X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1537 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice place, basic but exactly what you would expect for the price


86%

Great place. Warm and cosy with sparks of vintage style. However there is only one plug for each dorm of 20 people which is not convenient and the lockers are quite small. Apart from them very nice conditions and clean to stay, easy access to many fun places in Ams.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Wonderful location (practically in the center). Safe area. Would stay again. Only warning is be ready to be fighting to keep your phone with battery since there are only four electrical outlets for 20 people.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent location, nice view from the 4th floor!!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Really colorfull place, the 20 people room only has a small window, so there is a lack of air circulation. Despite that, beds are really comfortable and the staff is really nice. There is no kitchen! Just a spot with a microwave.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is great and it's a good place to stay if you don't need to cook and if you don't mind not having a comunal area.


80%

I would still chose this hostel next time!


83%

it was clean and near center i recommend it definitely

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

My room was supposed to be a 10-bed room but there were 13 beds there on the first night I stayed. The building is quite old and there's no stove to use. But everything was quite clean and the location is perfect. Would recommend.


94%

We were a group of ten friends and we stayed all together in the female dorm. It is a large room, good beds and really warm enough and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. The only problem was the shower: it isn't very big and we had some problems with hot-cold water (it was too hot or too cold). We had a really nice time here!


71%

Pretty small place with minimal facilities, but makes up for it by being in in a great location. Amsterdam is pretty expensive, but 18/14 Euro for a Weekend/Weekday bed is a little on the pricey end. Since megadorms are the only option here, you might get rudely interrupted by other drunk hostellers late at night if you're not into that sort of thing yourself.


86%

This was one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam and I was definitely happy to choose it - overall it was a good experience. The room (in the building next door) was spacious and comfortable, there's not a lot of privacy when getting in and out of the shower though (due to shared sink area and outlook into the room) but it seemed to work anyway. Good facilities in room - fridge/freezer, microwave, dishes, lockers etc and towel was included. Helpful staff. Would recommend if on a budget.


69%

We stayed in a 10 bed girls doorm. Big room, no bunkbeds. Unfortunately they put two extra girls in there over the weekend so we were 12 girls, sharing only one Bathroom. There's no extra bathrooms in the building, unless you go to the reception area. Other than that it was okay, only five minutes from central station and walking distance to pubs etc. Would come back.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

In general this was a good hostel. It's definitely well priced and was the cheapest we found in Amsterdam. The biggest issue we had was the lack of any common area; it's just a check in desk, two large dorms with beds and then a shared bathroom. The staff was helpful, and had plenty of maps. There is a one euro charge for towels, but lockers are free which is nice! I would definitely recommend bringing shower shoes though.


77%

This hostel was really cool! We wanted to find one of the cheapest place, where to stay during the night in downtown. Despite the fact we stood with 20 people in one room, no one disturbed the others and so we could sleep like Sleeping Beauties. Just expected the towel for free, which wasn´t (but just for 1 euro) and one of the shower was a bit weaker, but there was dryer (which saved my space in luggage). I can very recommend this hostel and definitely will stay there next time again!

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

They did what they could with the space. it is located in charming golden age building with small communal space and two large dorm rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and hygiene is very good considering how much people it accommodates. Location is superb, within a short walking distance to dam, red light etc.

  • 5th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It's a good and cheap place if u wanna just sleep.. There are more hostels closer to the red light, which is where most of the things happen. I missed a place to meet new people.


54%

Location: the hostel is 5 minutes walking from the central station + you can reach all main attractions by walking. Staff: The girl at check-in was kind and nice. But the guy at check out was very rude + we couldn't leave our luggage as promised We booked a 4-beds room with private bathroom, that was not in the same building (but very close to it though) The room was very basic furnished (2 bunk beds, a dirty sofa) at ground floor, no windows, and a tiny washbasin.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, you had 2 big windows in your room and you could leave your luggage, so we don't really know what you mean with your comment. But thanx anyway :)

83%

Nice, clean and cheap hostel. Close to everything ;)

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was really great! We were very warmly welcomed. The room was really big and very clean. The bathroom was incredible!

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback