X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aite Cruinnichidh Reviews

1 Achluachrach, By Roy Bridge, near Fort William, Fort William, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
277 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We had a pleasant stay. Nichola was very accomodating and friendly. Good location for a short stop over before heading up to the highlands.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Extremely friendly and good location

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Kitchen area was nice and the woman who ran the place was friendly and helpful. No wifi. The mattresses were pretty uncomfortable on our two beds. The combined shower/toilets didn't work so well with the wet floors getting dirty from outside shoes. Also, the sauna is on a pay meter and didn't look particularly airtight for keeping in the heat.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It's a decent place to stay with low budget but the wifi signal is poor and it can get really cold at night.


80%

The bunnies were cute and the hostel was up to par but it was a bit out of the way (ie: only accessible by car) and the wifi didn't work. The kitchen was clean as were the bathrooms, and it had a sauna. However, if you're over 6 feet, try to get a bed in a one of the four-bed or two-bed rooms.


94%

The place was really nice, the staff was helpful and flexible. The walls are not really blocking the sounds ( that's how it is...), and I suggest the owners to invest to a wifi access point and 10m of UTP cable, so the can provide better wifi coverage in the main building.


46%

The 6 person room is far to small and I would never stay again

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely! Thank you! Wish we could've stayed longer x

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Quite far away from Fort William. Would only recommend to those who have a car.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great stop off point on our journey. First time using a hostel pleasantly suprised. Not just for young travellers we met a few families. Very clean and great use of kitchen facilities. Next time we are up in Scotland we will stay longer as we weren't sure what to expect. Our friends laughed when we told them, they won't when we get back and show them photos of our great holiday wish it was longer.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the lovely feedback. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future!

91%

It is indeed a very good hostel and worth the next visit. We do appreciate the help with the change of booking.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A really lovely place, great big room with a double bed, bunk beds, ensuite, tea and coffee, big kitchen, great view. Comfy beds, nice bright room, hosts were very nice. Tiled floor in the bathroom was chilly, but otherwise a great stay

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent value for money. Friendly, helpful owner. Clean accommodation with good standard facilities. Never had to queue to use the bathrooms. Plenty of parking. Couldn't fault my stay here.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

This place was quite nice. Good sized kitchen, wood panelled walls throughout, good water pressure. Only thing is it's in the middle of nowhere and absolutely requires a car to get there. And make sure you save your gps instructions because there is no wifi and no service anywhere close!


97%

We were a group of four in our own room, Showers were hot, beds were comfortable, huge kitchen and rec room, off street parking and a beautiful river gorge to explore in the morning.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely host, good facilities, good location for Ben Nevis. Top hostel! https://crowdfunding.justgiving.com/tomandamy

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was a good value for money hostel. Perfect for backpackers. Relatively close to Fort William. Share bathroom, kitchen and living room.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything you need after climbing Ben Nevis. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms and beds are comfortable and clean. Showers and toilets are clean with ample hot water and plenty of them. The kitchen and eating area is large and everything supplied for what you need to cook. Perfect for us. Thanks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing such a positive review. It means a great deal to us!

86%

Great place to stay if you plan your trip around Western Higlands. About 20 min drive from Fort William. I'm not sure about public transport to the hostel as we was driving a car. Hostel is very clean and tidy, only problem is limited access to mobile networks and internet. Beside of that highly recommend!!

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a lovely stay, Nicola and Gavin were really helpful when checking in and out. Great location for access to Fort William and really good price.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Fort William Hostels

Please give us your feedback