Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,968 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
86% 1968
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.0

4 Bed Dorm location: 3/3 staff: 2/3 cleanliness: 3/3 room size: 2/3 room facilities: 0/3 (only one slim wardrobe, no under bed storage, 2-3 sockets, but all next to one bed, no lamps at the beds, plus: 2/4 beds double bed size) washrooms: 1/3 (clean, but no hangers in the showers... you can only leave your things outside the cubicle or on the floor. At least one hook for the towel would be helpful) All: 1.8/3 Conclusion: Good Hostel, solid for 1/2 nights, not more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Room was fairly dirty and smelly, but that may have been my roommate. Some fruit with breakfast would be a nice addition. Common room was great, enjoyed watching the Olympics with the other travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.4

The hostel was in an excellent location with superb facilities and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Great location just 1.5 blocks from the train station and another 1.5 from Grainger town. Lots of cafes and places in the area. You have to rely on the front desk folks -- who are great -- for tourist info since there's no tourist info in town (budget cuts). The castle is a short walk away, the Millenium Bridge and Gateshead are a bit longer of a hike but still doable. Large kitchen, nice lounge, lots of folks hanging out watching the Olympics. Can hear guests thru the walls if theyre being loud

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.7

I only stayed one night. It was fine but the bed was a bit hard and I could feel the mattress springs on my hips. Otherwise everything else was fine. The kitchen and cooking facilities were good. There was free tea, coffee and milk although I used my own. Shops were handy and it was very close to the railway station. I went home the next day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We are pleased you were overall happy with your stay here. I have passed on your comments regarding the mattress to the Manager who will look in to this. Regards Jaimie and The Albatross Team

  • Frugeo
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
7.1

It is advertised that it has been voted the UK's #1 hostel (8.5 on Hostelworld). Well, I have been in hundrends of hostels and it hardly reaches the standards of an average YHA. The Albatross has the least equipped kitchen I have ever seen. Otherwise, it has an excellent location and the staff is very friendly. The questions to rate the hostel do not make up the full picture, but I would not be able to give more than 7 out of 10 points anyway. It is an average hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thankyou for you review i am sorry you found issues but i will bring them up with the managment to see if we can improve on them. with kind regards carl and the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
10.0

The best hostel in newcastle ... Very clean ... Very comfortable ... Very friendly staff ... Very good location ... 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thankyou for your review we are glad you hade a great stay with us and we hope to see you in the near future. with kind regards carl and the albatross team

29th Jul 2016
4.3

Drunk local people playing music loud in front of a impassive staff. Dirty showers. Slices of bread with nothing else as breakfast. No place for travelers or turists, a proper base for local people willing to party.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning i am sorry you found issues with your stay we are a city centre hostel and it can get very loud on a weekend as we get a lot of groups here for stag and hed partys we will bring your issues up with the managment to see if we can improve on things as we take all are guests feedback serious. with kind regards carl and the albatross team

27th Jul 2016
8.9

Excellent friendly place to stay, my third visit, which proves my point. Newcastle is also a good base for touristing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning, thank you for your review we are glad you had a good stay with us again as we aim to give our guest the best stay possible at a great rate we hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future. regards the albatross team.

22nd Jul 2016
8.0

Great location downtown near the train station. Pretty clean, standard hostel. Main issues were 1) incredibly understaffed front desk on a Friday night and 2) no cages under the beds for secure storage. Otherwise, had a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt our Reception was understaffed on a Friday night, we have 2-3 members of staff on each shift over the weekend, I will pass this on to Management to see if we need to address this issue. We are currently refurbishing the Hostel and as of this week we now provide some storage within the majority of rooms and we are waiting on further storage being put in place. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again at The Albatross. Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.