Hostelworld.com

Akureyri Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
Akureyri Backpackers Located at Hafnarstrati 98, , Akureyri.
Akureyri Backpackers
Iceland
Akureyri 600 Hafnarstrati 98
93% 384
65.6814187 -18.0897188
Akureyri Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Room comes with one free beer. Deffs recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay (and kind of the only hostel in Akureyri). The rooms and common areas are cleaned daily, the area is nice, it's literally in the center of the very tiny market street for the town. Also great is that it's a bar/dinner/cafe place on the main floor, so you can get breakfast and dinner here as well if you really want. They can book anything you want, and the staff are all helpful and friendly. If I ever come back to Akureyri, I'll be visiting here once again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.9

Good place. Well located. Better to carry your sleeping bag as you have to pay for the blanket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Great location with a very friendly staff. We enjoyed the atmosphere very much. The Wi-Fi only works when downstairs-we could not get a signal in our dorm. I heard the same from other people. The location is ideal, being on the main street and having access to shops and culture.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
9.1

Such a sweet place to meet other travelers! Happy hour is a golden deal by Icelandic standards

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
9.4

This is a really good hostel in Akureyri! It is on the main street close to everything. There is a good bar downstairs with food. Very clean. Would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel in the center of Akureyri. Close to all the shops, whale watching, and a wonderful bookstore. I marked them down for security because the lockers in the room didn't have working lock latches. As we weren't travelling with anything of much value, this wasn't really a problem for us, but it could be for others. Overall, great atmosphere, awesome food, and a fantastic city!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th May 2016
7.7

As is all hostels in Iceland it is expensive. I had a 4 bed mixed dorm. Room are spacious and clean. I was a little surprised that in order to use the showers I had to go down 2 stories to the basement which included walking through the bar and kitchen area. Its a nice hotel but next time I would probably pay a little extra to stay in a nearby hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
10.0

Great facilities with great people. Friendly staff and reasonable price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
8.6

One of the better hostels in Iceland for Atmosphere as it has a bar!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.