Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
86% 1991
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
10.0

Exceptionally clean. Excellent security. Comfy beds, duvet and pillow with hotel quality sheets. Great kitchen facilities, with complementary tea/coffee, milk & bread. Brilliant location on the main route from station to town. You can see the station from the front door. I would highly recommend the albatross & I will be staying on a regular basis from now on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning, emma thank you for the excelent review we are glad you had a great stay with us and we look foward to seeing you next time. with kind regards carl and the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.0

Decent place. Would go back. Was treated a bit poorly because we were a group of lads and they automatic thought we'd cause trouble but all in all a great stay. Exactly what we needed. 8/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

This really is a fabulous hostel! This was the 7th time we have stayed here for the Great North Run weekend. I really cannot fault any aspect of our stay. The rooms are warm dry and comfortable, the kitchen facilities are all you need, the showers are perfect and the staff are the most helpful group of people you could ever meet. Allowed us to leave our luggage till after the event, have a shower when we came back, then let us hang about till our train was due. First class hostel and staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon, Simon thank you for your great review we are glad you had a great stay on the great north run weekend we always try and give our guests the best we have to offer and here is to many more to come in the future just to let you know we are now taking bookings for next year. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
8.6

Apart from the very noisy guests on Saturday night can't really complain about our stay. For budget city centre accommodation it was fine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again! Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.1

Great place to stay in a perfect, prime location close to all shops, transport links and entertainment facilities. Will definitely be staying there in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for leaving a review. We are happy that you were pleased with your stay here at The Albatross. Should you be looking to book again, please contact our Reception Team who will only be to happy to assist you. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.9

Staff is extremely nice, everything was clean, great atmosphere and amazing people!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving a review - I will pass on your comments to the team who will be happy to hear you were pleased with your stay. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • bjenks93
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
7.7

Perfect location for the Diamond Strip!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for leaving your review and we hope to see you in the near future. regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
9.7

Brilliant place in a great location. The staff are great and it's a really safe and friendly hostel. Already booked to go back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review we are glad to here you are coming back to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you soon. with kind regards Carl and the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Such a good place to stay, really good staff and very pleased with location. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review we are glad you had a great stay with us i will pass on your comments on to the staff and we hope to see you in the near future. with kind regards Carl and the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

4 Bed Dorm location: 3/3 staff: 2/3 cleanliness: 3/3 room size: 2/3 room facilities: 0/3 (only one slim wardrobe, no under bed storage, 2-3 sockets, but all next to one bed, no lamps at the beds, plus: 2/4 beds double bed size) washrooms: 1/3 (clean, but no hangers in the showers... you can only leave your things outside the cubicle or on the floor. At least one hook for the towel would be helpful) All: 1.8/3 Conclusion: Good Hostel, solid for 1/2 nights, not more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review we are sorry that you found issues with your stay i will bring up your comments with the management to see if we can improve as we take all our guests comments serious. regards the albatross team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.