X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
2058 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice room in a great location. Would have been nice to know that it is on the 6th floor with no lift, but this wasn't too much of a problem for us! Great to have access to the roof terrace and kitchen facilities.


74%

could do With a blind/curtain in the window. Light fittings need fixing, rather than a piece of string No toilet roll holder- just a massive roll Shower curtain was filthy Bin had not been emptied from previous people Warn people about how high there room is before they come! Lol didn't bother me, but might some people. Our bottom sheet was ripped

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Aivengo has great location, but the way the hostel is set up is very awkward, and staying in a 20 person dorm for 18 euro per night (booked well in advance) is not a deal for the quality of the hostel. Same code for multiple rooms (and an open front door all day long) is not secure. (Plus 20 euro deposits for lockers...) beds were clean but that is the only positive. No inviting common area makes for no atmosphere and very little sleep since there is nowhere for people to go to socialize.


86%

This hostel is in a great location for access to the station and also to walk around the city. We walked everywhere during our trip, not really any need for public transport from here. We stayed in 2 different dorm rooms over the 2 nights, both pretty much identical. There was a sort of drainy smell in room 4 but once the doors were opened it cleared quite quickly, the other room we stayed in was fine. Decent showers and beds.


86%

Good value for money. Fantastic location.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I spent 3 nights at AIvengo Hostel! It is 5minutes away from Central Station, close to many shops and restaurants, coffees, so perfecto location. Very clean room and good facilities, but there were only 1shower for 10 people and some roomates were noisy! Perfect temperature in the room + towels are free! Very helpful and nice staff that helped us get our directions, so at the end of the day SUPER happy with my choice, I would reccommend to everyone, awesome value for money!

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is located in the center of Amsterdam right next to the central railway station, which is perfect. We booked two beds in a 10-bed dorm but actually there were 11 beds. We had to share one bathroom with one toilet and shower only. Altough the bathroom and room were cleaned everyday, it always seemed dirty. The bathroom facitlities were very old and the light did not work (and wasn't fixed within 3 days although the staff checked the rooms daily).

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Note that there is no kitchen (just microwave and fridge). Not enough outlets for a 20-bed room, and it's located on the top of a set of lockers so short people cannot access the outlet without asking for help. Lockers are available and are sized for holding a laptop and small items. If you're looking for a place just to sleep, this is the spot for you, but it's not ideal if you're looking for a place with much of an atmosphere.


83%

Great location next to the Red light district. The lounge area consisted of just 2 couches in front of reception. There is only one power strip at the entrance of the large dorm room for everybody. However they do provide free lockers and everything is clean enough.


51%

Staff was unhelpful, facilities are few and the rooms are not practical (not enough plugs, only at the entrance)... All-in all a meh experience


69%

Location is great, a 10 min walk to the red light district. Hostel itself is just okay, as there is no kitchen or common room, you are really just there to sleep. I loved the people in my dorm, but never had the chance to speak to anyone else. Only two bathroom stalls for the entire hostel, as well as two showers.


77%

The female room is very big Very neat to the center and to the train station Terrible mattress - really really really bad No curtains The kitchen is inside the room ( stove was not available ) A lot of stairs, don't bring heavy luggage


80%

It was nice, except that we had a mouse in our flat. But he was friendly so it was ok.

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mouse is gone and will never come back :)

43%

Please try to at least have toilet seats and toilet paper in your bathroom at all times!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
toilet paper is in a white box on a wall. Thank you

69%

Very central area, we could walk pretty much anywhere. There were several washrooms and and the showers were hot but a little small as it was easy to get everything wet! The room was quite clean, 18 ppl shared it so was a little hard to get a full nights sleep. Location is also fairly busy as well so it was pretty noisy. There was only one outlet with extension cord for everyone but we managed. There was no common room but we still managed to meet people just through chatting.


86%

I did not catch the name of the man, but it seemed that there was a woman that worked there and a guy. The guy was very helpful, and did all that he could to help us. He was great, and very friendly! The only thing that bothered me about this hostel was that it said there was a kitchen in the description, but there is really only a refrigerator, microwave and plates (silverware, ext).

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Our stay at Aivengo could have been worse. The quality of environment, cleanliness, and overall appearance was poor. However, only having 1 plug in for a 20 person dorm forces you to communicate with the other roomates as there is no kitchen or common room to meet people otherwise. Overall, the location is great but if you are a lone traveller or a big worrier on cleanliness I would not recommend.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Hostel should only chose workers who are into people, into communication. The clerk that received us was extremely not nice. I stayed in a 4-male private room. For a room that cost 120Euro a night I would expect basic conditions - normal lights, sockets for charging. The room was without windows, without proper lighting, bunk beds with no good mattresses. In addition to that, the room was swarming with mice! Internet was working in intervals. Very bad hostel. Definitely not recommending.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It was amazing to have hairdryer to borrow

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

The location was good but that's pretty much it. There were rats in the room! And after calling the fromt desk tbey simply said they knew and couldn't do anything ablout it. There was no hot water and the toilet light burst after the 2nd night and wasn't fixed until we left.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(87 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback