Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Al Salam Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 115 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Ahmed is a great camp owner who speaks nearly fluent English. He is very friendly and welcoming, and can arrange nearly anything in the area, including pickups, bicycle hires, meals, boat rides to various places, etc. He will also discuss any topic with you, for us this was history and politics. The campsite is located right by the Nile on the West Bank, and within biking distance of all of the attractions on the West Bank. There are showers and WiFi, and sleeping outside is really comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
9.7

The place here is very basic, with the owner that cooks for you his both a friend and the guy who owns the place. He makes sure that you feel very comfortable. Plus this place has wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Excellent! Perfect location on the west bank, peaceful and close to everything. Ahmed is an idyllic host. He makes delicious meals! He lent me his bicycle for exploring everyday - which is really the best way to get around! It was incredible biking to the Valley of the Kings, Hapshetshut's temple, the Temple of Karnak, and around all the villages. Going out at 6am to beat the heat, then coming back to a delicious lunch and afternoon nap at the camp was amazing! Also the cats!! truly lovely stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
10.0

The owner is a gentleman and will try to help all the time. I strongly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.1

We had a great stay here. Originally planned 2 nights but stayed 5. Excellent location on the west bank. Not far from the local ferry. The place to stay if you want to feel closer to nature and be a part of real egypt instead of staying in a hotel. Free pick up was appreciated and a lovely breakfast was had every morning. Achmed is a great guy and looked after us during our stay. Perfect place to relax outside, chat and contemplate life. We'd definately stay here again if opportunity arises.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
8.6

Wonderful location. I rented a bike and was able to get to both sides of the Nile very easily to tour all the sites that I wanted to see. Accommodations were very rustic so be prepared for the weather. I went during the cold months and got sick. The hotel proprietor was a very kind man and very reasonable. Just make sure you are up front with what you want and negotiate before hand the prices of what you would like. The only thing included in the price is the room, everything else is not.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
10.0

In terms of value for money, location, cleanliness and hospitality goes, Al Salam has for me won top prize. The camp's Nilotic location is great, and with easy access to the surrrounding villages by bike, or the more hectic East Bank by boat, I found it a prime location to be nearby to the tombs and town. If you can get away from the camp! Its very relaxing, the rooms are comfortable and your host is warm. I think everything about this place is spot on, as well as the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.3

Was a very pleasent stay. It s a bit far of the action ob the west bank - but who likes it calm its perfect. Showers and toilet are in a good condition (fot egyptian standards of corse) The owner is very nice character and talkative and has a hilarious taste of music from reggea to russian red army choir. And he makes delicious dinner for reasonable prices. Be aware there is no wifi here - and some teahouses around the corner (african house or so) offer terrible connection.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.