Hostelworld.com
Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,905 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,905 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
87% 1905
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
9.4

I was warned by a family member that this was an awful place, party central etc. However, I had a lovely stay,apart from climbing up to the top bunk as the bottom ones were already taken - I am over 60!!!! Booking in was quick and hassle free. I was on the first floor in the women's wing. It was clear there had been a lot of re-decorating quite recently. Everywhere was very clean, including the toilets, showers and communal areas. The hostel was very busy because of the 'Magic Weekend'.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st May 2016
5.4

Expensive

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leenverslyppe5820
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2016
8.9

Very nice location. I stayed on a Saturday night which was expensive (30 pounds) for a hostel. The facilities were great. I stayed in a 10-bed dorm but as it was a very big room this was ok, no falling over eachother luggage and weird smells etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
10.0

This is my third stay and each time it has never been a disappointment. I highly recommend you stay here. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
6.0

On our arrival we were greeted by the receptionist who was so lovely. The location is in the perfect place! Close to the train station. Due to the hostel being so large the atmosphere was not very lively. There was a lot of maintenance happening during our stay. We were asked to leave our room so blinds could be hung it would of been nice to be given notice so we could of been out of the room. Cleaning in lounge room was also done during breakfast and we were asked to eat in another room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are pleased you found the location to be perfect and the staff helpful. We apologise for the issues you have raised with regards to maintenance and cleaning schedules. I have passed this on to the management who will look into improving our effectiveness in these areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Albatross should you be in Newcastle again. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
9.1

Perfect location, clean and tidy. Would definitely recommend and will be back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking time to review us. We really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you to The Albatross again. The Albatross Team

  • arsturges956135
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.1

Great kitchen space and cool building: lots of good vibes. Clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are glad you liked our Hostel and found it to be cool and clean. We hope to see you again soon! The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.9

Great hostel, and really helpful staff (we had some musical equipment and instead of lugging it up to our room, they offered to store it downstairs for us). Beds not very comfy, but that's ok at this price. Great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments on to the Manager as we are always looking at ways to improve our facilities. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.0

My friends and I were accused of puking all over the stairs and were told we were going to be kicked out! Once we had gotten in we were waiting on the stairs for our friend who went to the toilet and found the puke! The staff members were really rude and not cooperative with us to figure out who had actually done it! Once they finally re watched the security cameras and discovered it wasn't us we got a warning and not an apology!! The location is great but the staff are unfriendly&rude&nothelpfu

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving your review and bringing this issue to our attention. On behalf of the staff members you mentioned, I would like to sincerely apologise for any offense caused and for poor behaviour on our part. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for booking at The Albatross, and hope that despite any issues during your recent visit, you would consider booking again to stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Perfect city centre location across from tesco and Yates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.