Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2017
10.0

We arrived late, about 10 pm and can still check in! SUPER 24/7 reception and location is middle of everything! If you don't stay here, where else shall you stay?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Danilaa
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.1

Everything is good except for the shower for basic mixed dorm. The water is soooooo slow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.4

I'm very much happy on my short stay in this hostel; the staff were all accommodating and was able to provide tour recommendation before my climb to Mt. Kinabalu. My roommates came from various places and it has indeed been a nice experience. More so, the toilets remained clean and shower was fully functional.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.0

Fan room is insanely hot especially when only 1 of 3 was working! Shower pressure was really poor. This place has potential. Overall a good stay. The woman at the desk has a million packages on offer which is pretty helpful. Breakfast was really good. Worth it as we came back to stay on a different night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
6.6

Well, me and my friend had been there for 2 nights just to have a sleepover. All in an all is still OK.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
8.0

Decent hostel. Breakfast is nothing special (boiled eggs, toast, sausages and some cakes). Great location right near the main drag. No safe or anything in the room, but we had a private room so maybe it's different in dorms. Bathrooms were ok but only one shower worked while we were there- not a huge deal, though. Water pressure wasn't great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Had a really nice time staying here 4 different nights over my time in Sabah. Nice large living area where you can easily socialize and meet others or curl up and relax with a book. The aircon works really well so you're sure to have a nice cold sleep. Great breakfast as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Location, price, comfort, and staff all very nice. Competitive prices on tours and beer. Good breakfast including eggs and fresh fruit. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2017
8.0

Good traveller spot. You can book tours in the guesthouse. They have a good value for the price and offer wifi, kitchen, computers and a nice breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2017
10.0

Great service with helpful receptionist, homey/tropical common room - perfect for open minded backpackers. already know this is my go to in kk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.