Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,036 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
86% 2036
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Everything that Albatross has provided is brilliant! Food and drinks are free of charge and available 24/7, room are spacious so that suitcases can be easily placed. Nice staff is always willing to offer help (I checked in really late at night but is still warmly welcomed). Definitely will be back next time when re-visiting the Newcastle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for your review we are glad you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back when you come back to Newcastle. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
6.6

Location was great, couple of mins walk from the train station and city centre. We booked a 4 bed private dorm and when we arrived, there was dirty underwear on the floor and rubbish under the beds so the room had obviously not been cleaned properly. We mentioned this to the receptionist who complained about "the spanish" not doing their jobs properly, which was entirely inappropriate - surely "the cleaners" would have sufficed, if it was so necessary to slag off the staff in front of customers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning we are sorry you found issues with your stay and we will pass your comments on to management so they can speak to the reception staff on duty at the time and the cleaners about your room we thank you for bringing this to attention. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
8.6

The staff were nice and helpful, and I felt very safe with all of the security. My issues were how cold the room was because the heater shut itself off every hour, so unless I was constantly in the room, it got really really cold. My only other issue is the construction going on outside the windows. I know it isn't the hostel's fault, but it was still really annoying and with the thinness of the walls and windows, I felt like I was outside in the construction zone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We have noticed an issue with the heating as they are individually operated so are not able to be set to constant. We are looking into this to see how we can best fix this problem. The construction out the back of us has been fairly intrusive and we can only apologise for the annoyance this has caused. We are in an old building so this accounts for the thin walls, usually this is not a problem however during times of heavy construction work it can cause an issue. Hopefully the construction outside won't be an issue for very long so if you do visit again you can have a much more comfortable stay. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.0

No heating in our dorm?! It was so cold I woke up shivering every hour or so. I could see my breath! No lockers? I've never been to a hostel with no lockers. I wouldn't have expected a hostel that comes with this kind of cost compared to others I've used to have been such a bad experience. The staff were lovely though. I just wanted a place to sleep but because of the cold I couldn't even do that.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are sorry to see you experienced issues during your stay. The heaters in the dorms are individual units so must be switched on by the guests within the dorm as they are not centrally operated. We are currently going through refurbishment so lockers are not yet available within all rooms. We do have luggage storage at Reception for the guests to use free of charge. Regards The Albatross Team

3rd Nov 2016
7.1

no lockers, men's bathrooms on different floor, otherwise pretty nice hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are in the process of a refurbishment with lockers being made available in each room in the near future. There are toilets located on each floor of the Hostel apart from the 3rd, we will look at the placement of the signs indicating this. We hope to see you again. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
7.4

Rooms very basic but clean. Would be better if rooms had mirrors, had to ask reception for some mirrors for the room to get ready, otherwise would have had to go across the hallway and do hair and make up in the toilets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
8.0

Great location and cheap. Shame about the other residents - I know it was a weekend night in a big city, but VERY noisy despite being in a private room and when 2 of the 3 toilet cubicles for women nearest to us (quite a walk anyhow) were full of people being sick it is quite unpleasant. The hostel did a good job of tidying up after such behavior but has little control over those booked in. We were impressed by the "double" security to get in after 8pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are sorry to see you encountered some issues here with other guests, we are working hard to put better procedures in to place to deal with any incidents that may occur. We hope to see you again! Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
10.0

I really like it😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review - we are really pleased you liked it here and enjoyed your stay! Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
24th Oct 2016
7.1

Location is great! A little expensive I think, especially seeing as there is no lockers available in rooms. Nice staff and great kitchen!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for leaving us a review we are in the process of making changes here at the albatross we take are guests reviews serious we are currently looking in to storage for the rooms we hope to see you in the near future. regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
8.0

Great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving a review! We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.