Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Al Salam Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2017
10.0

The owner is a gentleman and will try to help all the time. I strongly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.1

We had a great stay here. Originally planned 2 nights but stayed 5. Excellent location on the west bank. Not far from the local ferry. The place to stay if you want to feel closer to nature and be a part of real egypt instead of staying in a hotel. Free pick up was appreciated and a lovely breakfast was had every morning. Achmed is a great guy and looked after us during our stay. Perfect place to relax outside, chat and contemplate life. We'd definately stay here again if opportunity arises.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
8.6

Wonderful location. I rented a bike and was able to get to both sides of the Nile very easily to tour all the sites that I wanted to see. Accommodations were very rustic so be prepared for the weather. I went during the cold months and got sick. The hotel proprietor was a very kind man and very reasonable. Just make sure you are up front with what you want and negotiate before hand the prices of what you would like. The only thing included in the price is the room, everything else is not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

In terms of value for money, location, cleanliness and hospitality goes, Al Salam has for me won top prize. The camp's Nilotic location is great, and with easy access to the surrrounding villages by bike, or the more hectic East Bank by boat, I found it a prime location to be nearby to the tombs and town. If you can get away from the camp! Its very relaxing, the rooms are comfortable and your host is warm. I think everything about this place is spot on, as well as the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.3

Was a very pleasent stay. It s a bit far of the action ob the west bank - but who likes it calm its perfect. Showers and toilet are in a good condition (fot egyptian standards of corse) The owner is very nice character and talkative and has a hilarious taste of music from reggea to russian red army choir. And he makes delicious dinner for reasonable prices. Be aware there is no wifi here - and some teahouses around the corner (african house or so) offer terrible connection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

After moving from the noisy, crowded east bank of Luxor, I couldn't have been more in love with the location and atmosphere at Al Salam. Quiet, beautiful, and with a campfire each night. Seriously, stay here if you need a break from Egyptian hassle-culture. Yes, you'll be charged extra for meals, laundry, and transport, but you can work out prices with Ahmed, the owner. He's not pushy, but is overwhelmingly generous. No wifi here, but some cafes nearby if you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

The most relaxing and peaceful place in Luxur, with its tranquil atmosphere but sociable at the same time. Ahmed the owner makes you feel right at home, and very helpful when you need it! The food is very good and resonably priced. We highly recomend this camp, had a great time with Ahmed and his lovley family

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Dec 2016
10.0

Had a perfect stay at the camp. The location is unique, it's close to everything but very relaxing. Overlooks Luxor temple, just take the public ferry to cross the nile (it costs 1 Egyptian pound). Karnak temple is also really close. Mohamed helped me arrange everything. I rented a bike to go to valley of the kings, it takes around 20-30 min, but there are a lot of temples to see on the way so it's actually a fun ride. Don't miss on Mohamed's delicious food. I wish I had more time to stay there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.