Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akureyri Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Akureyri Backpackers Located at Hafnarstrati 98, , Akureyri.
Akureyri Backpackers
Iceland
Akureyri 600 Hafnarstrati 98
90% 413
65.6814187 -18.0897188
Akureyri Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Aug 2016
7.7

Good hostel overall, but the wifi didn't work well in the room and we also had to pay to rent blankets on top of an already overpriced hostel. Iceland is an expensive country, but I'd rather rent through Airbnb next time for what I ended up paying to stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.3

You have to pay extra money to rent a blanket. This is not something I was made aware of prior to arrival. The staff member that communicated this info wasn't particularly friendly about it. Other than that, the area down stairs is cute and warm. You get a free drink with your stay which is a nice touch. Good location, though the town is so small it doesn't matter too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Amazing staff and atmosphere. Located in city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Loved this hostel! Very social and great atmosphere , my only complaint was that we couldn't get on the wifi until early morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.0

Enjoyed ourselves greatly here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location except that the bar on the ground floor was VERY loud on Saturday night making it difficult to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel to stay in !! Would stay again in a heartbeat !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
7.4

This hostel was totally fine. Really busy as they are also a restaurant and bar open to the public. Everything was clean and nice. They didn't seem to offer much other than a place to sleep, but I think that's all most backpackers need in this town anyways.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.9

Excellent location and good atmosphere in the hostel with lots of travellers having drinks in the hostel bar which serves some good food and drinks. The showers are great and rooms are clean. It's annoying that you have to pay extra for bed linen, but no other compliants! Akureyri is a lovely town with beuitiful scenery, definitely worth a stop off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. The bathrooms were very clean and I never had to wait to use the toilet. The rooms were secure and clean as well. The bar was great and made it really easy to meet other travelers. The showers are in the basement, which sort of sucks, but not that big of a deal. All in all its one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.