X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aivengo Hostel Reviews

Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1726 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

This place is so close to everything which is great and the big dorm rooms are spacious and the single beds are refreshing, compared to bunks. Having our own kitchen and bathroom in the room was great, like our own apartment. It's in the building next to the office which could be problematic if there's an issue and it's an old building with a lot of narrow stairs, but that's the Dutch way of things! Is busy and loud on the weekends, but it IS Amsterdam! Great place overall


54%

no air con but its in a great location the size of bathroom and shower room was a joke but its decent no one wanted to talk to each other and there was no way meeting new people

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

5 of us from the US stayed at this hostel and loved it. We chose the women's mixed dorm and it definitely was the way to go. The room was a huge loft with a giant window over looking Spuitstraat St. The location is perfect in the center of the city. 10/15 minute walk to Anne Frank/ Dam Square & many other attractions. This hostel is also super close to Grand Central Station which is great for travelers .The front desk tenant was so helpful & sweet, and we had free wifi. Room was cleaned daily.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfectly adequate! Would stay here again. My friend and I were in the 10 bed female dorm and we had a great stay. Everyone else in the full room was very respectful and quiet. This isn't a party hostel, it's a place to sleep. I felt that everything was clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. I also liked that the female dorm is 10 separate beds, not bunk beds. The room is very large and felt airy. It even has a nice little balcony too! As a heads up, there is a red light corner nearby


89%

Great experience at Aviengo Hostel. The staff was very kind and helpful throughout my stay. The hostel is in a great location, and the beds were very comfortable. Overall, a great stay that satisfied all my needs.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

There is a room which is very big and close to the street, so depending on your bed it is very noisy. The bed is also very bad, there is a tube in the middle of it so you can feel it even with the mattress when you are sleeping. The baths are cleaned constantely so they are very clean. The shower is aslo private (there is a door for each shower and each bathroom). The location is good because it is very close to the central station.


80%

Overall a good place to stay.... Clean and safe. Good location and the bar nextdoor is cool Staff were not overly friendly but were by no means rude either.


77%

Ok. The room is really closed, no sun coming in. Nice location, and for the money, it worths!


69%

The location was good, very central and easy accessible. Staff was polite. The toilets were rather small and inconvenient. The cleanliness is a bit of an issue, the sheets and pillow weren't washed. It's a good deal if you don't care about the above, and just need a place to sleep.


54%

the stay was horrible! it started with climbing stairs: 5 floors with heavy luggage. After that the room looked more like a prison cell: beds with bars that made noise++. the floor dirty;it was supposed to be reserved for girls but we had in every morning and evening a guy crossing the room(they were part of the staff)One day it rained(a little) and the roof was not sealed! results : beds and belongings were wet! the only two positive points of the hotel: location and staff: nice and helpfull

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

i spent a long weekend in amsterdam by myself and was very satisfied with aivengo! central (=not quiet during night) location & nice staff! i slept in a dorm with 9 other girls on the 3rd or 4th floor next door to the actual hostel. there was one bathroom for us, but it sufficed and was cleaned every day. my bed was comfortable and there were enough sockets for everyone. i received a locker against a 10€ deposit payment (reimbursed upon departure). the stove is not in use due to safety reasons.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel is not bad.It's a VERY low-cost hostel which is good for people who don't really care to have a nice stay but just a place to sleep. Our room was next to the entrance and there was no real window or something.Because of that,the whole room was smelling.The toilets are next to the entrance and the "reception" and you can see everything which is pretty uncomfortable.Fortunately enough,toilets and rooms were not dirty. At this point,I would like to comment that the staff was horrible.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The mattresses are all sagged in the middle and not very comfortable because you can feel the frame under you. They really need to get new mattresses. The bed sheets are also not very breathable. The place has a pretty bad atmosphere, only come here to sleep for cheap. The bathrooms are not great, extremely tiny, and the common bathroom area is where people hang out so you end up doing your makeup with everyone watching, but at least there is hot water.


74%

Unfortunately, it's extremely noisy. The room facing the street should have a better noise isolation or, at least, any isolation.


69%

We stayed here in May 2014, It was great! We had the best time.. We were a group of 4 girls and wed booked to stay in a 6 people room. When we arrived it was a 10 people room, we didn't mind as it was all girls and it was fun! We had to pay a €10 deposit for a key. The location is amazing! the room itself was ok, the floors were coming up.. but it was ok, we only slept there so good for the money @ €15 per night each :)


80%

everything are good except that we live a street apart from the hostel. There are no curtain for the inner door so the neighbor can actually look inside the room when they going upstairs. no hair dryer as well. the room was very cold (colder than outside) but there are no heater available according to the staff? overall is a good stay, and we enjoy the city very well.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Actually there is nothing special thing except the location. It takes only 5 mintes from central station. Staff at front desk exactly do what he had to do neither kind or rude. I stayed in 20mix dorm and it smelled bad but can be bearable.


97%

22 beds in a dorm... Cheap, gets the job done. Staff was friendly, shitters are tiny, but I'm also a large American.


89%

I stayed with my friend in the 10 female dorm and it was spacious. There is a bathroom, a kitchen with microwave and fridge in the dorm. Wifi is strong in the room. The location of the hostel is excellent and it is just five minutes away from the station and easy to locate.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

it wasn´t what I expected... the facilities can be bad, I can handle that, but I don´t know what is wrong with the staff, maybe they were too tired, because they were not bad, but they weren´t friendly at all...

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(91 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback