Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Albareda Youthhostel Reviews

C/ Albareda 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1819 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The best hostel I have ever stayed at. Arrived alone at 5, was drinking with about 10 other guests by 5:30, by 9 a group of 15 of us went out clubbing. No one knew each other the day before. Next night 25 of us spent the whole night chilling by the Eiffel Tower. Cannot speak highly enough.


Best hostel I've ever seen!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Hostel was clean, friendly and in a very convenient location to the main tourist hot spots as well as to a Metro station within walking distance. There was some difficulty with the older man who manned the reception in the afternoons and confusion with the keys as I was given wrong keys the first time, and then my dorm mates were given locker keys to someone else's locker!! Also he was difficult to understand and could not provide much help on where to go/what to do etc


Organisation at this hostel is awful, the first night we were put in an 11 bed dorm, instead of the 6 bed that we had booked/paid for. When showed to our room, we were given a key to someone else's locker! We were then woken in the night to a staff member opening our locker, which didn't make us feel like our things were safe. When we moved rooms, we were given someone else's locker key AGAIN!! The staff didn't know what was going on, people swapping beds constantly. Really bad service.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,sorry foe change you room. please see other comments during 8 years- if something unusual happened for lockers as the people didn,t sleep on his bed and the staff had to check.you did the same and did,t sleep in your bed again and we know the people with their key number . so it was nice be honest and remember all other free food , drinks , pub crowls ,free walk tour and daily cleaning and a lot of fun that you had with us . hope this is a big leccion to be back packer not an inspector


Albareda is located a short walk from Parallel metro station and is a 5-10 mins walk to the Ramblas from where you can tour the old town, visit the beach and what have you. Reasonable facilities, very social and integrative culture (if that's what you're looking for). I had arrangements on both nights but they have nightly pub crawls so you'll never walk alone. Good exp overall


Great hostel close to some great tapas restaurants. Beds were comfy and bathrooms were clean, wifi was also good. Staff were excellent and the hostel had a great atmosphere.


- Great staff, special shoutouts to Raphaela for being great hosts

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Owners kind, social area nice. However, hostel was small & crowded, did not feel comfortable walking alone at night, and room doors were always left unlocked. One hostel employee was particularly upsetting - did not give us lockers (which were included in price) and even came up to our room & yelled at us extensively after we were reassigned (several times!) to different beds by various hostel staff, accusing us of trying to "cheat". Very bad taste in mouth, one of my worst hostel experiences.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for kind owner ,but if you don,t sleep in your bed in a 10 beds room always the orden will be desorden and the staff only once asked you sleep in your bed and diferent times asked you arrange your beloongs that you had absolutely around the room and the cleanning imposible. several persons were unhappy with you 3 only for this reason . one of the most important point in a back packer is being respectful and arranged .so any staf has to ask you be clean and arranged .


Really great place if you want to meet people, but less good of a place if you want 1. Wifi (you have to like them on Facebook to get access through a third party server), or 2. A nice bed or shower. Staff was super friendly though!

1 2 Next » last »
(29 results)

View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback