Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th May 2017
9.1

2nd hostel j stayed in KK, way better and a third of the price. Really good value, good rooms, great place to chill - really enjoyed it and wish I'd stayed there first!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
8.6

Fantastic location, right in centre of town so everything walkable. Expect basic bedrooms- my mattress had a dip right in the middle and the air con questionable, but for the price what more do you expect? Great breakfast and super friendly staff made my stay, so much so I returned to stay again! Cheap and cheerful, for the budget traveller a very friendly place, close to everything you need and local knowledge fantastic. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
10.0

Excellent stay, strategic location, good breakfast, friendly staffs, cheap price, air con room, cleanliness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2017
9.1

Stayed there from 3rd to 6th of May 2017. We stayed in a double room. Such a great place, well located in the city with a pretty much central location. The place itself has a great feel to it, clean, and chillax homey atmosphere. The staff were really great, they were very accommodating, from advising us about cost worthy tours, to booking them for us and helping us manage transpotation and breakfast. Would definitely be staying here again! Great place for backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
8.3

They have good beds, clean showers and toilets, but no aircon or lockers. Friendly hostel, except for the owner. As soon as I checked in, she asked me about my plans and then gave me misleading info. Said the actual bus cost much more, told me about entrance fees that don't exist and then tried to sell me very overpriced tours (special discount just for ME), saying it would be much cheaper than doing it by myself. In the end I spent one third of the price she was trying to sell me the tour for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.7

very nice! Good breakfast, nice setup. Only fans in the dorms, but it's ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
7.7

We only stopped here for a night to rest our weary legs after the mountain climb before we moved on. Missing air con & breakfast was nice but simple. The real pros were the location (Gaya St) and the RIDICULOUSLY good shower. It had more pressure than our shower at home! Very pleased.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.6

Good facilities with computer and free breakfast, etc. Not much atmosphere, hard to meet people as a solo traveller. Some of staff lovely and do anything to help you, others not very helpful or friendly. Nice place to chill with sofas and big windows looking out and central location but if I hadn't made friends on a tour outside of my hostel I wouldn't have had anyone to chill with.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kayaway692771
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 57 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.7

Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Lots if info.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved the staff here, they are all so sweet! One of them even walked me to the bus stop on my way back to the airport. It was so easy to just sit and talk to them about anything, but it was also incredibly easy to make friends here. Everyone is really friendly so it is great if you are a solo traveler. I wish I could have stayed even longer they had awesome tours that I wanted to try. The price was definitely right, come here to have an excellent stay in KK!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.