Hostelworld.com

Alba Hostel Glasgow

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.4
Alba Hostel Glasgow Located at 6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow, Glasgow.
Alba Hostel Glasgow
Scotland
Glasgow Lanarkshire G12 0AT 6 Fifth Avuenue, Glasgow
72% 401
55.8880927 -4.3216502
Alba Hostel Glasgow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2016
4.9

Poor staff, not the best location. We got charged extra for using the credit and debit machine, the breakfast cost was two pounds for cereal, bag hold was extra charge too. Paying a bit extra is usually ok with us but the staff was unpleasant about the whole thing. They didn't tell us about the curfew so we had to wake someone up to get let in. I will say that the hostel was very clean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2016
8.3

This is very much a old house converted to a hostel, so things are clean but a rather dingy. The communal kitchen was a bit grimy when I was there, but the room, bath, and TV lounge were all fine. You can reach the city centre easily by bus or rail, but it is >1 hr for walking. All in all, it has all the basics without frills, and if you are just looking for a place to rest your head, this will be fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.1

Bathrooms and the kitchen were clean, but unfortunately the room smelled a lot Not a lot of things around the hostel, but you can always take the 6 or 6A bus, and you'll be in city center in 20min, where you can find everything you need

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2016
9.1

Great hostel, on 35 minutes easy walk from the Glasgow centre. Well looked after with helpful and friendly staff to come forward guest's needs. Another big plus is a large back of the house parking for those coming by car. Many thanks for hosting me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Dec 2015
5.1

The bathrooms were very dirty with hair stuck in all the showers drains and on the floor. The rooms reeked of cigarette smoke which was very unpleasant as it was too cold to leave the windows open to air the room out! Kitchen in basement was clean but in the morning was full of dirty counters and dirty dishes from the night before. Did not look or smell very nice. The owner was there to meet us and was very abrupt and asked for money before anything else....not very polite.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow. I have noted down the cleaning issues you notify and working on it with my housekeeping staff. Actually kitchen mess was made by guests who don't care about others and their plates after use even we put many signs in kitchen to keep tidy. Apology due to this issue you faced. Regards Arshad Mehmood Manager

  • prober33377
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2015
5.4

Beware that you will face an extra charge if you pay by debit card although it does not state this on the booking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Dear Greetings from Alba Hostel Glasgow. Normally everywhere there are card transaction charges apply whether its a small or big business. We have ATM facilities available where everyone can withdraw cash and pay to avoid any card processing fee. Sorry that you feel uncomfertable due to these charges. Regards Arshad Mehmood Manager

28th Nov 2015
5.7

If you miss the last train from city center a taxi is £15 to the hostel. The front desk said it was only 10. They good news is it is only a 2 minute walk to the Anniesland station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow. Just to inform you that there are 24/7 transport links available via bus/train/taxi to and from our hostel. Buses and trains works all the night till morning 3am and same timing with trains. Now a days Uber taxi service running cheap in Glasgow. Sorry to listen that you feel charges for taxi. Regards Arshad Mehmood Manager

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2015
8.0

Grt manager and facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2015
8.0

Very peaceful place, quietness is their leitmotiv. Nice and serious staff. However, if you're looking for a crowded and festive hostel, you're on the wrong track. Close to transports, a few shops, a library, etc. Was a nice break in my colourful journey. Plus, they're planning on reworking the whole decoration.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Nov 2015
5.1

Staff were not very welcoming on arrival and actually appeared quite miserable. We were put in a 6 bedroom standard room upon arrival even though we had booked the 8 bedroom en suite. Upon questioning this, we were asked "oh, did you want the en suite, it's room number x". It just all seemed very detached and unprofessional. Dust round the sink in the room showed it had not been cleaned recently. Only positive was a small parking area around the rear or the property and location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Dear Thank you for your stay at Alba Hostel Glasgow. Actually the price of all dorm rooms are same whether you are in 6/8 bed dorms. There is only one dorm we have with sharing showers/toilet and rest all with en suite facilities. The reception guy tried to give you smaller room (6 bed) rather a big room of 8 beds and still you were not happy :) Anyway I would like to apology if you were given wrong room for your stay and you noticed dirty bash basin. I will personally will look at this matter of cleaning at hostel every day. Thank you if you like our parking area. Regards Arshad Mehmood Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.