X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aga Hamam Hostel Reviews

Kuloglu Mahallesi Turnacibasi Caddesi No 48, Aga Hamam hostel ,Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
229 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostal was pretty good, The lockers are small, but you can leave your things on your bed, is pretty secure, you feel it. Our only problem was to come late in The night, because at nights sí años old man who dont speak any word in english, so it was a really big problem to explain everything. In The day you can find a really pretty lady who speak good english. I would go back again here. Really nice hostel.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice hostel with very good location, just off Istiklal street and with a roof terrace. only the showers were a little bit weird since they are in one room and you couldn't really lock them, so you kind of had to get changed in the shower, a little bit complicated but not a big problem though. A little bit difficult to find since there was no real sign but some one from the staff saw us and showed us the entrance. I would definitely come back!


80%

Some very hairy men downstairs


63%

Staff is pretty annoying as they enter the dormitorys various times every morning without really caring about the clients`rest. to be honest you have the sentation of being surveilled. Other than that the hostel was clean and the rooftop with tables and chairs is relly cool.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The man running this place completely ruined my experience. While it is in a cool area and funky building, it is hard to enjoy yourself when you have an old Turkish man who doesn't speak English hovering over your shoulder. He thought I was trying to hook up with another guest and proceeded to yell at me for trying to say goodnight. I then made a reservation for a couple days later and when i returned he said they were full and I was forces to find another hostel the day of my stay. Lame owners!

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Firstly old man is not owner . he is only security , secondly a girls complain because of you , so we don't extend your reservation . we have to think all guest .

71%

Overall, a good value for money hostel with a very good location. There is, however, a SERIOUS need for air conditioning in the rooms. The Turkish Bath is excellent and well worth a visit! For the price not a bad hostel at all.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel in a great location, slightly off the Main Street but we preferred this. Clean, everything you need with fridges and fans. The Hammam downstairs is great and we would definitely recommend!


77%

Please put in lockers in the dorms! I would also be good to teach all the staff at least some English. Also, tell the staff who usually worked evenings/nights to stop smoking inside!!! Great kitchen/living room!


91%

Very clean place and friendly staff. It has a historical Turkish bath at the entrance floor. Choose the main roads to return to the hostel at night for security reasons. Be aware that bathrooms are common.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Not far from Taksim Square. Several supermarkets are nearby. Spacious dorm and rooftop.Very clean.


89%

it was a nice place to place and on the perfect location as well..

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely hostel in an amazing location. Staff are friendly and will help you out if you need anything. Cooking facilities available which is a great plus. 5min walk to Taksim square and the main shopping street. Overall excellent


89%

everything there was fine except the WiFi service,i barely could get connected to the net. other than that the staff and the place was all perfect.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean and comfy dorms in a cool old building. Comfortable common area and kitchen. Not all the staff spoke English but wasn't much of a problem. Down from istiklal street near Taksim, so reasonably good area near much food and bars but off the main drag so no real street noise, except the odd rioting. Not really their fault though.


77%

Very clean, beautiful building, kitchen area and terrace. Staff were helpful when present, but not all staff can speak English well, and at times reception was unattended for hours. Showers not so good.. water pressure and temperature are good, but the wall fitting to hold up the shower head is broken in every single shower, and while I was there the glass door fell off the shower and shattered.


94%

Amazing location. Fantastic atmosphere. Our only complaint was the showers were getting old. Some had issues with the shower head making them unusable. Over all a great experience.


77%

The furniture of the reception and the living room is very nice. The dormitories are very basic. The washing rooms and toiletts were quite old and some things were broken. At 2 days from 4 days of my stay, there was no warm water. Most of the time there is nobody at the reception to complain about. The situation of the hostel is very good to reach the taksim area and with a 20min walk you are on the other side of the golden horn. Alltogether the cost/performance ratio is ok.

  • 29th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is located on the upper floors of a historic Turkish hamam which makes it stand out from many other hostels in the area. The rooms were all very clean and there is a really nice sitting room and a large kitchen as well as a very large rooftop terrace, the kitchen could use more cooking pots, plates and utensils but beyond that it was very good. It is also a very short walk to Istiklal street whith tons of restaurants, bars and shopping plus close to public transit.


60%

Not terrible, but staff have little english and area of town is kinda scary for a girl alone at night...like my other hostel a lot better!


97%

Great place, most friendly staff, really recommendable!


(130 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback