X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1739 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I really liked this hostel. Cool artwork on the walls in the room! The Russian guy at reception was cute


91%

Couldn't love Aivengo more. Friendly, welcoming staff, basic facilities - somewhere to sleep, shower and keep things, and it's quite sociable. I travelled alone and stayed in the all female dorm room and met lots of people. It was surprisingly central - 5 minutes to Central Station, 15 to Dam Square, with shops surrounding it. Can be noisy during the weekends (street), going up 5 flights of stairs isn't ideal if you're carrying a lot of luggage - other than that, I'll definitely be returning.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I really enjoyed my stay as the rooms themselves are so spacious and clean but it would be great if there was some sort of common room where all the guests at the hostel could socialise


74%

Cool place, terrible roommates. But I guess thats what you get with a 20 bed dorm.


80%

Unfortunately lockers are small. The hostel is in a very good location and its a good experience to stay there.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff was very nice! No problema with lines to use the bathroom even considering the enourmous bedroom! They have just one plug to charge the whole room! So it's a dispute to find one to charge your eletronic devices. Besides that I recommend the hostel!! Very good


77%

Only 2 plug points

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, there are a lot of extend cords which are for everyones use... Additional plugs are at the desk. Thank you!! :)

89%

This place is so close to everything which is great and the big dorm rooms are spacious and the single beds are refreshing, compared to bunks. Having our own kitchen and bathroom in the room was great, like our own apartment. It's in the building next to the office which could be problematic if there's an issue and it's an old building with a lot of narrow stairs, but that's the Dutch way of things! Is busy and loud on the weekends, but it IS Amsterdam! Great place overall


54%

no air con but its in a great location the size of bathroom and shower room was a joke but its decent no one wanted to talk to each other and there was no way meeting new people

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

5 of us from the US stayed at this hostel and loved it. We chose the women's mixed dorm and it definitely was the way to go. The room was a huge loft with a giant window over looking Spuitstraat St. The location is perfect in the center of the city. 10/15 minute walk to Anne Frank/ Dam Square & many other attractions. This hostel is also super close to Grand Central Station which is great for travelers .The front desk tenant was so helpful & sweet, and we had free wifi. Room was cleaned daily.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfectly adequate! Would stay here again. My friend and I were in the 10 bed female dorm and we had a great stay. Everyone else in the full room was very respectful and quiet. This isn't a party hostel, it's a place to sleep. I felt that everything was clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. I also liked that the female dorm is 10 separate beds, not bunk beds. The room is very large and felt airy. It even has a nice little balcony too! As a heads up, there is a red light corner nearby


89%

Great experience at Aviengo Hostel. The staff was very kind and helpful throughout my stay. The hostel is in a great location, and the beds were very comfortable. Overall, a great stay that satisfied all my needs.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

There is a room which is very big and close to the street, so depending on your bed it is very noisy. The bed is also very bad, there is a tube in the middle of it so you can feel it even with the mattress when you are sleeping. The baths are cleaned constantely so they are very clean. The shower is aslo private (there is a door for each shower and each bathroom). The location is good because it is very close to the central station.


80%

Overall a good place to stay.... Clean and safe. Good location and the bar nextdoor is cool Staff were not overly friendly but were by no means rude either.


77%

Ok. The room is really closed, no sun coming in. Nice location, and for the money, it worths!


69%

The location was good, very central and easy accessible. Staff was polite. The toilets were rather small and inconvenient. The cleanliness is a bit of an issue, the sheets and pillow weren't washed. It's a good deal if you don't care about the above, and just need a place to sleep.


54%

the stay was horrible! it started with climbing stairs: 5 floors with heavy luggage. After that the room looked more like a prison cell: beds with bars that made noise++. the floor dirty;it was supposed to be reserved for girls but we had in every morning and evening a guy crossing the room(they were part of the staff)One day it rained(a little) and the roof was not sealed! results : beds and belongings were wet! the only two positive points of the hotel: location and staff: nice and helpfull

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

i spent a long weekend in amsterdam by myself and was very satisfied with aivengo! central (=not quiet during night) location & nice staff! i slept in a dorm with 9 other girls on the 3rd or 4th floor next door to the actual hostel. there was one bathroom for us, but it sufficed and was cleaned every day. my bed was comfortable and there were enough sockets for everyone. i received a locker against a 10€ deposit payment (reimbursed upon departure). the stove is not in use due to safety reasons.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel is not bad.It's a VERY low-cost hostel which is good for people who don't really care to have a nice stay but just a place to sleep. Our room was next to the entrance and there was no real window or something.Because of that,the whole room was smelling.The toilets are next to the entrance and the "reception" and you can see everything which is pretty uncomfortable.Fortunately enough,toilets and rooms were not dirty. At this point,I would like to comment that the staff was horrible.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The mattresses are all sagged in the middle and not very comfortable because you can feel the frame under you. They really need to get new mattresses. The bed sheets are also not very breathable. The place has a pretty bad atmosphere, only come here to sleep for cheap. The bathrooms are not great, extremely tiny, and the common bathroom area is where people hang out so you end up doing your makeup with everyone watching, but at least there is hot water.


(93 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback