Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.3
Akinabalu Youth Hostel Located at 1st Floor, No. 133 Jalan Gaya, , Kota Kinabalu.
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Malaysia
Kota Kinabalu Sabah 88000 1st Floor, No. 133 Jalan Gaya,
82% 309
5.9821863 116.0764575
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Perfectly placed for the amazing eateries and nice bars/cafes along Goya Street, and they were happy to hold onto our bags free of charge while we climbed Mount Kinabalu. Wi-fi didn't work in our room, but the sleeping floors were quiet with relaxed atmosphere in communal area. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.6

I really loved my stay at Akinabalu. The staff are so helpful and it's easy walking distance to anything in the city. The only problem I had was that in the big dorm rooms it gets very hot without air con, so if you are a sensitive sleeper keep that in mind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
7.7

Bedroom and Toilets were clean, showers were cold but bearable and were also clean. The common room was really good, although was quiet most days. It was very noisy outside, bring earplugs! There are no mosquito nets and we were bitten a lot one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2016
8.9

Staff friendly and helpful. Good location v close to bus and ferry terminals. Toilets and showers slightly in need of repair.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th May 2016
8.6

Nice Hostel with a friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. The location is excellent, on a road with good restaurants and near to the town centre and bus station. We stayed in a private double room with excellent air con and came back several times as it provides a good base between Sabah tours and activities. No bed bugs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
7.7

Generally enjoyed stay here, bed was a bit creaky, the curtains fell down in our room and were fixed the next day so only one night of street lights. Having a large fridge and drinking water and tea and coffee was good. The hostel seemed very clean but we were slightly alarmed when a rat ran from the street all the way up the stairs through the metal grill that acted as the front door and into the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
7.4

I really enjoyed my stay a this hostel. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the city, near the bus station , and easy to find. The staff was lovely and very helpful. The rooms were simple, the ones without air con got pretty hot. I would certainly stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.0

I would not recommend this hostel. There were no good points that stood out and everything else was disappointing. Hot room, the 10 bed dorm was disruptive and the hostel didn't encourage a respectful atmosphere. Breakfast was basic (toast and tea). The staff were not able to give my useful information about tours and climbing the mountain - as a solo traveler, it would be extremely beneficial if you were able to link people up to climb together to reduce the surcharges. Happy to leave.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.