X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aladin hostel Reviews

Tugomerjeva 56, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
553 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The best part of Aldin hostel is the price. The rest is OK if you stay one night. The rooms are comfortable and more or less clean. The bathrooms are really small. The hostel is relatively far from the central station or the city center.


86%

Really nice hostel and the owner helped us out a lot. Recommendations, calling cabs and if he knew I was with my girlfriend he would have given us a free upgrade he told us. I would absolutely recommend this hostel! Little bit far from the center but if you rent a bike (5 euro a day) you're in the city in no time!


74%

The staff is amazing. They are really friendly, welcoming and happy to help you with anything you need. There were two downsides to the hostel: Its quite far from the city center, its quite a walk to get there, but there is a busstop 2min from the hostel and you can get a buscard from reception. Also the room got very hot as soon as the sun came out. We were told they're looking into an aircon for the room though.


74%

Nice and clean hostel, a little bit further from the city center, but possible to walk. We liked the location by Tivoli park and walkable distance to Lublana ZOO. Friendly and helpful staff.


86%

Excellent hostel, with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean and so we're common areas. Hostel is a little removed from town, but excellent buses and ability to rent bikes helped. Would recommend, purely for the helpful staff.


97%

The Hostel was fantastic. With 24 hour check-in we were able to arrive late at night. The staff there is one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. Would highly recommend it to fellow travelers, and the city center is but a 10min walk away.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The host was very nice and interested in knowing how he could improve the hostel. Everything was held very clean and there was food security.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was planning to stay 1 night only, but then change my mind and stayed 3 nights in total. I like the hostel, it is clean, staffs help a lot and make your stay pleasurable. Highly recommended.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great place!


97%

I have no complaints. Staff was friendly and helpful and the place was clean. Kitchen is not big but has all the equipment you might need. Thank you.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Really friendly staff, I got great tips on what to do, seeing Lake Bled, etc. The hostel building itself is a bit old, but they keep everything pretty clean. The room (a double) was a little small, but it wasn’t a big deal. It’s walkable but easier to pay a few euros each way to the center of town with a taxi. I would recommend it too because our taxi driver gave us great dinner recommendations. This is a very small city but deserves a stop to try local food and beer. I would recommend it!


94%

Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. . Overall hostel is grest value for money


43%

Booked an ensuite but was told there was an error and we were fine to share a toilet but didn't know there was only one toilet for both males and females. No privacy at all. The beds are the worst thing. The springs stab you in the back and we didn't sleep all night (we suffered for two nights) and had painful backaches in the morning. Our room was in the worst area right in the kitchen so was very noisy when people decided to come back late at night and keep the party going by drinking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry about the bed. We do have a new bad ordered and is comming in the next few days. We wish you came to reception to tell us you had a problem with noise and bed and we would be happy to give you a different room for the second night. We wish you nice traveling. Best regards Aladin Staff

37%

We felt the atmosphere and service at the hostel were very impersonal. We didn't feel welcome or encouraged to ask the host about anything regarding our stay in Ljubljana. The kitchen wasn't that much of a kitchen - it had almost no equipment (such as knives or spatula) which made it very difficult to prepare even the simplest food. Besides that it had a very weird smell. There was only one toilette on our floor which had several rooms. Our bed was so poor - we could feel the springs so easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, we are very sorry you had such an experiance. We try our best to serve each guest the best way possible and if you did not like our service I do apologize. About the kitchen: there is all the equipment but sometimes some guests also take things to their rooms and bring it back later and if ''you'' cook than there is also some smell of that food :) Please notice that there is 2 more bathrooms 1 floor up and 1 more at the end of hallway. Wish you nice traveling, Regards Aladin Staff

91%

Really nice place with friendly and knowledgable staff. Stayed in our own private room so can't really comment on the atmosphere. Would stay again


43%

smell of cold smoke just everywhere, no hostel feeling at all, about 200 notes by the management about what is not allowed, far outside of the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are very sorry that you had such an experiance. Please understand that the notes we have are there by the law and are for guest safety reasons. We have to have them. However some guests unfortunately still do not respect them and that is why there might have been some smell of smoke. Also we are not that far from city center since it takes you only 20-25 minutes walking or 5min with bus or taxi and less than 10min by bicycle. We wish you nice traveling. Regards, Aladin staff.

74%

There should be more than one bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I am sorry if you could not find other bathrooms and I wish you asked the staff about that. We do have aditional bathrooms in 2nd floor and also at the end of the 1 floor and downstairs. However, I hope you had a good time in Ljubljana and wish you a nice day. Best regards

100%

Amazing hostel, our best Stay so far! Good shower and toilets. Big rooms and quiet place. Location is great just 5min bus ride. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain, definitely recommend Aladins Hostel! Thank you guys!


66%

You get what you pay for.. It's good not great. However the staff (the owner) was excellent, very helpfull and constantly makeing sure you had a great stay.


80%

Good stay. The best point of the hostel is the staff.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback