Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akureyri Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 464 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Akureyri Backpackers Located at Hafnarstrati 98, , Akureyri.
Akureyri Backpackers
Iceland
Akureyri 600 Hafnarstrati 98
89% 464
65.6814187 -18.0897188
Akureyri Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.4

The staff is helpful. Hostel is really clean. Well-equipped kitchen and centralized location in the city. The only downside of this hostel is the bathroom. It's located at the basement so you have to bring your stuff with you, walked past the reception to get there. There's hot shower and dryers for you to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Fantastic location. Very clean. Good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.3

This bar is good for sleeping. Everything costs you money, but that's normal in here. Laundry 900 ISK, Drying 900 ISK. You have to pay your blanket if you dont bring your own. Lots and lots of costs for basic living. Staff is really friendly and place is clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel with amazing vibe. If you have to make a choice during youre stay in Akureyri, no doubt you should choose this option!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Oct 2016
9.7

My second time staying here. Love this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Oct 2016
7.7

Great atmosphere. Had the chance to enjoy a few pints at the pub, have a hot shower, and have a great meal. Others guests were loud up to late, and the laundry is extremely overpirced.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Oct 2016
9.7

Great facilities in the kitchen. Showers were spotless when I came in and 10 minutes later, a staff member was in the stall I had just used with a pressure hose! (A+ for cleanliness). Bathrooms and bedrooms were also clean. Great location right in town with a ton of parking a 30 second walk away. The hostel is renovated, but still has a cozy feel to it. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend anyone going through Akureyri to Stay here as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent, Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
6.9

This hostel is in a really great location. I loved Akureryi! The staff was helpful and did not try to sell me on tours or anything. My biggest complaint is that there is no area just for the guests and that the showers are located in the basement and you have to walk through the restaurant to go back to your room from a shower. Otherwise i would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.7

It was a really fun place to stay at in Akureyri. The great atmosphere at the bar/restaurant was definitely a plus. Another perk is the complementary drink! Rooms are basic hostels rooms and require sleeping bag; bathroom facilities were very comfortable and clean (and it is always a pleasant surprise to find a hairdryer!). Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.