X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1911 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great hostel; very helpful and friendly staff that will happily give you directions or charge your phone behind the reception desk. This hostel is also in an excellent area, within ten minutes walking-distance to the red light district or other popular areas for tourists. The central team station is a five minute walk away. Great hostel, will stay again if I find myself back in Amsterdam.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome location and very nice looking inside. Staff was polite and helpful but not super welcoming. The only part I disliked was the bathroom situation. The bathrooms were very tiny and the doors didn't lock, there were 2 sinks and nowhere to put your stuff. It was just not well equipped for the large number of people staying there in terms of the bathroom area. But overall I would definitely recommend that someone stay here.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah, sorry about locks, we were replacing it for the new ones, so thats why. All is working now :)

86%

An overall satisfactory experience. It is what you make of it, there is no common room, so the people who are in your room are the people you'll be socializing with. Otherwise the bed was comfortable and the shower warm.


91%

I selected this hostel for its cheaper prices and I was really surprised! The room was clean, shiny and comfortable. there were a fridge and a microwave oven in the bedroom. oh, and the most important for me: you have to walk only 10 min ( really slowly) to find the hostel from the central station.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Location is great. If all you care about is finding a bed for the night, its great. Otherwise, find someplace else.


31%

Staffs are not kind,and there was dirty.


60%

There is not chilling room and the staff is very rude


97%

Friendly staff, conveniently priced for backpackers, and great location.


57%

I wish there was actually a bathroom door to separate the bathroom from the bedroom. There was just a plastic screen, that did not even pull all the way across the door. As for cleanliness, I wish I could rate it higher but there was a mouse in the room. The positives were the kitchen at the top level that was very modern, the luggage storage and 24 hr reception. Location was not bad either. Close to the station with excellent directions on the website.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel with lovely staff Helped out when was in need and advised on where to go in Amsterdam. 100% coming back in the future

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Saved a lot of money staying here. It was clean enough and had facilities enough. The staff were very professional and helpful here.


100%

Every little thing was perfect. The front desk team was excellent. I definitely recommend

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Had a lovely stay in this youth hostel. Thank you!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

There shouldn't be a curfew (the hostel is closed from 4-6 am).

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We still have the shortest curfew in a city

77%

This place is cheap for good reason. A word of caution if you have a lot of luggage because you have to carry it up to possibly 5 floors of precarious steps. The room is heated well and they have a water boiler, fridge and locker to store your items. The location is alright; it's close to the station but I get lost with so many split streets still. Try not to arrive at night because the area is closed to the red light district. The place gets quite loud after midnight.


60%

Staff was helpful We asked about breakfast and a staff member said it wasn't included Needed fresh towels and staff member said that it was going to cost two euros Our room was Okay bed was uncomfortable... Sinked in the middle.. Room was really really cold when we arrived they said heater doesn't go on until 6pm..we found trash in our mini fridge but they cleaned it out..shower is a hit or miss with hot water.. Shower during the day..at night it seems like all the hot water is gone..

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

All was good, but the toilets and showers should be in other place, because those are in the lobby area, so is not comfortable with other people. (the rooms beside reception)


43%

for that price u can afford much better

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good price for New Years accommodation booked a few days before. Location is very good.


63%

The hostel is in a good locatiion. Near the train station. However, sharing beds with 20 people, only if needed because you're going to have a bad time resting. Also, it closes from 4 to 6 am, so it's a time you can't come to sleep or leave. This is bad management.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we have one of the shortest curfews in a city.

(63 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback