Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Akureyri Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 397 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
Akureyri Backpackers Located at Hafnarstrati 98, , Akureyri.
Akureyri Backpackers
Iceland
Akureyri 600 Hafnarstrati 98
91% 397
65.6814187 -18.0897188
Akureyri Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.0

Enjoyed ourselves greatly here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.1

Great location except that the bar on the ground floor was VERY loud on Saturday night making it difficult to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome hostel to stay in !! Would stay again in a heartbeat !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.9

Excellent location and good atmosphere in the hostel with lots of travellers having drinks in the hostel bar which serves some good food and drinks. The showers are great and rooms are clean. It's annoying that you have to pay extra for bed linen, but no other compliants! Akureyri is a lovely town with beuitiful scenery, definitely worth a stop off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay here. The bathrooms were very clean and I never had to wait to use the toilet. The rooms were secure and clean as well. The bar was great and made it really easy to meet other travelers. The showers are in the basement, which sort of sucks, but not that big of a deal. All in all its one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.3

Good place to stay in a beautiful town on the water. However, the girl who checked us in wasn't the friendliest and walls were very thin so it was hard to sleep with so much noise. There was a good kitchen where we made our own dinner, and nice showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryth6498
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
7.7

Pretty nice place. It was a little frustrating that you have to pay for bed linens.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
6.6

Not very social atmosphere, have to walk through restaurant to get to showers. Have to rent a blanket for your bed if you don't bring one, and it's not cheap.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Room comes with one free beer. Deffs recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Amazing place to stay (and kind of the only hostel in Akureyri). The rooms and common areas are cleaned daily, the area is nice, it's literally in the center of the very tiny market street for the town. Also great is that it's a bar/dinner/cafe place on the main floor, so you can get breakfast and dinner here as well if you really want. They can book anything you want, and the staff are all helpful and friendly. If I ever come back to Akureyri, I'll be visiting here once again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.