with others backpackers the same price, but it's not the problem. Actually the main problem is dirty room and is not safe because the locked is so much small.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

It was very noisy at night. It is a place for people who loves partying and drinking alcohol but not for people who want a properly sleep at night.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

Our room was not available on arrival. They put us into other rooms though without any apology or discount. Also, no free parking as advertised. You have to try to find street parking or pay for the parking deck next door.


86%

Awesome place. Love it everytime i go there.


83%

staff very caring, helpful, professional, good enviroment, location

  • 1st Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff were nice and trying to help at all time. The location was good, with bus stops, shops, restaurants nearby. Free breakfast was offered with toast, cereals and drinks. But: whenever its raining the roof was leaking badly, the staff just turn over the wet bed mattress, made the upside down and put it back on the bed; bed sheets and mattress weren’t so clean; the room they named en-suite had no toilet, only a mini shower; they had no hairdryer to hire, other facilities were old and outmoded.


86%

Nice place to stay with excellent staff who'd help you to organise everything you want!

  • 24th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were very helpful in providing information about things to do and local transportation. The hostel was as I expected, no frills, basic needs provided and comfortable enough room. Luckily, it was fairly quiet while I stayed there which I appreciated. Location was great, interesting area, grocery stores nearby and only a couple of blocks from the waterfront. Local buses were easy to catch to other parts of Cape Town.

  • 2nd Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Thanks to staff for their help in recommendation what is the places of interest in Capetouwn

  • 22nd Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Room had a strong mold smell. I witnessed individuals take "guests" (who were not staying at the hostel) to their room, which was advised against.

  • 8th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great stay during new years! Thank you very much.

  • 31st Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks, we're glad you had fun! Hope to see you again soon

83%

Amazing, really friendly and helpful staff members, rooms are clean, simple but very nice. Really recommendable!

  • 29th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, it was great to have you stay with us & we're very happy you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!

97%

Mostly million dollar properties abound, for good reason, in the Sea Point section of Cape Town, the most delicious super long term destination imaginable for thousands of miles - while Afrique du Sud Backpackers right amidst it charges but ten euros per night. Sign me up! Adult, seasoned, totally recommendable atmosphere - everything a hostel should be - plus, look, that Olympic-sized Sea Point swimming pool shimmering in the sun just 3 blocks away.


57%

Very basic accomodation. Near to main roads so not quiet at night if you are trying to sleep (depends on what room is allocated to you). Place needs a good clean and refurbishment. Location is good though.

  • 4th Dec 2010
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


30%

We had a very dirty room and also the kitchen was dirty, so we could't really enjoy our stay in "Afrique du Sud Backpackers".


93%

Awesome place in Sea Point (which is an easy taxi to Long Street in Cape Town and a nice walk to the Waterfront). Usually had hot water in the mornings but at night not much hot water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you struggled with the hot water. We'll get someone to sort that out for us

50%

This hostel is awfull!!! The staff and the location is good BUT the hostel.... Cockroaches everywhere!!!! In the kitchen, the WC, the bath and in your room. IIIIIHHHHH!!!!!!!! When you come to Cape Town go NOT to this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately there are cockroaches in South Africa and they do like the cities. Pest control come regularly to keep them away but when they spray it does bring them out of their hiding places to die. Sadly I think you may have been here then. We do apologies but can assure you that they are all gone.

63%

Quite an old building, so obviously difficult to keep clean. Only 2 bathrooms for 2 floors of rooms. But was ok. Great location for Sea Point. Access to all shops, banks. Waterfront only short busride away. Overall ok.


100%

Very helpful after we had been mugged in Cape Town. We're grateful for their understanding.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback