Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Al Vucciria Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2017
9.7

Succccch a fun few days!! So happy we chose this hostel. Wish I had longer there but I'll be back and will 100% recommend to friends visiting Palermo! Grazie xxx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd May 2017
10.0

Everything was great, location, staff, room, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

There is no signage for the hostel, just a handwritten message above the door buzzer that says "hostel". It looks pretty dodgy from the outside, and there are a lot of steps to climb to reach the hostel but inside it's actually really nice. Big bathrooms, very sturdy wooden bunks (no sqeaking!), strong wifi, a huge common room and kitchen/dining as well as several little balconies. No lockers for bags, just shelves, and no room key. Staff seem to live in the hostel, and all are nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel ever so far! Perfectly located in the most typical neighborhood of Palermo, close to everything, and most important, with a perfect atmosphere; it feels totally like home. Especially reccomended if you are travelling alone, because it's ideal for meeting new people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.9

Hostel is ok and beds are comfortable. Owner is rough and hard to get. wouldn't give directions to get there, wouldn't answer emails. Location is not nice but it's close to everything. It's very very loud so not good for sleeping. Loud music in the area goes up to 4 am. Lady owner starts yelling to the staff at 7.30 am. Only cash and €20 deposit. No one was there when I wanted to check out so had to call from my own phone 3 times and wait 20 min for my money. Almost missed train. Not good :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry that you was so bad in our hostel. Perhaps the owner could not answer your emails because he had other problem to fix. Maybe you had to wait so long to receive the key deposit because you checked out at 5 am. And everyone slept. I may not have been given the information you wanted because you asked for it in a moment which the owner was careful to do something else very important . Finally we are very sorry for the noisy outside , but we were in saturday night in a very alive distric. Can happen to have a little music outside no ?

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.0

Pros : Communal space is really huge and beautiful. Free towel. No city tax Cons : There are 2 rooms of dormitory but only 2 bathrooms are available for 12 people. Bathroom needs to be clean. Light is too dark. Each bed doesn't have socket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Then we begin by pointing out that there are no 12 beds in the hostel and two bathrooms. The total beds are 16 and the bathrooms are 4. The person who is writing this answer is the owner in person. So there is one bathroom in the hostel every 4 people. Second point: Light is too dark is an opinion. Nobody had ever complained about this before. The bathrooms are cleaned every day. But it can happen that with 16 people at home can not always be cleaned at all times. The electrical plugs were simply on the ground near the door. Maybe the host did not notice.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Really convenient, close to all historical sites, monuments, markets and the most important places. An atmosphere of friendship and sympathy. Great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Great breakfast! Staff fun and always available Very nice house in the legendary Vucciria Palermo !! and in the room 2 is a hammock where you can rest !! We will come back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
10.0

I've always been a traveler. I have traveled almost all of Europe and in many other countries around the world. The Vucciria Hostel is one of the best hostels I've ever been. Run by Martin and his lovely mother, rather than a hostel this place is like a big family that welcomes you. great rooms, spacious and bright where you can meet and make friends with the other guests . This hostel is wonderful . absolutely recommended .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
10.0

The beautiful location in the ancient and characteristic area of the Vucciria. Excellent and lovely croissants in the morning! the hostel with the largest library that we have ever seen! You can read many books in many languages! Beautiful place. great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.