Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 319 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 319 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
Akinabalu Youth Hostel Located at 1st Floor, No. 133 Jalan Gaya, , Kota Kinabalu.
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Malaysia
Kota Kinabalu Sabah 88000 1st Floor, No. 133 Jalan Gaya,
92% 319
5.9821863 116.0764575
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Nov 2016
7.1

We only stayed here for one night and we arrived at midnight and left at 8am the next morning, so it's hard to leave a review. Its pretty basic and felt a little unclean. Breakfast was good in the morning, there was cake. Don't think I would stay again though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Nov 2016
10.0

Wow! What a great place to stay in our first week in Malaysia! Not only was the location FANTASTIC and in the centre of town, but it was secure as well. The reception staff were warm and lovely and were knowledgeable of the activities in town. The clean staff was kind as well and did a great job of keeping the place clean. Breakfast was good, but get there early or there will be none left! We are coming back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
8.9

Great value for money really nice staff and reception area. Only 1 bathroom seemed to be working on each floor though so got a bit busy in a morning waiting for showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.7

Lovely stay! Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definately return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
10.0

A clean, comfortable hostel with very friendly, helpful staff. Within 5 minutes walking distance to bus stops to the airport and Kinabalu National Park and 15 minutes to the jetty for trips to the islands. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Oct 2016
9.7

I am pleased to have chosen to stay at Akinabalu hostel and I would recommend to a friend. Specially availability of tea/coffee facility.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.3

Perfectly placed for the amazing eateries and nice bars/cafes along Goya Street, and they were happy to hold onto our bags free of charge while we climbed Mount Kinabalu. Wi-fi didn't work in our room, but the sleeping floors were quiet with relaxed atmosphere in communal area. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.6

I really loved my stay at Akinabalu. The staff are so helpful and it's easy walking distance to anything in the city. The only problem I had was that in the big dorm rooms it gets very hot without air con, so if you are a sensitive sleeper keep that in mind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
7.7

Bedroom and Toilets were clean, showers were cold but bearable and were also clean. The common room was really good, although was quiet most days. It was very noisy outside, bring earplugs! There are no mosquito nets and we were bitten a lot one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2016
8.9

Staff friendly and helpful. Good location v close to bus and ferry terminals. Toilets and showers slightly in need of repair.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.