Hostelworld.com

Albatross Backpacker Inn

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 338 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
Albatross Backpacker Inn Located at 1 Torquay St, , Kaikoura.
Albatross Backpacker Inn
New Zealand
Kaikoura 1 Torquay St
91% 338
-42.4074247 173.6825180
Albatross Backpacker Inn
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place to stay! Awesome atmosphere. Lovely people and free extras like hairdryers, towels etc. All the little things that make a hostel SO much better

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th May 2016
10.0

We initially booked 3 nights at the Albatross and extended another 2 nights.. It is probably one of the cleanest hostels we have stayed in during out 6 weeks in New Zealand. Bed linen was very clean and fresh, pillows are in good condition rather than old and flat. Kitchen and chill area are very big and spacious with lots of charm and character, with plenty of musical instruments, games, books, and other activities to keep you amused. Would definitely recommend the Albatross!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
10.0

Albatross is amazing! Ben and Katie Re the most wonderful and generous hosts and we wished we didn't have to leave- 2 nights isn't enough! Communal areas are great with loads of freebies, my favourite was pancake brekkie on lazy Sundays although we had to go out so we missed it but i had some pncakes as an afternoon snack instead. The hostel is super clean and full of character. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2016
9.1

Lovely one night stay at Albatross, would have stayed for longer if we had the time. Fab atmosphere - lots of games/musical instruments. Free soup on the night I was there which was really tasty. Good advice from friendly staff. Room was clean and warm with lots of blankets and a heater. Plenty of hot water. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
8.9

Good location to city. Owners were very honest and helpful. Large kitchen, lots of showers. Common room was great to connect w other travellers, lots of laughs. Has good Eco standards and practices, which is fantastic.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Had a fantastic nights stay at albatross, staff were so helpful and friendly, room was comfortable with nice pillows, lots of kitchen space, great atmosphere with a really homey feel and the home cooked dinner was absolutely delicious and such a bargain! Would definitely return

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
9.1

It is a good value for its accommodations and the staff is friendly. It feels homey, in part because of the staff and perhaps because some people end up staying for weeks on end, which develops a sense of community. I would have stayed longer if I'd had more time. It's also in a pretty good location close to the town center and major attractions but you can still walk to the point of the peninsula if you have a few hours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Mar 2016
9.1

Lovely hostel with great people! The kitchen is well equipped and the common room area is so homely! The rooms are a little small and stuffy but you're hardly in them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
9.4

Fun place with great staff. Free tea coffee and Sunday pancake breakfast. Older facility needing paint touch ups. Clean but not super clean cause older. Staff make up for that piece

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Mar 2016
8.9

Chilled out hostel near the dolphin encounter office in Kaikoura. Lovely kitchen and dining area. Rooms a little cramped and stuffy but the deck and hammock were a nice feature. 2 minutes walk from the beach and 5-10 minutes walk into the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.