Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albatross Backpacker Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 369 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.2
Albatross Backpacker Inn Located at 1 Torquay St, , Kaikoura.
Albatross Backpacker Inn
New Zealand
Kaikoura 1 Torquay St
95% 369
-42.4074247 173.6825180
Albatross Backpacker Inn
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.7

The nicest place ever! Such a good atmosphere whether your a group or on your own. Ben is amazing and so accommodating. The facilities are amazing, and so clean. Kitchen is fab, and there is a veg and herb garden. If you're in a dorm the showers are in a separate building, but once you get there you won't care because they are the most clean hot and powerful darn showers I have ever seen in a hostel. I seriously didn't want to leave.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

Fabulous hostel with a really lovely atmosphere. Very friendly and genuine host, nothing was too much trouble. Lots of colourful paintings and guitars hanging on the walls, great music playlist! Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Nov 2016
9.7

The Albatross is incredible. Unfortunately the earthquake hit on the first night of my stay, but I had already been sold on the friendlyvibe and tons of character. When the earthquake hit the staff were incredible and I felt looked after. It was so impressive how everyone pulled together and stayed positive despite the difficult circumstances. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Albatross has the coolest, most authentic atmosphere of any hostel I've stayed in. Highly recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
9.4

This place is awsome. Right next to kaikoura kayaks. The staff are really friendly and it give the hostil a very laid bsck atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Oct 2016
10.0

Absolutely wonderful! Very friendly will come again one day :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2016
8.6

We found the hostel to be really welcoming & homely. One of the staff members made free soup with fresh bread for everyone. The hostel staff were absolutely lovely and created a great atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Oct 2016
9.4

Nice hostel, friendly staff. Close to the town, I liked the curtains over the bunk beds for privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
8.9

Wonderful to have a good sleep in on Sunday ,then waking up to yummy pancakes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Had an awesome time although a short stay. Handy to everything we required.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.