Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albatross Backpacker Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
Albatross Backpacker Inn Located at 1 Torquay St, , Kaikoura.
Albatross Backpacker Inn
New Zealand
Kaikoura 1 Torquay St
92% 346
-42.4074247 173.6825180
Albatross Backpacker Inn
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
10.0

Had an awesome time although a short stay. Handy to everything we required.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
10.0

This place is so special. I've been traveling and living in hostels for over a year, and this may be the most favorite of all the places, anywhere. Ben and Katie are fantastic, their place is so cozy, personal, and whimsical. It's ideally located, they're helpful with everything, and I would return in a hot second!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
10.0

this hostel feels like a home!!!! love love love it. stay here, they deserve your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jul 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in! Staff are so lovely and helpful, everything is super clean and the place has wonderful atmosphere!! Highly recommend, can't wait to go back (-:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
9.7

Charming and cozy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel. Staff could not be friendlier! Easy walking distance to everything you could want. Good hot showers, and nice log fire. Only point to mark it down was the heater in our room didn't work so it was cold at night. But lots of blankets available to stay warm in bed. Would definitely stay here again!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place to stay! Awesome atmosphere. Lovely people and free extras like hairdryers, towels etc. All the little things that make a hostel SO much better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

We initially booked 3 nights at the Albatross and extended another 2 nights.. It is probably one of the cleanest hostels we have stayed in during out 6 weeks in New Zealand. Bed linen was very clean and fresh, pillows are in good condition rather than old and flat. Kitchen and chill area are very big and spacious with lots of charm and character, with plenty of musical instruments, games, books, and other activities to keep you amused. Would definitely recommend the Albatross!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
10.0

Albatross is amazing! Ben and Katie Re the most wonderful and generous hosts and we wished we didn't have to leave- 2 nights isn't enough! Communal areas are great with loads of freebies, my favourite was pancake brekkie on lazy Sundays although we had to go out so we missed it but i had some pncakes as an afternoon snack instead. The hostel is super clean and full of character. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th May 2016
9.1

Lovely one night stay at Albatross, would have stayed for longer if we had the time. Fab atmosphere - lots of games/musical instruments. Free soup on the night I was there which was really tasty. Good advice from friendly staff. Room was clean and warm with lots of blankets and a heater. Plenty of hot water. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.