Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2076 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2076 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Overall good hostel - great location and easily accessible. Did feel there could be more done to improve the atmosphere of the hostel (such as offering a bar crawl or upgrading the common areas), but it was clean and the staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Superb hostel. Really good location, just 3 minute walk from central station. Facilities were amazing and super clean. Nice big kitchen, bathroom was really spacious and with good showers. Lounge is a nice place to stay. Staff was really helpful. Overall a really nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review - we really appreciate it! We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.1

very accessible place, staff are accommodating but needs locker in every room for the guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are still undergoing a refurbishment of the building and lockers will be available in the near future to all guests in the rooms. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location. Not the friendliest welcome paying £20 behaviour deposits. Also no beers or water on sale. And worst thing was only about 4 toilets in the whole place, and nearest one was 3 flights of stairs away. But as I said great location so you can forgive some of the sins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Just right. Perfect city centre Hostel. Clean and friendly. They leave out bread for the toaster and tea and coffee so there's no specific time for breakfast and you can help yourself, it's just a nice touch. Probably gets very busy for weekends in the summer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again! The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.1

The only fault of the place is really due to its layout....like a big passage tomb, long and narrow, rather sombre old old buliding. It makes rooms, reception and rec room/kitchen all very far apart from each other and made it feel less cosy and integrated. That can't be helped. However ....location - couldn't ask for better, staff business like and very friendly and also very clean hostel. One other fault.....rooms very sparse, not even a chair or table or anywhere to put things down

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are situated in an old building which gives us fantastic character, however the layout does mean we are less integrated though we try our best to ensure this is not an issue. I will pass on your comments regarding the rooms to the Manager and we will look into this. Hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.4

I stayed at albatross midweek in January and it was very quiet; only 3 people staying in my 12-persom dorm and the hostel-goers didn't really communicate, even in the communal areas. This may be different at weekends and other months of the year. Toast and tea was available all day in the communal area which was a nice touch. My room was spacious, clean and had heating so no complaints there. I would have liked if we had access to bedside lockers for extra security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for leaving a review. This time of year is usually quiet in Newcastle but we hope you are able to visit again during our busy period! We are currently refurbishing the hostel and part of this includes implementing lockers within the rooms. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jan 2017
7.7

Lady on the door was a bit rude. Breakfast is not included, bread, coffee and tea is available free 24/7. I was the only one in my room for 6, which was pretty good, prices are expensive for a hostel, especially considering it's very quiet at the moment. Kitchen and bathroom facilities were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you encountered some issues during your stay. We hope we will see you again in the future. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
7.4

Overall the place was fine. Quiet this time of the year so atmosphere wasn't great but on the plus side I wound up having a room to myself. Also there was a bit of a bad smell around the main hallway and reception area which needs addressing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are currently addressing the issue regarding the main hallway and reception area and hope to have this dealt with soon. We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
7.4

+location +spacious room -no lockers (whilst the other hostels I be stayed provided lockers in the room) -breakfast options (very less breakfast options)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment and aim to be providing lockers in all rooms soon. We provide the guests with tea, coffee, bread, milk, sugar and butter for snacks and for breakfast. Any other suggestions are appreciated so please feel free to contact us! We hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.