Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Agora Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
7.7

The hostel is in a central place close to main attractions. The staff is willing to help but the lobby smells because the kitchen is close and open. And don't expect to sleep easily at night because its too noisy outside because of cafes and bars just beside the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
7.7

Agora was ok itself, amazing location very friendly/helpful staff. However everything that supposedly makes it unique was a bit overhyped-the restaurant had an average menu, not even offered many Sicilian specialties. I didn't experience that cool vibe people spoke of my waitress was extremely rude to me bc I was a solo traveler; I was shunted into the corner & barely given service. the food tasted meh. My 8 bed dorm room was very clean, but no locks on doors same for bathroom. No hot water.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Apr 2017
5.7

Excellent location and staff very friendly. Facilities and cleanliness has a lot to be improved, the beds are uncorfotable and bathrooms and rooms dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
7.7

The stay was what you would anticipate from a cheap hostel. It got the job done. The bathroom wasn't very clean and the room was crowded, but that was to be expected. The staff was helpful in telling me how to get the bus to mount Etna. They offer cheap locks to secure your items, which was nice as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
5.4

There were no sheets on the bed upon our arrival and we did not get any without having to ask. The pillow I was given had blood stains on it. Our stay was unwelcoming when we were in the room, however, the staff was quite nice after I approached them.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
7.1

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are unlocked but there are cabinets in the room for your belongings (you have to bring your own lock or get one from the desk). Simple breakfast offered in the morning and always someone at the desk if you have questions. Very central to what you'd want to see in Catania and the restaurant associated with the hostel is very good. Know that the building is right next to a train route so bring ear plugs for maximum comfort. Enjoyed my stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
7.7

The room was definitely cozy- fit 8 beds in a small space. Complaints: I was put in an all-girls room and there was a man in there too. Also, none of the rooms could be locked which I didn't like. Also the directions to get there from the airport weren't very clear and the 'free breakfast' of a packaged croissant and cereal (if you brought your own milk) was a bit ridiculous. Just don't provide breakfast. Impossible to sleep with all the noise from the bar. But staff were wonderful and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
8.0

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Staff are good. Clean sheets. Breakfast provided. Very close to centre of Catania. Beds were hard in the mixed dorm so I snaffled an extra pillow off a spare bed to put under my sheet to provide extra padding. Nice place overall. Ta.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2017
8.6

Cool hostel for this amount of money:its close to many things and life is boiling around:all this markets-Saturday market and fish market-to participate in it. And from another site-all this sights just behind the corner....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
9.7

I definitely recommend anyone stay at this hostel! They were very helpful, and it is in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.