X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Agora Hostel and Guesthouse Reviews

Akbiyik cad (street) Amiral Tafdil sk. no.6, Sultanahmet / Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1371 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great staff!! and great location. I highly recomend

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your kind remarks :) It was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay with us. Hope to see you again! Bob Kelso @ front desk

100%

enjoyed my stay , staff and facilities were excellent

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of the entire Agora Staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure meeting you :) Hope to see you again, have a great summer. Bob Kelso @ front desk

100%

Great place to stay, short walk to everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback :) We are glad to hear you had a good time staying with us. Hope to see you again in the future! Bob Kelso @ front desk

91%

중심지인 술타아흐멧과 가까워서 좋았어요. 직원분들도 친절하시고 청결했습니다. 다만 위치가 내리막길에 있어서 캐리어 끌고 이동하기가 어려운편이에요.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
우리는 당신이 우리의 게스트 하우스에서 즐거운 여행을했다 듣고 다행입니다. 의견을 보내 주셔서 감사합니다 :) 프런트 데스크 @ 밥 켈소

100%

The staff was very helpful and friendly even when I arrived at 1am!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time leaving us feedback. It was pleasure being your host. Hope to have you stay with us again for a longer visit :) Bob Kelso @ front desk

94%

Finally, a bed that's comfortable. Powerful air conditioning, really clean and nice toilets, great breakfast spread, rooftop terrace, just great. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel (other than having to share rooms, of course).

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure meeting you. Have a wonderful summer, see you next time you are in town :) Bob Kelso @ front desk

89%

ベッドの寝心地がよく、朝食も素晴らしい。日本人スタッフが親切。

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

トルコの滞在は2週間でしたが、agoraの朝食が1番おいしかったです。テラスがとても居心地がよく、シャワールームも清潔でスタッフはフレンドリー、久しぶりに心から過ごしやすいゲストハウスでした! tomomi さん色々とご親切にありがとうございました!!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The only downfall for us was that the kitchen wasn't really able to be use by guests & that would have been really helpful.


100%

This was the first hostel I have ever stayed at, but I am reviewing this hostel after having stayed at 5+ other hostels. - The shuttle service was easy to find from Ataturk Airport. - Hostel/Istanbul seemed to attract independent and free thinking people - Helpful staff (Tomomi was very helpful and still e-mails me one month after my stay!) - Homecooked breakfast was included - Clean and had no problems with the free wi-fi


89%

Der Chef des Hostels war zwar unglaublich nett, witzig und hilfsbereit, allerdings konnte er sich nicht oder nur wenig auf sein Publikum einstellen. Gewöhnlich schlafen im 10er-Hostelzimmer Leute, die ihre Ausgaben im Rahmen halten wollen. Der Besitzer gab aber keinerlei Tipps, wie man günstig in Istanbul rumkommt, stattdessen wurden teure Dinge wie z. B. Transfer im SUV mit Air-Con angeboten!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, unfortunately we will have to disagree with you on your comments regarding the staff being not helpful or suggesting expansive things. We take the time with each and every guest explaining a lot of things on the map. W

100%

This hostel is awesome. The staff is great, the location is in a great spot, close to Blue Mosque, the bathroom is nice, there is a beautiful view on the rooftop, the kitchen is great and a delicious breakfast. I extremely recommend this hostel.


94%

Had an awesome stay at Agora! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location is prime, and the breakfasts were amazing! Everything was clean and felt very secure, and we greatly appreciated the tea and coffee provided on the beautiful rooftop terrace. I would recommend Agora without hesitation!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

I had awesome days in Istanbul, I just can highly recommend this hostel especially because of the staff there :-) I will come back

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved EVERYTHING about Agora. The staff were SO helpful, it is conveniently near the blue mosque and walking distance from the spice market, grand bazaar, and it's near a tram stop, so you can take that anywhere. The rooms were spacious, huge lockers, the staff gave us hand drawn maps with recommendations which were great. The breakfast was the best I've ever had at any hostel and the terrace is gorgeous and has a great view. This is definitely one of the best places to stay in Istanbul!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your nice comments :) We enjoyed your company as well. It was a pleasure meeting you! Have a great summer, hope to see you again... On behalf of all Agora team, once again thank you for taking your time to rate us :) Vahap (Bob Kelso) @front desk

83%

I stayed with my friends at Agora House for 4 nights. The room was small but cozy and the facilities were great. It has a lovely terrace for breakfast and tea. Breakfast was better than an average hostel and had some variety everyday with homemade cakes. Staff was helpful borrowing a phone charger to one of us and Tony (night shift staff) was excellent and extremely helpful trying to change our flight by calling Turkish airlines for a while. Thank you so much for your help Tony!


100%

Agora was easily one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Great location, very clean, amazing views from the upstairs common room and rooftop terrace, and fun and friendly staff. Delicious free breakfast every morning in the common room - I definitely miss all the homemade treats! I was traveling alone for the week and felt safe. Will definitely recommend Agora to anyone traveling to Istanbul and will definitely be back in the future. Can't recommend it enough, Agora was really special.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Had a great time hanging out with the manager on the rooftop terrace, drinking wine, watching ships cruise the Bosporus. the breakfast is fantastic.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback :) It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you can make it back to Istanbul again. Have a great summer! Bob Kelso @ Agora Guesthouse

100%

Great place!


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback