Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2092 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2092 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Everything was good and I would probably stay there again. The only downside in my room was that all of the plug sockets were situated next to one person's bed, behind their headboard; this is fine if you all know each other but in this case I didn't want to impose on the other person's space so I had to charge my phone elsewhere everyday. Perhaps bring a portable charger with you. People are using this hostel for nights out in Newcastle on the weekend so be prepared for noisy evenings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
6.0

My major problem with this hostel was the lack of a locker in the bed room, I'm sure it said somewhere there wasn't but really? A locker in a hostel, it's not hard. The room was very basic for what I was paying (nearly £30) for one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We do have luggage storage available at Reception whilst we are undergoing the refurbishment of our rooms, which will include the provision of lockers. Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
9.1

Centric location, helpful staff and clean facilities. Stayed one night in an all-female dorm and room was ok. Room did get a bit cold, even with heaters on, and I could feel some of the springs in the matress, but I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. I have passed on your comments regarding the heaters and mattress. We hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
9.4

Wonderful hostel. Brilliantly situated in Grainger Town right near the central train station, 10-15 mins walk from the coach station, castle and Quayside. Staff are friendly and helpful, everything was clean and tidy, beds were comfy and clean. Kitchen facilities with free tea and toast (lifesaver!) and large lounge area with wifi, plenty of sockets to charge your devices, telly and comfy chairs. Only downside - no lockers in my room though I never had any concerns about theft.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

The hostel had everything we needed for a night away :) Check in was easy, staff were really friendly, we were happy with our room, toilets were clean and accessible. I love that you get bread for toast and things to make tea/coffee - it made a massive difference in the morning. Thanks :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write a review for us we are glad you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Mar 2017
4.9

This hostel was located a bus/train ride away which wasn't too much of a problem for us, however the hostel itself was quite dirty. SO much so, everything in the kitchen felt like it had a layer of grease on it. The hostel had a horrible smell and was generally quite dark and no vibe to meet other young travelers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Feb 2017
9.4

Excellent location, helpful and nice staff, and useful kitchen facilities. The only problem is the lack of sinks and mirrors in bedrooms and having to walk along corridors for toilets.. Oh and I would definitely paint the walls white..the decor is awful. But you can't beat it for the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad your overall stay was good and we hope to see you in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.3

Overall good hostel - great location and easily accessible. Did feel there could be more done to improve the atmosphere of the hostel (such as offering a bar crawl or upgrading the common areas), but it was clean and the staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to writing us a review we are glad you overall stay was good and we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Superb hostel. Really good location, just 3 minute walk from central station. Facilities were amazing and super clean. Nice big kitchen, bathroom was really spacious and with good showers. Lounge is a nice place to stay. Staff was really helpful. Overall a really nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review - we really appreciate it! We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
9.1

very accessible place, staff are accommodating but needs locker in every room for the guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are still undergoing a refurbishment of the building and lockers will be available in the near future to all guests in the rooms. The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.