Hostelworld.com

Akureyri Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Akureyri Backpackers Located at Hafnarstrati 98, , Akureyri.
Akureyri Backpackers
Iceland
Akureyri 600 Hafnarstrati 98
92% 365
65.6814187 -18.0897188
Akureyri Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
10.0

Great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.7

Loved my stay in Akureyri because of this hostel. Wonderful facilities and really gorgeous bar/cafe downstairs. The staff are so lovely here, I really loved the vibe of this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Honestly, I really loved this hostel- my only complaints were related to the room situation (only one small window to air out, eh, odors from the other people in there) and I was a little weirded out by the MUCH larger age range of another bunker and his sleep apnea machine made it rather difficult to sleep. The bathrooms were great though, showers were more than worth walking into the basement for- they even had a sauna! Extremely great value, especially for Iceland; great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

Beautiful hostel in a bustling area of downtown. The cafe was delightful, the staff super helpful and the facilities were mostly up to par. One thing that bothered me was the showers were so far from the rooms! Down in the basement floor. The communal kitchen needs to be larger but good enough. I really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

The atmosphere is lovely and warm when you come to this hostel. The facilities are good and the staff are extremely friendly. You have to pay for your bedding, like duvet though, so either bring your own of you will be paying. There is everything you need but note that all the restaurants surrounding it shut at about 9pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Good stuff, great staff and awsome downtown location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
6.3

Beware the fine print! We had to paid 40% more than the stated online price. The staff was very rude around that and did not manage it in a good way at all, but just increased the price without consideration. Apparently somewhere well hidden it says that the 6-bed bedrooms only are available for families with children. Then there was a very large extra charge for bed linens. None of these things are stated in the confirmation email, so beware.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
10.0

My friends and i stayed here for a night in the 8-bed room. The location was central and the bar and restaurant downstairs had a good vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2016
10.0

I loved my stay at Akureyri Backpackers. The staff were incredibly helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
9.4

What a great hostel to stay. Has a nice kitchen, a great bar inside, very cozy, lots of people chilling out there, this is definitely a 'has to go' hostel. The city also is very beautiful and cozy. Worth staying for couple of nights. Was the first Brazilian to stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.