Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albatross Backpacker Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel in beautiful Kaikoura. Awesome atmosphere, you really feel at home, with a good kitchen and hot spacious showers. Loved the comfy communal area and a place to sit outside as well. Free pancakes at the weekend and Ben the owner even sorted a BBQ whilst I was there. Great place, definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
10.0

was my first time in a backpackers .. was brilliant made some friends .cooked them dinner and ben was very helpful. put me onto a fishing trip.and done us a bbq was brilliant be. back again cheers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice place, staff were friendly and helpful. Female dorm was amazing ... Like having a whole flat to yourself! Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

One nights stay at the albatross and really pleased we chose to spend the night here. We had a double room, Ben the manager kindly upgraded us for free as he had space. He also advised us on taking the plane to see the wales- it was well worth the expense. The hostel was clean with a really nice communal feel. Free pancakes on a Sunday morning were welcomed. A variety of different guests here made me (29) and my boyfriend (38) feel not too old!! Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at Albatross Backpacker the atmosphere was friendly and Ben was available to give advice about trips and restaurants. I really liked the fact that you went straight into the living area and kitchen and didn't have to find it like in other hostels I feel yhis made for a really good atmosphere. The hostel is really close to the Dusky dolphin centre which is great and you can walk to restaurants and shops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
10.0

I Had such a great time. Ben the owner is so helpful and just gives you the feeling he really cares about you. One of the best hostels ive been to

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.1

Albatross Backpacker Inn had a homely vibe. The innkeepers were friendly, helpful and approachable. They have weekly barbecues and other events. The property was located 10 minutes walk from the town center and was beautiful and clean. But the showers and toilets were not in the same building block as my dorm. So going to washroom on a rainy day would have been a task. Also, there was no free wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.1

When you're in Kaikoura this is where to stay! Albatross is bloody awesome Ben who manages the place is so chill and great Sunday there was free pancakes. I met some great people there everyone so friendly and open. It's just round the corner from Dolphin Encounter if you're in Kaikoura you have to do this experience. I love the hostel really is eco-friendly and does well on recycle. Wish wifi was free

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • robynschneidergale2900
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.4

An awesome place to stay in Kaikoura! I recommend staying here if you want somewhere nice and close to the high street with a nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.7

The nicest place ever! Such a good atmosphere whether your a group or on your own. Ben is amazing and so accommodating. The facilities are amazing, and so clean. Kitchen is fab, and there is a veg and herb garden. If you're in a dorm the showers are in a separate building, but once you get there you won't care because they are the most clean hot and powerful darn showers I have ever seen in a hostel. I seriously didn't want to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.