X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Airport Skyway Lodge Reviews

30 Kirkbride Road, Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
380 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Very pleasant stay was good to get picked up and dropped off from airport at very reasonable cost


97%

Perfect location for those flying in and out of Auckland. The manager was super friendly and the shuttle makes it even more convenient. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of my room...spotless.


89%

Enjoyed my stay, it was just what I wanted. Friendly and obliging staff.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Good shuttle service and friendly host but disappointing accommodation. Shared toilets were horrible and the whole place was a bit old and worn. Security almost didn't exist and for 60 bucks I could've had a budget hotel room .

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place with a very friendly host (Scott), who picked us up at 3am at the airport. Lodge 10 min drive from the airport, clean, friendly and infront of a strawberry producer; a must try.


83%

Very friendly and uncomplicated. We only stayed one night before our flight and had a double room which was clean, the bed was comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and very clean. But the best thing about this Lodge is the strawberry field on the other side of the road!

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The best part was the pick up and drop off to the airport, and the service by Scott. It was clean enough, nice enough, but nothing special.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Ok for an overnight stopover.Nice strawberry farm beside it.


57%

Only stay here for one night, before you fly out of Auckland.


69%

Overall = good. My only criticism would be the noise. The private rooms' walls are not well insulated and all hallway noises including doors opening and closing are easily heard.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

There is a cheap airport shuttle at this place. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. It's a good hostel for the night before you leave Auckland.


86%

Owners very welcoming and friendly. General vibe was safe and welcoming, including other guests. Great atmosphere!

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel was very convenient and reasonable. They offer a very cheap shuttle to the airport as well as a cheap day rate for later flights. The staff were very friendly and hospitable and the room was spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend! :)


77%

Good hostel near the airport! They pick you up at the airport if you call them :) nice people, but little expensive for bad internett.


80%

I can really recommend this hostel, if you want to stay somewere close to the airport! The staff is great, really friendly people! The hostel looks a bit old-fashioned, but you'll feel home soon! The facillities are also good, especially the kitchen! You can find everything you need. There is a tv-room where you can chill out and watch television or a dvd. You can also go out for dinner, there are some restaurants about 10 minutes away from the hostel.

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Too many "hidden" charges. The receptionist said there was airport transfer available, but did not mention it would be charged. She asked me to pay while I arrived the lodge. I requested 1 hour earlier check and the early check in fee was NZD25 while my room rate was only NZD35!


60%

pretty cold and damp rooms, no heating, no hot water, no free wifi, (what a surprise no whirlpool) we have traveled piece of the world... and God bless Europe - heat, hot water and internet access is simply a must! otherwise ok, staff helpful, transfer from the airport allright...


80%

Nice place to stay if your flight leaves very early. Just 10mins to airport. Would stay again.


80%

Lovely hostel with no real complaints. Loved the close atmosphere.


86%

Really nice hostel i stayed in while i arrived in auckland. They pick you directly to the airport and were very nice. room are clean, nice people in there and very quiet and peaceful place

  • 25th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(278 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback