X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1843 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Had a lovely stay in this youth hostel. Thank you!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

There shouldn't be a curfew (the hostel is closed from 4-6 am).

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We still have the shortest curfew in a city

77%

This place is cheap for good reason. A word of caution if you have a lot of luggage because you have to carry it up to possibly 5 floors of precarious steps. The room is heated well and they have a water boiler, fridge and locker to store your items. The location is alright; it's close to the station but I get lost with so many split streets still. Try not to arrive at night because the area is closed to the red light district. The place gets quite loud after midnight.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff was helpful We asked about breakfast and a staff member said it wasn't included Needed fresh towels and staff member said that it was going to cost two euros Our room was Okay bed was uncomfortable... Sinked in the middle.. Room was really really cold when we arrived they said heater doesn't go on until 6pm..we found trash in our mini fridge but they cleaned it out..shower is a hit or miss with hot water.. Shower during the day..at night it seems like all the hot water is gone..

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

All was good, but the toilets and showers should be in other place, because those are in the lobby area, so is not comfortable with other people. (the rooms beside reception)


43%

for that price u can afford much better

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good price for New Years accommodation booked a few days before. Location is very good.


63%

The hostel is in a good locatiion. Near the train station. However, sharing beds with 20 people, only if needed because you're going to have a bad time resting. Also, it closes from 4 to 6 am, so it's a time you can't come to sleep or leave. This is bad management.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we have one of the shortest curfews in a city.

63%

Location is good(close to the central station). Staff was just doing their job at the reception desk. I couldn't sleep well because the room was so cold and it was so noisy outside. My locker wasn't working, so I couldn't use it.


63%

Really basic hostel at an excellent price. Great just to crash at the end of the day. Need shoes for the showers though


71%

It was a very cheap stay, considering it was Amsterdam near Christmas, but one of the showers broke and the other was a little dirty. The rooms only have plugs near the door (away from most beds), which wasn't very nice. Otherwise, the location is amazingly good and it's good for a one or two nights stay!


43%

Only use this hostel as a last resort for the good location Toilets are in the same room as reception. Showers are pretty useless and also in same room as reception. No security other than small lockers. Nothing here except beds, some staff are good though


51%

The staff really were not that friendly, they really didn't make themselves aproachable. The lobby the "common room" and the first floor showers, toilets and rubbish bins and minimal kitchen facilities are all in the same small area when you walk in. Which is a little strange, and doesn't lead to comfortable socialising.


97%

The room was very cold for being december. The heater was off the time we were in the room that was from 19h in advance and taking into account that outside was 0 degrees, it was quite cold.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, sorry, but heater was and still ON all the time.

86%

A very quiet and spacious hostel room and helpful staff.


71%

Unfortunately Amsterdam is really expensive, so the amount you pay for Aivengo would get you something way nicer in other cities. That being said, the place was clean, the beds were comfy and the location was great! Not the most picturesque place and not at all the kind of place where you'll meet and hang out with people. Also wifi didn't work in our room and staff didn't seem terribly interested in fixing the problem. Overall, a fine place to sleep but not a memorable hostel experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks :) We are still one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam :)

74%

Excelent location, the staff was all kind and nice, our roomies were also nice. The only thing that botter me was the fact that in our room there was another room (a room inside a room) and there's a guy living there, so he entered in a GIRLS room everytime he wanted, not caring if someone was less dressed or not in an appropriate way to be seen. The room is very warm, the water of the showers is hot too. Our room was on the 5th floor and as an amazing view, no elevator, spiral staircase!


60%

20€ key deposit seems too much to me,it'd be fair to mention it in advance...WC was separated but bathroom had no door,just a courtain in the shower,so anyone be annoyed in the room by the noise of water/hairdryer.in the female dorm there's a"private"door where a guy walks out because that's his house door!His door connects straight to the girls dorm and he has to walk through the the room to get out.Ridicolous! Nevertheless the location is the best,staff was helpful and we had no big problems.


97%

The only problem was the stairs up to our room, there was no elevator and we were on the 5th floor.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Was in a perfect location, was comfortable, and had everything we needed.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback