Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,932 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
87% 1932
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Solo traveller staying in a female dorm: Very clean, comfortable bunk. Clean sheets and a very reasonable mattress. Showers were clean and warm. Toilets clean and staff very friendly. Wasn't noisy or disruptive. No secure storage but I didn't personally find that an issue. Would be my first choice in Newcastle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Very good. Nice common areas, very good location and clean bathrooms. Security Lockers in room would be a great add. Otherwise, I do recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Great location in the city centre, walking distance from the train and coach station, St. James Park stadium and the Megabus coach stop. A small Tesco is right in front of it and a shopping centre just a few minutes away. Comfortable beds even if a bit too squeaky, clean toilets and showers, friendly staff. Free tea and coffee through the day. The free wifi didn't really work so I couldn't use it. I was told it worked only in the common room but it stopped working after 30 seconds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.1

Albatross has an amazing location. Close to all the bars and restaurants downtown while being less than a 5 min walk from the train station. The staff were super nice and tried to be as helpful as possible. They were honest about being in the midst of a renovation. The wifi was the only thing that was a damper. It only worked in the common areas and even then was poor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Excellent staff. Clean hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
9.7

Brilliant location, really happy with our stay would definitely use it again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would come back again. Should you wish to re-book, please contact our Reception team who will be happy to assist, Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • lativeld6124
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Its my third ir fourth time there. Love the new decor. Garden area may need to be brought to standards as it lacked flowers. Showers needs hooks for towels or clothes. Otherwise, always ti stay in this central location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review! We are pleased you love the new decor here. We are going through a whole refurb at the moment; we have had to leave the outside area for now due to building works happening close by, as soon as this is completed we will be looking to do the garden out, adding some furniture, flowers and plants etc. Thanks for your comments, all of which will be passed on to our Management team. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
9.1

The security of this place is great cameras every where and you can only get in a building with a card they supply, location is great as its in the centre of town so you can go out and do anything,staff was friendly and always smiling and was always there, atmosphere was positive and the other guests are really nice, everything was clean and perfect only problem was the showers smelled horrible, great value for your money I stayed 4 nights and it cheaper than a motel by far. Will comeback again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th May 2016
8.6

Could do with lockers in the rooms. apart from that very well set out hostel, good quality beds and common area is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
9.1

Great location - Heroes Hotel next door has ensuites - this one sadly does not. Good staff and clean facilities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.