X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Albareda Youthhostel Reviews

C/ Albareda 12, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1812 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Albareda is located a short walk from Parallel metro station and is a 5-10 mins walk to the Ramblas from where you can tour the old town, visit the beach and what have you. Reasonable facilities, very social and integrative culture (if that's what you're looking for). I had arrangements on both nights but they have nightly pub crawls so you'll never walk alone. Good exp overall


89%

Great hostel close to some great tapas restaurants. Beds were comfy and bathrooms were clean, wifi was also good. Staff were excellent and the hostel had a great atmosphere.


91%

- Great staff, special shoutouts to Raphaela for being great hosts

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Owners kind, social area nice. However, hostel was small & crowded, did not feel comfortable walking alone at night, and room doors were always left unlocked. One hostel employee was particularly upsetting - did not give us lockers (which were included in price) and even came up to our room & yelled at us extensively after we were reassigned (several times!) to different beds by various hostel staff, accusing us of trying to "cheat". Very bad taste in mouth, one of my worst hostel experiences.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for kind owner ,but if you don,t sleep in your bed in a 10 beds room always the orden will be desorden and the staff only once asked you sleep in your bed and diferent times asked you arrange your beloongs that you had absolutely around the room and the cleanning imposible. several persons were unhappy with you 3 only for this reason . one of the most important point in a back packer is being respectful and arranged .so any staf has to ask you be clean and arranged .

80%

Really great place if you want to meet people, but less good of a place if you want 1. Wifi (you have to like them on Facebook to get access through a third party server), or 2. A nice bed or shower. Staff was super friendly though!


94%

Great place to be, atmosphere was wonderful and the staff were lovely :)

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The bathrooms are clean, rooms are a good size, there are outlets and the locker is big enough for your bag. The kitchen only has a hot plate but we still used it to cook. The girl at the front desk (Croatian, curly hair and name starts with and R) is AMAZING! The actual owner though is crazy. She was rubbish the place our last day and it was strange. She throws peoples food out, gets mad if you use the outlet on the main floor and "closed" the kitchen at 11:00 one morning. Overall good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Dear girls , If don,tclean the fridge with the foods leave after check out or smelly food you never wanted to use it . we never close the kitchen at 11,00 sometimes we have to move you for cleanning better the hostel . Thanks for staing with us and remember all staff are excelent .nobody is better than the others . this is a team work .everybosy has diferent responsibility onhis turn and it makes diference between staff.

66%

Terrible value! This place is worth 15, maybe 20 pp so if your being charged more just look elsewhere because you'll be dissapointed. annoying push every 20 second showers, cheap foam mattress bunk beds and one power socket per dorm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, You came ill to l with infeccion and fever , we gave you a smaller private rom ,I made you rice and offered you medicin and doctor service . especially in your room 6 beds there are 8 sokets , the matreses are comphy as the other coments clearly speak about .Hope in futhre you will be more honest , You was informed about the prices in the San juan Event.Any hostel accept the cancelacion and changing the dte and we did it for you .Why everything was so dark and for the others good?

100%

cant somplain :-)


94%

Loved Albareda!! It was in a good location of town as far as being not too close to the center of town, just a few blocks from one of the main Metro stations. Easy access to the rest of the city. The staff was very friendly with great activities! I joined in on the Sangria

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Extremely happy with my time at Albareda. Really got close with people and the staff was awesome--particularly Rafaela. I have recommended this place to friends and would stay again!


89%

Lovely place to stay, room and bathroom were very clean, staff were very friendly, organised nights nearly every night where we could meet others in the hostel, There were multiple power sockets in the room which made it handy to charge phone/camera and dry our hair. Good powerful showers. Only a short walk away from la rambla, took only 5 minutes, and Lidl and small supermarket around the corner. We arrived at 11pm and were greeted by a helpful man playing guitar. great place to stay! gracias

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good central location, staff were friendly and helpful


100%

Second stay, again awesome!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved this hostel! I was travelling alone so I was a bit nervous at the start but that soon changed since all the staff were so welcoming and I really felt at home :) Would definitely stay here again!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(35 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback