X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Aladin hostel Reviews

Tugomerjeva 56, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
539 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I have no complaints. Staff was friendly and helpful and the place was clean. Kitchen is not big but has all the equipment you might need. Thank you.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. . Overall hostel is grest value for money


43%

Booked an ensuite but was told there was an error and we were fine to share a toilet but didn't know there was only one toilet for both males and females. No privacy at all. The beds are the worst thing. The springs stab you in the back and we didn't sleep all night (we suffered for two nights) and had painful backaches in the morning. Our room was in the worst area right in the kitchen so was very noisy when people decided to come back late at night and keep the party going by drinking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry about the bed. We do have a new bad ordered and is comming in the next few days. We wish you came to reception to tell us you had a problem with noise and bed and we would be happy to give you a different room for the second night. We wish you nice traveling. Best regards Aladin Staff

37%

We felt the atmosphere and service at the hostel were very impersonal. We didn't feel welcome or encouraged to ask the host about anything regarding our stay in Ljubljana. The kitchen wasn't that much of a kitchen - it had almost no equipment (such as knives or spatula) which made it very difficult to prepare even the simplest food. Besides that it had a very weird smell. There was only one toilette on our floor which had several rooms. Our bed was so poor - we could feel the springs so easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, we are very sorry you had such an experiance. We try our best to serve each guest the best way possible and if you did not like our service I do apologize. About the kitchen: there is all the equipment but sometimes some guests also take things to their rooms and bring it back later and if ''you'' cook than there is also some smell of that food :) Please notice that there is 2 more bathrooms 1 floor up and 1 more at the end of hallway. Wish you nice traveling, Regards Aladin Staff

91%

Really nice place with friendly and knowledgable staff. Stayed in our own private room so can't really comment on the atmosphere. Would stay again


43%

smell of cold smoke just everywhere, no hostel feeling at all, about 200 notes by the management about what is not allowed, far outside of the city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are very sorry that you had such an experiance. Please understand that the notes we have are there by the law and are for guest safety reasons. We have to have them. However some guests unfortunately still do not respect them and that is why there might have been some smell of smoke. Also we are not that far from city center since it takes you only 20-25 minutes walking or 5min with bus or taxi and less than 10min by bicycle. We wish you nice traveling. Regards, Aladin staff.

74%

There should be more than one bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I am sorry if you could not find other bathrooms and I wish you asked the staff about that. We do have aditional bathrooms in 2nd floor and also at the end of the 1 floor and downstairs. However, I hope you had a good time in Ljubljana and wish you a nice day. Best regards

100%

Amazing hostel, our best Stay so far! Good shower and toilets. Big rooms and quiet place. Location is great just 5min bus ride. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain, definitely recommend Aladins Hostel! Thank you guys!


66%

You get what you pay for.. It's good not great. However the staff (the owner) was excellent, very helpfull and constantly makeing sure you had a great stay.


80%

Good stay. The best point of the hostel is the staff.


60%

Everywhere smell of cigarettes. Parking is problem.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This is very friendly and good hostel. They were so kind to wait us because we were late and come after 11pm. Staff was friendly, ready to help you.


89%

Great stay, the staff are incredibly friendly and they upgraded me to a private for free!


80%

It was a really really nice stay at the Aladin Hostel. True, It is a little bit far from the city center but it is a pleasant walk in the morning. Our room was relatively small but I was positively surprised by the cleanliness. The Man at the reception was very handsome, kind and friendly. He stood up all night long for us since we arrived later than expected and he was always there to help us and to recommend some places to visit. This is definitely what made us feel more comfortable.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay!

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Friendly staff, but 30 min walk from city center & train station. Mostly students staying there. Despite sign on fridge warning students not to steal food & security cameras, my food was stolen after midnight and before 7:00. I would've reported it but had train to catch. There is a student who will ask to borrow money but will not pay you back. So beware of the students there. Beds in dorm room don't have individual lights or electrical outlets. No locker inside room to lock up valuables.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Shen.., I am very sorry about your food getting stolen. The student who wanted to borrow your money and also stole food is no longer staying with us! He was only here for about 14 days and since we had some complaints about him stealing food, we asked him to leave! We will also work on individual lights and electrical outlets :) to keep our guests happy. However, since you had the whole room just for you, I hope it was not that much of a problem ;) Best regards from Aladin staff.



View all Ljubljana Hostels

Please give us your feedback