Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albatross Backpacker Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 449 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 449 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Easily the best hostel I stayed at in NZ. Lovely staff, fantastic family atmosphere. The facilities are great and the interior of the hostel is beautiful. I wish I could have stayed longer to make use of the free bikes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
10.0

I loved this hostel! I think it was my favourite that I stayed in during my travels round NZ. The staff are lovely and the general atmosphere is so nice. With a cat, paints and canvases, a fire, books, games and a box of things to bake with, this is the perfect place to stay. Also, Kaikoura itself is beautiful! 10/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2017
10.0

Lovely hostel in a great location. The staff were so helpful and it had a really friendly feel to the place, with games and group dinner. Lots to do in the hostel itself, would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Friendly and helpful staff, warm rooms in the winter. Codes on all doors, clean kitchen and bathrooms. Only having one bathroom in the separate dorms could be an issue if the place were full, would mean having to go outside to the main building to use the facilities. Heads up you have to pay $5 for Internet. Nice communal area with a wood fireplace but atmosphere was a bit quiet. 5-10 minute walk to main strip in town. Overall good place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.1

This was one of the friendliest hostels I've stayed at in my 6 months travelling. We all had a family meal together with home made risotto and cookies.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.7

Cold. It was freezing no heating only a small electric heater in he room after we arrived which we left on to try to keep the room warm. Our Nutella which was in the kitchen went solid it was that cold. No microwave which is strange for a hostel. The beds were ok mine had a few annoying springs but my friends was fine. The place was clean it was just so cold.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
8.6

Cosy hostel in a great location. Comfy beds and place kept extremely clean, with occasional social events planned and goo kitchen space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2017
9.4

Really nice place with lots of character which is obviously a labour of love. Beds and pillows were very comfy with good bathroom facilities. Living area and kitchen are very homely with comfy seating areas, board games and lots of interesting things everywhere you look. It is very quiet and chilled out, but for one night was nice. There was only one thing I would have liked to see added which was a microwave, but would happily stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.4

Excellent hostel! Free baked goodies, sociable 'nachos night' with payment by donation, and the managers Ben and Katie were so friendly. Really cool hostel, just what you want from an independent hostel. Comfy beds too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Apr 2017
10.0

Just the nicest hostel ever :) Stay here, it's amazing! Great atmosphere, so relaxed that you feel at home (well better really, you're in your holiday home) straight away. Ben and the team are lovely and super helpful. Love it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.