Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Alba Hostel Glasgow

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 419 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 419 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
Alba Hostel Glasgow Located at 6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow, Glasgow.
Alba Hostel Glasgow
Scotland
Glasgow Lanarkshire G12 0AT 6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow
74% 419
55.8880927 -4.3216502
Alba Hostel Glasgow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.3

Nothing special, but it is far from a lot of things. Thankfully the metro was near

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
6.3

While the staff is friendly, the location and facilities were lacking. For the price you pay, breakfast could at least be included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

A short walk from the train station, and tucked away so it's quiet. The Alba were very accommodating when I had to change the date of my reservation - all it took was a phone call. My only disappointment was the extra 2 pounds charge for breakfast. I found this detracted from the at-home atmosphere and would have preferred if they just rolled this cost into the cost of staying there and offered the basic breakfast for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Nice place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
9.4

The place is freshly renovated and equipped with all the necessary equipment and more! For every room there were 2 shower rooms and a lounge with high TV.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

Great stay. Good location and well maintained. I had a comfortable stay and an excellent price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.0

I didn't realise when i booked the hostel that you need to catch a train or a bus to get to the city centre of Glasgow. However, it is not that bad because it is just 10mins by train and the hostel is literally across the road from the train station. The staff were really nice. I stayed for 3 nights and i had a problem with one of my dorm mates tbe 1st night, and they were able to put me in another dorm with no problem. Friendly, however not much of an atmosphere in communal areas. Good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2016
4.9

The hostel is not terribly secure. Neither of the attendants I saw working at the desk looked up unless I said excuse me. I could have walked straight in and gone right upstairs and no one would have stopped me. The hostel's location is not ideal either. It is near four miles to city center, which is a terrible walk. The atmosphere was very unwelcoming, and I did not look forward to coming back to my hostel each night. Perhaps worst of all, everything creaks. The beds, the stairs, even the floor

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.0

Booked an All Female dorm, and at 10:30 pm the manager added a guy into our room. Too late to do anything at 10:30... Managers mistake. Good hostel though, get what you pay for. Rooms were nice. Bathrooms clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
3.7

Beware of this hostel. Our train was delayed, so we checked in at 12:15 in the morning. We were "greeted" by a grumpy guy that kept complaining about us waking him up - to do his job! Then he tried to charge us a 'late check-in fee' of £5. When I asked to have it in writing, he waived the charge. Really shady and suspicious. Bathrooms were dirty and you have to pay for breakfast. No amenities included, and bad wifi. Worst hostel I've ever stayed at.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.