Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Agora Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Agora Hostel Located at Piazza Curro, 6, , Catania.
Agora Hostel
Italy
Catania Sicily 95121 Piazza Curro, 6
84% 1024
37.5011806 15.0861382
Agora Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
5.4

Catania was not what we had expected! It is really run down and not a place I'd want to be at night. The hostel is in a really run down area with graffiti everywhere and it just doesn't feel safe. No locks on the doors to the rooms either. The breakfast should not even be advertised as it was a bowl of vacuum sealed croissants and a container of half eaten cookies. It is also right next to the train and trains pass every few minutes shaking the building. The hostel is above a bar and really loud

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

Disclaimer: If you're a light sleeper bring earplugs! Agora hostel is located in possibly the edgiest place in Catania. By the afternoon when the market vendors have packed and left, the area doesn't look special in any way. However by the evening entire crowds of locals congregate in the piazzas, live music permiates the air wherever you walk, and the best part is: the hostel and bar are at the centre of everything! Staff friendly, social area cosy, toilets clean, and lockers are sizable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
5.1

Hot rooms with no air conditioning and loud music until 4am. Hard to have a good nights sleep..! I ended up shortening my stay. Staff at the hostel are really friendly and helpful!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.7

Great place to stay. Friendly staff. Good location and excellent hostel bar and restaurant. Would recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.0

Agora was nice to stay, right close to the happening part of town. It had some issues but for all its shortfalls it was a good place to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.0

Not much more you can ask for for the price. Catania is definitely cooler than expected and this seems like where you want to be, right near the piazza duomo and pretty close to the other piazza. The bar/restaurant next door is cooler than expected. It wasn't as loud as the other reviews made it seem. Me and my buddy had our own private room. Worked out well and super easy commute to airport. Nightlife in Catania is better than expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Aug 2016
7.4

Very good atmosphere in the square infront of the Hostel every evening, also nice staff, especially the lady who managed to answer all our questions! Shower and toilets could use an upgrade though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • wippmans887
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
10.0

Suuuuper reasonable price, great location in the center of everything, friendly staff. The rooms are tiny for the number of people in them, but it's fine since it's so cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2016
8.3

Nice hostel with great location next to a busy piazza where the hostel's bar is. Unfortunately very loud because of the bar's music,fine with closed window.staff was very friendly and brought us an extra fan.perfect for enjoying catania's nightlife.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.1

Such a good hostel for the money you pay! The free breakfast is nothing exciting, it's quite loud outside the room, the beds are about a 7/10, and there's no air con in the rooms, but it's all decent for 10€ a night. Basically, it's not a luxury hostel, but it's more than adequate :) I stayed in July and the rooms were fine with a fan, so we survived, and the bathrooms were great. Plus a kitchen and lockers and bag storage are all convenient. All in all, would stay again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.