Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akureyri Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Akureyri Backpackers Located at Hafnarstrati 98, , Akureyri.
Akureyri Backpackers
Iceland
Akureyri 600 Hafnarstrati 98
88% 430
65.6814187 -18.0897188
Akureyri Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2016
9.7

Cosy hostel and friendly staff. A very good place to chill after hours of driving through the gorgeous landscapes of Northern Iceland! Would definitely go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
9.4

Good hostel in the centre of town. No real complaints except the locker is only big enough for a small bag. Everything else is fine. Enjoyed my stay & would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Charming little hostel in the hub of akureyri. Rooms are comfortable and the facilities are very well equipped. Best of all they give you a free beer on your arrival!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
3.7

It was one of my bad experiences. You pay just to get a mattress. Anything else you want to do is pay for it, no breakfast, no blankets, no towels. The entire building just with 3 tolite for boys and girls and all downstairs. Location was central but the town is very small so everything is central. I'll never go back there ! If u are two or three people u can get nice hotel room or guesthouse with all the facilities and u may pay less!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
7.7

Good hostel overall, but the wifi didn't work well in the room and we also had to pay to rent blankets on top of an already overpriced hostel. Iceland is an expensive country, but I'd rather rent through Airbnb next time for what I ended up paying to stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
9.1

Super cute little hostel in the middle of the city center. Big oversight on my part is that comforter and sheets are NOT included. We had spent the whole day driving around and got in pretty late only to find it was gonna cost extra to have sheets. I was a bit grumpy and refused on principle; spent the rest of the night kinda cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.3

You have to pay extra money to rent a blanket. This is not something I was made aware of prior to arrival. The staff member that communicated this info wasn't particularly friendly about it. Other than that, the area down stairs is cute and warm. You get a free drink with your stay which is a nice touch. Good location, though the town is so small it doesn't matter too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
7.4

Great location but this was one of the worst stays during my trip. Four of us were in our room reading, texting etc. when all of a sudden, the room began to reverberate from the over-amplified rock concert in the bar below us. Seriously, the beds shook from the noise beginning at 10 pm. We had had no warning. Twice I went to the crowded counter/bar in pajamas to change rooms but no one was there. Avoid this place when they have live music.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Amazing staff and atmosphere. Located in city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
9.1

Loved this hostel! Very social and great atmosphere , my only complaint was that we couldn't get on the wifi until early morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.