Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,947 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,947 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
87% 1947
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • tiiamarilaine2174
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Bery very good hostel! :) beds were comfy, staff was helpful, atmosphere was nice and it was clean everywhere. Would stay again anytime! Only one minus was that when showering you cant chance temperature and water was super hot :/ We only booked one night at first but ended up staying two nights. Stuff was very helpful to book us one more extra night. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.6

Great location only 5 min walk from main station and 15 min walk from river and famous bridges. Wasn't given a very friendly greeting but the staff overall turned out to be fine. Bedroom and beds were very basic (no lockers). Overall facilities were fine. Good atmosphere and character overall - murals of famous geordies painted on the walls. Be aware that it's a bit of a party hostel, I was there on a Saturday night and it was very noisey with stag and hen groups staying there. Wifi didn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear yuo didn't feel you received a friendly greeting, I have passed your comments on to the Team so hopefully we can improve our service. We are currently getting storage fitted in to the rooms which should be completed in the near future. We are busier on the weekends with a wide range of guests. As we are a fairly large Hostel in the City Centre it can get a bit noisy at times. Hopefully this did not affect your stay too much. The wifi is currently being upgraded to cover the whole house so there has been a few issues with this during this time. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Solo traveller staying in a female dorm: Very clean, comfortable bunk. Clean sheets and a very reasonable mattress. Showers were clean and warm. Toilets clean and staff very friendly. Wasn't noisy or disruptive. No secure storage but I didn't personally find that an issue. Would be my first choice in Newcastle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for reviewing us, we really appreciate the feedback. Should you be returning to Newcastle and wish to book again, please contact our Reception Team who will be happy to assist. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Very good. Nice common areas, very good location and clean bathrooms. Security Lockers in room would be a great add. Otherwise, I do recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are currently in the process of adding secure storage in to the rooms. This should be completed in the near future. We hope to see you again! Jaimie and The Albatross Team

16th Jun 2016
8.3

Great location in the city centre, walking distance from the train and coach station, St. James Park stadium and the Megabus coach stop. A small Tesco is right in front of it and a shopping centre just a few minutes away. Comfortable beds even if a bit too squeaky, clean toilets and showers, friendly staff. Free tea and coffee through the day. The free wifi didn't really work so I couldn't use it. I was told it worked only in the common room but it stopped working after 30 seconds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I have passed on your comments regarding the beds to our Management who will look into this. During our refurbishment, the wifi has been affected, we hope this did not cause too much inconvenience. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.1

Albatross has an amazing location. Close to all the bars and restaurants downtown while being less than a 5 min walk from the train station. The staff were super nice and tried to be as helpful as possible. They were honest about being in the midst of a renovation. The wifi was the only thing that was a damper. It only worked in the common areas and even then was poor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. Our location is ideal for many travellers, with being in the city centre, we are only a few minutes walk away from most areas. Our staff will be pleased to hear that you found them to be nice and as helpful as possible. The refurbishment has caused a few minor issues but thankfully it has improved our Hostel so going forward this has been a positive step! The wifi has had several issues, as we are getting this extended throughout the house. We are sorry if this caused any inconvenience to you during your stay. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent staff. Clean hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review. We appreciate you rating us so highly! Should you be looking to stay again, please contact us and we will be happy to help. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.7

Brilliant location, really happy with our stay would definitely use it again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would come back again. Should you wish to re-book, please contact our Reception team who will be happy to assist, Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • lativeld6124
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Its my third ir fourth time there. Love the new decor. Garden area may need to be brought to standards as it lacked flowers. Showers needs hooks for towels or clothes. Otherwise, always ti stay in this central location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review! We are pleased you love the new decor here. We are going through a whole refurb at the moment; we have had to leave the outside area for now due to building works happening close by, as soon as this is completed we will be looking to do the garden out, adding some furniture, flowers and plants etc. Thanks for your comments, all of which will be passed on to our Management team. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Excellent modern hostel Great central location in Newcastle Friendly staff Plentiful bathroom facilities Clean property throughout Nice kitchen available to use

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.