X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1656 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Ok. The room is really closed, no sun coming in. Nice location, and for the money, it worths!


69%

The location was good, very central and easy accessible. Staff was polite. The toilets were rather small and inconvenient. The cleanliness is a bit of an issue, the sheets and pillow weren't washed. It's a good deal if you don't care about the above, and just need a place to sleep.


54%

the stay was horrible! it started with climbing stairs: 5 floors with heavy luggage. After that the room looked more like a prison cell: beds with bars that made noise++. the floor dirty;it was supposed to be reserved for girls but we had in every morning and evening a guy crossing the room(they were part of the staff)One day it rained(a little) and the roof was not sealed! results : beds and belongings were wet! the only two positive points of the hotel: location and staff: nice and helpfull

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

i spent a long weekend in amsterdam by myself and was very satisfied with aivengo! central (=not quiet during night) location & nice staff! i slept in a dorm with 9 other girls on the 3rd or 4th floor next door to the actual hostel. there was one bathroom for us, but it sufficed and was cleaned every day. my bed was comfortable and there were enough sockets for everyone. i received a locker against a 10€ deposit payment (reimbursed upon departure). the stove is not in use due to safety reasons.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel is not bad.It's a VERY low-cost hostel which is good for people who don't really care to have a nice stay but just a place to sleep. Our room was next to the entrance and there was no real window or something.Because of that,the whole room was smelling.The toilets are next to the entrance and the "reception" and you can see everything which is pretty uncomfortable.Fortunately enough,toilets and rooms were not dirty. At this point,I would like to comment that the staff was horrible.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The mattresses are all sagged in the middle and not very comfortable because you can feel the frame under you. They really need to get new mattresses. The bed sheets are also not very breathable. The place has a pretty bad atmosphere, only come here to sleep for cheap. The bathrooms are not great, extremely tiny, and the common bathroom area is where people hang out so you end up doing your makeup with everyone watching, but at least there is hot water.


74%

Unfortunately, it's extremely noisy. The room facing the street should have a better noise isolation or, at least, any isolation.


80%

everything are good except that we live a street apart from the hostel. There are no curtain for the inner door so the neighbor can actually look inside the room when they going upstairs. no hair dryer as well. the room was very cold (colder than outside) but there are no heater available according to the staff? overall is a good stay, and we enjoy the city very well.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Actually there is nothing special thing except the location. It takes only 5 mintes from central station. Staff at front desk exactly do what he had to do neither kind or rude. I stayed in 20mix dorm and it smelled bad but can be bearable.


97%

22 beds in a dorm... Cheap, gets the job done. Staff was friendly, shitters are tiny, but I'm also a large American.


89%

I stayed with my friend in the 10 female dorm and it was spacious. There is a bathroom, a kitchen with microwave and fridge in the dorm. Wifi is strong in the room. The location of the hostel is excellent and it is just five minutes away from the station and easy to locate.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

it wasn´t what I expected... the facilities can be bad, I can handle that, but I don´t know what is wrong with the staff, maybe they were too tired, because they were not bad, but they weren´t friendly at all...

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Cheaper, clean, nearby tourist spots


43%

From all the hostels I have stayed, this is the worst. Price is abaurdly high (I paid 45 euros per night) and quality is way too poor. Cleanliness is too poor, bed sheets look like they have been around for 20 years and they wash them every 2 months. There is just 2 rooms of 20 people and 4 toilets and 4 showers for all of them. I have to say that is well located and staff try to be helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our hostel is much bigger and prices are reasonable comparing to other places. Your credit card wasnt working but you dont have to blame us for it. Thanks anyway

54%

Average for a hostel but price is far too high for what you get


74%

Just 2 electric sockets in room for 20 people :(

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a lot of additional sockets at the reception area

91%

Great location, good staff. Atmosphere was slightly lacking with little to no common area, but taking a few steps out into the city fixed that.


49%

The staff are unfriendly and rushed me out before the check out time


60%

Rooms with bad ventilation. The cushions have a V format, maybe they should need to be changed. But it´s very good located and fair price.


83%

Very good hostel for the price. Clean and I loved the individual beds. Never felt worried for my stuff. The only thing it may be improved is to have a door in the showers so people can sleep without being bother with the noise.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(80 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback