X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1961 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I spent 3 nights at AIvengo Hostel! It is 5minutes away from Central Station, close to many shops and restaurants, coffees, so perfecto location. Very clean room and good facilities, but there were only 1shower for 10 people and some roomates were noisy! Perfect temperature in the room + towels are free! Very helpful and nice staff that helped us get our directions, so at the end of the day SUPER happy with my choice, I would reccommend to everyone, awesome value for money!

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Note that there is no kitchen (just microwave and fridge). Not enough outlets for a 20-bed room, and it's located on the top of a set of lockers so short people cannot access the outlet without asking for help. Lockers are available and are sized for holding a laptop and small items. If you're looking for a place just to sleep, this is the spot for you, but it's not ideal if you're looking for a place with much of an atmosphere.


51%

Staff was unhelpful, facilities are few and the rooms are not practical (not enough plugs, only at the entrance)... All-in all a meh experience


80%

It was nice, except that we had a mouse in our flat. But he was friendly so it was ok.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mouse is gone and will never come back :)

43%

Please try to at least have toilet seats and toilet paper in your bathroom at all times!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
toilet paper is in a white box on a wall. Thank you

69%

Very central area, we could walk pretty much anywhere. There were several washrooms and and the showers were hot but a little small as it was easy to get everything wet! The room was quite clean, 18 ppl shared it so was a little hard to get a full nights sleep. Location is also fairly busy as well so it was pretty noisy. There was only one outlet with extension cord for everyone but we managed. There was no common room but we still managed to meet people just through chatting.


86%

I did not catch the name of the man, but it seemed that there was a woman that worked there and a guy. The guy was very helpful, and did all that he could to help us. He was great, and very friendly! The only thing that bothered me about this hostel was that it said there was a kitchen in the description, but there is really only a refrigerator, microwave and plates (silverware, ext).

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Our stay at Aivengo could have been worse. The quality of environment, cleanliness, and overall appearance was poor. However, only having 1 plug in for a 20 person dorm forces you to communicate with the other roomates as there is no kitchen or common room to meet people otherwise. Overall, the location is great but if you are a lone traveller or a big worrier on cleanliness I would not recommend.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Hostel should only chose workers who are into people, into communication. The clerk that received us was extremely not nice. I stayed in a 4-male private room. For a room that cost 120Euro a night I would expect basic conditions - normal lights, sockets for charging. The room was without windows, without proper lighting, bunk beds with no good mattresses. In addition to that, the room was swarming with mice! Internet was working in intervals. Very bad hostel. Definitely not recommending.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It was amazing to have hairdryer to borrow

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The location was good but that's pretty much it. There were rats in the room! And after calling the fromt desk tbey simply said they knew and couldn't do anything ablout it. There was no hot water and the toilet light burst after the 2nd night and wasn't fixed until we left.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The two dorms were closed with a code but both had the same code which is not very smart. Also there was not a real possibility to chat with the other travelers because there were only two sofas in front of the rooms and you could hear everything. We came by car and there were only the expensive Parking Spots in front of the hostel (5Euro/h). We parked at the P+R Zeeland like they told us but it cost a lot more than they told us. (72Euros for 3 days and not 8.50/day). But the location is amazing


71%

My stay was pretty good. I didn't rly stay in the hostel all that much but it was not a bad place to sleep. The staff isn't very friendly but they are very helpful when you have any questions. I used the 12 bed coed room which was fine but there's only one power strip for all 12 people which can get annoying especially when you want to charge your phone while in bed. Overall I had an average experience.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

It is way too expensive for what you get! Its old and dirty in general (nasty underwear in the bathroom/ socks under the bed: They needed 2 days to remove it...) the "bathroom" is dirty and you really feel unconftable if you even have to brush your theets. No bathroomdoor, no privacy. The bed are noisy and the matratzes are so old. The "lockers" are just a joke. No one used them. All in all, one of the worst hostel i ever stayed and i saw a few.. the location is not to bad and the few is lovely

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we are one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam. Regarding 'nasty underwear' - its difficult to remove things in a dorm as its a belong to someone, so cleaners have to be very creative to avoid comments like 'ohw, my things got removed'. Mattresses are one year old, what is not that old. Thank you

94%

Would definitely stay again in the same room we had and with the same hostel company.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The dorm has only one little window, and one light. There is no kitchen only a fridge. Security is very bad. Sanitary is ok, the location, too.


43%

The experience was terrible for us. The only good thing is the location. We paid 76 Euros for a double room, when we came in the room, the bathroom was dirty and the previous guest's towels were on the floor, the shower was broken, there was no lights or lamps near the bed, the radiators were broken, the sink was broken. .

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, You've arrived early and asked to leave your luggage in a room and go to explore the city. So its really strange to write that room wasnt ready. We also dont understand what you mean with 'all in a bathroom was broken'. But thanx anyway

100%

We (3 ladies and myself) felt very welcome at the Aivengo Hostel. The Staff was kind and very helpful. We had the room "15a" alone for us. I was surprissed how big it actually was. Everything was clean. After a long days in Amsterdam we enjoyed the calmness of the appartment. A sign is asking you being kind to the neighbours (not to hang around infront of the building/being noisy). So we had our parties in the city :-) We left a small present for the next guest. Hopefully they enjoyed it :-)

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Location is great, close to the city center and main train station is walking distance. The hostel itself was very disappointing, It is very old, facilities like plugs they just had a few in a room for 12 ppl, so we had switch all the time. Cleanness has a lot to improve, there was a microwave but it was not working. There were just 3 lamp tables to illuminate the whole room.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Do not have kitchen. Do not have outlet to everyone. The light of the room are turn on at nine o'clock for " remember the guests to leave". Who is not leaving is wake up too So you can't sleep until the time you want. The lockers are too small.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback