Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 335 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

Really great staff! They were really helpfull answering all our questions. We could even get an early breakfast before catching our flight. Toiletts and showers could have been cleaner. Unfortunately the AC was not working in our room so it got really hot during night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.0

all you need, bed, shower, good location, friendly helpful staff and a space to chill out in and meet people... will be going back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
10.0

Loved the his place. Really chill vibes, great people who work there and really close to everything. Thanks for a great stay everyone!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Dec 2016
9.4

Great place to stay and central for exploring Kota Kinabalu. Staff are extremely helpful and always willing to help. No aircon in room so was ridiculously hot on a night but beds were comfy. Excellent communal area where a lot of people were so was very sociable. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
9.7

Awesome accommodating staff, centrally located, very clean, great common room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Nov 2016
7.1

We only stayed here for one night and we arrived at midnight and left at 8am the next morning, so it's hard to leave a review. Its pretty basic and felt a little unclean. Breakfast was good in the morning, there was cake. Don't think I would stay again though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Nov 2016
10.0

Wow! What a great place to stay in our first week in Malaysia! Not only was the location FANTASTIC and in the centre of town, but it was secure as well. The reception staff were warm and lovely and were knowledgeable of the activities in town. The clean staff was kind as well and did a great job of keeping the place clean. Breakfast was good, but get there early or there will be none left! We are coming back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
8.9

Great value for money really nice staff and reception area. Only 1 bathroom seemed to be working on each floor though so got a bit busy in a morning waiting for showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Oct 2016
9.7

Lovely stay! Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definately return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
10.0

A clean, comfortable hostel with very friendly, helpful staff. Within 5 minutes walking distance to bus stops to the airport and Kinabalu National Park and 15 minutes to the jetty for trips to the islands. Recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.