Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Akureyri Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.1

Hotspot in Akureyri! Staff was nice and helpful! Great crowd of travellers, entertainment options I the evening. Excellent cleanliness. Stayed one night so didn't get the chance to use all facilities. Perfect location in the centre of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.3

Best hostel I stayed so far! Nice bar at the ground floor and absolutely stunning atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

The bathrooms at Akureyri Backpackers are enough to make you stay here. They might be the best bathrooms I have ever been in. Ever. The showers were like powerful, hot waterfalls, everything was spotless, they had fancy hairdryers for you to use, and even a free sauna. There was plenty of counter space for everyone, the mirrors were huge, lighting was great, I could go on. The room itself was nice. I really liked the little individual shelves with sockets and lights and USB plugs. Well done!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.7

Friendly staff, clean, cozy and tidy common areas and nice bar! They even give you a complementary drink (beer, tea or coffee) when you get there. Like this cozy little hostel a lot. The only downfalls are that the showers are only on the ground floor, there are no lifts so if you have a large suitcase, you'd have to lug it up the stairs, beds are a bit squeaky (my bed rail was actually a bit broken but others were not) and the sound proofing like all hostels are not that great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Great spot to stay in the middle of it all! They even give you a free coffee, tea or beer in their cafe/bar for staying with them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
10.0

This place is so cool!!! Restaurant/bar downstairs which is super convenient for grabbing a bite, a drink, or just hanging out. I stayed in the private 2 bedroom and the room was adorable, comfy and clean. The location is on the Main Street of the town which was great. Staff was sooo helpful. Someone was able to help us find the perfect horse back riding excursion, which became the highlight of our entire Iceland trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
9.7

Everything was great!I'm still adjusting to all ages hostels, but this one wasn't bad. There was live music in the attatched bar when we came back from exploring, which was a perfect way to end the day especially with our free drink coupons from check in. No included linens or towels, but they were a decent price to rent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
8.0

Standard Icelandic Hostel Slightly loud in the evenings but to be expected. Would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • frostedj87884
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
8.9

It really depends on the guests at the hostel that makes the hostel a pleasant or horrible experience. There was a group of really young obnoxious Americans staying here and they were a disturbance to many people staying here. They were noisy and inconsiderate of other guests. Yelling, screaming, and running around like brats at late hours. There were also wonderful guests that were helpful and good people, that you could hangout with. Reception was flexible depending on your situation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

One of the best set out hostels lve ever stayed in. Also liked the free drink on arrival from the bar. Really really good kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.