X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
2031 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Bed was horrible, it doesn't have a proper kitchen or a common place. High value for money.


49%

The wifi was really weak, the showers were dirty, and there was no kitchen.


89%

I was was only here to sleep, but it was a great value for the money. Quick walk from Centraal (arrived at night) was the main reason for my choice. Wifi worked great, beds were comfy, only one shower but you get what you pay for!


54%

The rooms are quite dark and dingy. It is in the red light district area. The blankets were clearly very old and I don't think are changed or washed between different stays. The security was good as there was a passcode on the door and someone at the desk 24/7. The loos, showers and sinks overlook reception which is a bit odd and you feel a lack of privacy. I have stayed in far better hostels around the world. There also is no communal area, and the fridge is next to the sinks and loos.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The security wasn't the best considering some of the lockers had been ripped open. My friend and i both had rashes or bites from the beds so they would need to look into that maybe bin the mattresses. the only place to charge your phone was at the other end of the room which was stupid and there wasn't enough space to have everyone's phone charging which is fairly poor. Location was superb and the staff were nice while value for money was average when everything is considered but not bad.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This place was just kind of average- the good and the bad werent extrordinary. The staff was nice enough, the place wasnt dirty, although inthe girls dorms (10) the room was a little big frayed. But I would totally reccomend it, the room was beautiful with a cool window view. I felt pretty safe as well.


83%

It would be nice to have a common room where the guests could stay and talk and play games.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Kitchen isn't really much of a kitchen. it's in the same room as showers and bathrooms so that's a little weird. Curfew sucks, 4-6 am, but not a massive hindrance. I'd go here last resort.


34%

Aivengo Hostel have the rudest staff I have ever seen. The hostel closes the front door at 4am and only open at 6am, if the guest wants to leave or enter is not allowed, basically you are paying to stay outside or stuck in. The beds make much noise, there are no enough power outlets in the bedrooms for charging mobile. Complain about something, the owner of the hostel simply tells you grab your bag and go, and refuses to return the money paid. Do not recommend even if it's the last hostel there.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, hostel is open 22 of 24 hours, we have the shortest curfew in a city. You were very problematic customer, thats why you were told to leave, it has nothing to do with our hostel.

89%

very open space in the dorm that allows people to communicate with one another, and very friendly staff.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Limited plugs to charge accessories/mobiles, very good wifi. Showers and toilets very clean & warm.


60%

Good stay, nothing awesome about the place. We had a good group staying in the room so that made if for us. Kind of an odd set up, the bathrooms and "kitchen" are right where the reception is. Don't plan on making any food in there kitchen because its only a microwave.


46%

Well, the security was a single code pad has never been changed because it was worn into the keys very obviously and a receptionist that was either not there or not paying attention. There's a brothel down the street... The atmosphere was nonexistent. Absolutely no common area and big dimly lit rooms with people always sleeping. The cleanliness was good. Very expensive, especially on the weekends. Very small bathroom that was open to reception! Worst part


83%

Big, clean dorm however the room had no air con during a heatwave so was incredibly hot. Wifi could be better


74%

Really great and helpful staff, lovely room and location! Very chilled


83%

The hostel was clean and an excellent location for a first time in Amsterdam. Only negative was that there was nowhere to socialise. Other than that, had a really enjoyable stay.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, tidy rooms and friendly staff. Could definitely do with more power outlets though!

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

BED WAS TERRIBLE, COMPLETELY BOWED.


97%

Great location to central station and walking distance to all the main sites. My room was very spacious and all the facilities were clean. Thank you for a great stay in Amsterdam!


60%

Great location and at very cheap prices.. There's no entry to the hostel between 4am and 6am, so you have to plan your night out around this. No common area which means there is no atmosphere/getting to know you amongst guests which is what, I believe, the whole point of a hostel to be. The bathroom area isn't sectioned off so you can hear everything going on in there from reception. The staff seem pretty miserable; but i would be too if i had to spend all day listening to people take a dump.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback