Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alba Hostel Glasgow

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jun 2017
9.1

I actually really surprisingly enjoyed this hostel. I knew beforehand that the location is decently far from the city center, but that didn't bother me too much. The rooms are very spacious, the bathrooms are clean and spacious, and so is the kitchen. At the time I was there, I definitely wouldn't say that it had any sort of tradition youth hostel vibe, but I actually liked that. It's so far from the city that you're really only there to relax. Staff was FANTASTIC as well. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
5.4

If you just need a place to sleep for a night and shower, this will do. But it's definitely not among the best hostels we've stayed at. The shower was ice cold. The rooms were constantly hot and stuffy. The kitchen smelled bad the entire time. It's far away from the city center, somewhat close to the west end, and next to a train station so it's not difficult to commute. But if I go back I would try to stay somewhere closer to the city with better atmosphere and facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • BraxtonT
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
8.9

Got water broke the night we got in but was fixed in the am. Kitchen was a bit sticky. Rooms were nice individual light on bed was a plus. 10min train into Glasgow but was around everything u needed groceries/beer/etc. Very quiet. Was good place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
6.6

Very far outside the city, but the train runs directly from there to the city center, so is great if you're looking for a quieter place to stay. The hostel has a nice homey feel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.1

There was 7 of us staying in a room for 8. A tight squeeze but ideal for our purpose. A Weatherspoons next door made choice of food venue easy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Good value for money and would definitely use again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
5.4

Doors had signs to keep them locked but doors were unlocked. Downstairs kitchen was filthy. Floors had a sticky feel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.0

Old mattress with pointy springs. Cleaner started hooverig at 7.30-8am? No hot water facility for half a day. Booked a double bed with ensuite bathroom, all we got was a sink. 40£/night for something like this? Maybe not. Especially bad if they place you kn ground floor, stafftalking loudly in kitchen until post midnight. Plus point? Away from city centre in the middle of nowhere. Convenient if yo have car due to parking spaces at the back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • stewartgrace
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.1

Overall, it was pretty nice. The rooms were clean. However, I could feel the springs in my mattress and the kitchen was a mess. But the staff were friendly. Also it's a bit far from the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
7.4

Good place to stay, but kind of far away from everything, especially the clubs and bars. The metro closes during the good times too, so you'll likely either have to party late or take a taxi back. If I can suggest, I would try to get a hostel closer to the city. However, the university is relatively close, about 15-20 minute walk and that's pretty cool to see. The hostel itself has a good kitchen area to make your own food and the bathrooms are clean and nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

This was a great place to stay! We had 5 people in a 6 person room and ended up with the room to ourselves. The bathroom attached to the room was also a nice advantage. Having Anniesland close to the hostel made it easy to get to and from Glasgow. It was not very expensive to travel into the city. I would recommend this hostel for anyone looking to get a little ways outside of the city. Plan about 30 minutes to get to the City Centre just to be safe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.