Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akureyri Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.7

This place is so cool! They do charge for a comforter so if you don't have a sleeping bag, be advised. But the place is clean and downstairs is a bar with awesome happy hour prices!! Really great atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
9.4

The location is perfect and the bar had a great atmosphere even though it closes pretty early. The only thing I didn't like was walking through the bar to get to the shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place. Seems to be the center of town all day, among guests and locals alike. Good facilities, great restaurant/bar. Beds are a bit on the squeaky side, but no real complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Excellent location for walking places. Google maps was a bit confusing; park in the city lot on the street below, if driving. Very secure dorms with key fobs for rooms. FAST wifi! Showers were awesome - private stall doors with lots of (hot and not timed!) water pressure. Also, very clean. Cons: I stayed here on a Saturday night, not thinking about it. Downstairs and in the street was very loud with drunks most of the night (not the hostel's fault, though).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • missytk862360
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
10.0

My only complaint is maybe to get more sturdy bunk beds... otherwise great location, friendly staff. Everything is at this location food, drinks, and sleep. Perfect we ended up staying another night with no problems.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
10.0

A lively, spacious, safe, clean and enjoyable hostel experience. Nothing negative about our stay at Akureyri Backpackers Hostel. Thanks for a wonderful time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.1

Hotspot in Akureyri! Staff was nice and helpful! Great crowd of travellers, entertainment options I the evening. Excellent cleanliness. Stayed one night so didn't get the chance to use all facilities. Perfect location in the centre of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.3

Best hostel I stayed so far! Nice bar at the ground floor and absolutely stunning atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

The bathrooms at Akureyri Backpackers are enough to make you stay here. They might be the best bathrooms I have ever been in. Ever. The showers were like powerful, hot waterfalls, everything was spotless, they had fancy hairdryers for you to use, and even a free sauna. There was plenty of counter space for everyone, the mirrors were huge, lighting was great, I could go on. The room itself was nice. I really liked the little individual shelves with sockets and lights and USB plugs. Well done!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.7

Friendly staff, clean, cozy and tidy common areas and nice bar! They even give you a complementary drink (beer, tea or coffee) when you get there. Like this cozy little hostel a lot. The only downfalls are that the showers are only on the ground floor, there are no lifts so if you have a large suitcase, you'd have to lug it up the stairs, beds are a bit squeaky (my bed rail was actually a bit broken but others were not) and the sound proofing like all hostels are not that great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.