Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,895 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
86% 1895
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.1

Perfect location, clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend and will be back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

Great hostel, and really helpful staff (we had some musical equipment and instead of lugging it up to our room, they offered to store it downstairs for us). Beds not very comfy, but that's ok at this price. Great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.0

My friends and I were accused of puking all over the stairs and were told we were going to be kicked out! Once we had gotten in we were waiting on the stairs for our friend who went to the toilet and found the puke! The staff members were really rude and not cooperative with us to figure out who had actually done it! Once they finally re watched the security cameras and discovered it wasn't us we got a warning and not an apology!! The location is great but the staff are unfriendly&rude&nothelpfu

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving your review and bringing this issue to our attention. On behalf of the staff members you mentioned, I would like to sincerely apologise for any offense caused and for poor behaviour on our part. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for booking at The Albatross, and hope that despite any issues during your recent visit, you would consider booking again to stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Perfect city centre location across from tesco and Yates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
10.0

Very pleasant staff, amazing location and good value for money. Staff willing to help out with any problems and are very friendly. I recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Newcastle

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2016
9.7

All really awesome!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
10.0

Best location, friendly staff and super clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
8.9

Could have done without drunken girls. Otherwise v good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
7.4

Nice and clean, rooms were spacious and decent bunk beds. Perfect location! Friendly staff. BUT none of our key cards worked for the room (all 6 of us). That could get pretty annoying if you don't know anyone else in the room and are staying longer than one night. Considering we paid a £25 cash deposit - you would think that would cover working keys to our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
9.7

The Location is fab the staff were really nice and friendly, it is great value for money and I would recommend and stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.