Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alba Hostel Glasgow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
Alba Hostel Glasgow Located at 6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow, Glasgow.
Alba Hostel Glasgow
Scotland
Glasgow Lanarkshire G12 0AT 6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow
73% 455
55.8880927 -4.3216502
Alba Hostel Glasgow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
8.6

Man on the desk was very helpful. Found someone's hair on sheet & bed cover! Not ideal! Apart from that was a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
2.0

BLOODY AWFUL! CANCELLED DUE TO MY SMALL DAUGHTER BEING HIT BY A CAR! THEY CHARGED ME MONEY ON TOP OF MONEY DUE AS WELL AS A BOOKING FEE WHICH WAS ILLEGAL AND NOT PART OF ANY PRIOR AGREEMENT! MONEY GRABBING CREEP!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
7.1

It's ok. Not as fancy as it looks in the pictures, but right next to Anniesland station and a short train into the centre, kitchen facilities and good bathrooms. Nothing fancy but comfortable and it does the job. They charge to store your luggage, even if you check in early (before 4) which is annoying. The front door is always open but each room has a combination to enter, so if you can remember it, it's very safe. A few long term guests, and no individual plugs. Recommend though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
6.0

This place was not bad for a stay. It was close to the Anniesland train station, but a bit outside of the city. It's really not that bad of a commute, but if you want to see Glasgow city, it may be best to stay in the city centre. The staff were ok, but could improve on reccommendations of activities. Also, I prefer when there is 24 hour reception. They have a kitchen which is nice, but the facilities for eating aren't as nice. I loved the people I met there and that was my favourite part!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
4.6

Kitchen was dirty, certainly not being cleaned every day. Beds were noisy. The downstairs kitchen and far away dining room were all but cosy. Only the lounge area was ok, but was closed shortly after 10pm (???). Poor location, very weird people here. Our room had an en-suite bathroom, which was good. But I wouldn't recommend this hostel to other travellers, and it's certainly not worth 20 quid per person and night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jvtwesteinde994
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.7

The hostel offers a value-for-money place if you have to go about the West End of Glasgow. I was over for a conference and enjoyed a pleasant walk to the University every morning. The en-suite facilities are very convenient, as is the very large and well-equipped self-service kitchen. There's free wifi throughout the building, it is quiet, and the hostel offers all basics required. Highly recommended if you are in town for business (on a budget), or, as I noticed, if you are house-hunting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
5.1

It's not in town but close to Scotrail station about 10-15 minutes it town. The staff were nice but not super helpful. The beds were really old and squeaky and not very comfortable. The continental breakfast is kind of a joke. On the plus side, the internet is free and decent quality, it's clean and decent price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
5.4

If all you are looking for is a bed this place will do - however the location is not that great (over a hours walk to the city centre) and the value for money is probably not worth it. The hostel itself was average but in future I will probably spend a little bit extra to stay somewhere else rather then come back to this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
8.9

Nice staff, clean hostel, great facilities, and okay location. It would take about an hour to walk to the city center, but the hostel is really close to a rail stop and it's cheap. The beds are really comfortable! I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Elliegirl77
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.6

The staff were pretty nice although they could seem to have attitudes sometimes. They would clean regularly but it definitely didn't feel clean. The sheets and beds definitely need an update as they feel used. The wifi is alright, a bit in and out sometimes. Location is okay right next to a train station bus stop and a restaurant or two but it's farther from the city center than a walk most would want to do. If you want more of a quiet place it isn't bad. Just not a social hostel nor my favorite

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.