X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Airport Skyway Lodge Reviews

30 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
366 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Overall = good. My only criticism would be the noise. The private rooms' walls are not well insulated and all hallway noises including doors opening and closing are easily heard.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

There is a cheap airport shuttle at this place. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. It's a good hostel for the night before you leave Auckland.


86%

Owners very welcoming and friendly. General vibe was safe and welcoming, including other guests. Great atmosphere!

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel was very convenient and reasonable. They offer a very cheap shuttle to the airport as well as a cheap day rate for later flights. The staff were very friendly and hospitable and the room was spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend! :)


77%

Good hostel near the airport! They pick you up at the airport if you call them :) nice people, but little expensive for bad internett.


80%

I can really recommend this hostel, if you want to stay somewere close to the airport! The staff is great, really friendly people! The hostel looks a bit old-fashioned, but you'll feel home soon! The facillities are also good, especially the kitchen! You can find everything you need. There is a tv-room where you can chill out and watch television or a dvd. You can also go out for dinner, there are some restaurants about 10 minutes away from the hostel.

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Too many "hidden" charges. The receptionist said there was airport transfer available, but did not mention it would be charged. She asked me to pay while I arrived the lodge. I requested 1 hour earlier check and the early check in fee was NZD25 while my room rate was only NZD35!


60%

pretty cold and damp rooms, no heating, no hot water, no free wifi, (what a surprise no whirlpool) we have traveled piece of the world... and God bless Europe - heat, hot water and internet access is simply a must! otherwise ok, staff helpful, transfer from the airport allright...


80%

Nice place to stay if your flight leaves very early. Just 10mins to airport. Would stay again.


80%

Lovely hostel with no real complaints. Loved the close atmosphere.


86%

Really nice hostel i stayed in while i arrived in auckland. They pick you directly to the airport and were very nice. room are clean, nice people in there and very quiet and peaceful place

  • 25th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly staff, ended up in a room all to myself even though I paid for a dorm - 5$ transfer right from hostel to airport at 5am with very friendly driver. Would have been nice if the hot tub was heated up though!


77%

We stayed in the Skyway lodge for one night before flying home to the UK, it was comfortable, the staff were friendly and very helpful. It was more than what we expected for the price. I would definitely recommend the pancakes from the farm down the road for breakfast!

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Enjoyed very much. Convenient location near airport with transfers for a small fee. We had a large room, clean and towels provided. Ended up going back for a second night when we came back through Auckland!


89%

10 min from the airport by hostel shuttle ($5/ride/person), nice and clean, free coffee/tee, friendly owner


91%

Friendly, fast pick up from the airport and extremely good value. Thanks for the ride to the restaurant , also. I will recommend this hostel to others.


34%

It was disappointed to arrive to NZ to that hostel.....

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I would not hesitate to recommend staying here. Great value, very friendly and sincere. And after staying at different Hostels that tell you online they are clean and tidy, and you arrive and they are filthy and messy it was such a relieve to stay in such a clean place.

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Was the best bed since weeks and scot is just an amazing guy


86%

Very convenient location 5 minutes from the airport. Scott arrived very quickly for our pick-up after we called him from the airport and was very friendly and welcoming. Hostel was clean and had a good atmosphere, and the large lounge and kitchen areas were a bonus. Thanks!

  • 4th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(269 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback