Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alba Hostel Glasgow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • BraxtonT
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
8.9

Got water broke the night we got in but was fixed in the am. Kitchen was a bit sticky. Rooms were nice individual light on bed was a plus. 10min train into Glasgow but was around everything u needed groceries/beer/etc. Very quiet. Was good place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
6.6

Very far outside the city, but the train runs directly from there to the city center, so is great if you're looking for a quieter place to stay. The hostel has a nice homey feel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
5.4

Doors had signs to keep them locked but doors were unlocked. Downstairs kitchen was filthy. Floors had a sticky feel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.0

Old mattress with pointy springs. Cleaner started hooverig at 7.30-8am? No hot water facility for half a day. Booked a double bed with ensuite bathroom, all we got was a sink. 40£/night for something like this? Maybe not. Especially bad if they place you kn ground floor, stafftalking loudly in kitchen until post midnight. Plus point? Away from city centre in the middle of nowhere. Convenient if yo have car due to parking spaces at the back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • stewartgrace
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.1

Overall, it was pretty nice. The rooms were clean. However, I could feel the springs in my mattress and the kitchen was a mess. But the staff were friendly. Also it's a bit far from the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

This was a great place to stay! We had 5 people in a 6 person room and ended up with the room to ourselves. The bathroom attached to the room was also a nice advantage. Having Anniesland close to the hostel made it easy to get to and from Glasgow. It was not very expensive to travel into the city. I would recommend this hostel for anyone looking to get a little ways outside of the city. Plan about 30 minutes to get to the City Centre just to be safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Jan 2017
2.9

Location was terrible, for the price It was SO expensive for what it was £17 for a bed in a dorm.. With a broken shower.. And the communal areas were not inviting, and uncomfortable chairs, well apart from the sofas which you are not allowed to even drink a glass of water in! Ridiculous Says on the website no curfew, but they lock all the doors and you have to pay a £5 deposit for a key, very misleading. the other people in the hostel were nasty when we put a bottle of wine in the fridge

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guests! Thank you very much for your honest review. Did you report any of these mentioned problems to the reception? We are here for you and we are trying our best to keep everyone satisfied. Please note that on the website you can find all the necessary information about our property (including the location, pictures, prices, amenities etc.). Yes, we are asking for a £5 key deposit, which you get back at the time of check-out. I am sorry to hear that someone took away your bootle of drink from the fridge, but there are the signs everywhere that we are not responsible for any "steal". You should label your foods, and keep it like that in the common fridges. Kind regards, Zoltan Juhasz Assistant Manager Alba Hostel Glasgow

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
9.4

Really good hostel im definitely gonna come back for another stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
7.1

I chose to stay at this place because it's easy access to/from Glasgow Airport, and reasonably priced. For those two criteria, would recommend! Average hostel facilities, not a super social atmosphere, not the best location for exploring the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
6.9

Easy train connections. Was told to pay a rounded figure instead of the actual amount agreed online. Only a couple extra pence but that felt unprofessional. No card machine - would be handy to know beforehand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.