Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albatross Backpacker Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 430 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2017
9.4

Really nice place with lots of character which is obviously a labour of love. Beds and pillows were very comfy with good bathroom facilities. Living area and kitchen are very homely with comfy seating areas, board games and lots of interesting things everywhere you look. It is very quiet and chilled out, but for one night was nice. There was only one thing I would have liked to see added which was a microwave, but would happily stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.4

Excellent hostel! Free baked goodies, sociable 'nachos night' with payment by donation, and the managers Ben and Katie were so friendly. Really cool hostel, just what you want from an independent hostel. Comfy beds too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
10.0

Just the nicest hostel ever :) Stay here, it's amazing! Great atmosphere, so relaxed that you feel at home (well better really, you're in your holiday home) straight away. Ben and the team are lovely and super helpful. Love it here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
9.7

Ben was incredibly welcoming and made my late arrival and early dolphin swim a breeze to manage. Go enjoy this place and enjoy the late checkout and pancakes on Sundays!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.1

Stayed in a private room for one night. Proper chilled and sound owner, cool hostel. We were able to check in early and check out was at midday( think they do this at weekends. Free pancakes is always a plus. However the best wasn't the comfiest and the kitchen lacked a microwave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel is exactly what is advertised and just how hostels should be. It's cosy, with nice staff, clean rooms/showers and cracking coffe. On top of that there's hot chocolate. What more can you want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Wonderful relaxing place! Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel in beautiful Kaikoura. Awesome atmosphere, you really feel at home, with a good kitchen and hot spacious showers. Loved the comfy communal area and a place to sit outside as well. Free pancakes at the weekend and Ben the owner even sorted a BBQ whilst I was there. Great place, definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
10.0

was my first time in a backpackers .. was brilliant made some friends .cooked them dinner and ben was very helpful. put me onto a fishing trip.and done us a bbq was brilliant be. back again cheers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice place, staff were friendly and helpful. Female dorm was amazing ... Like having a whole flat to yourself! Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.