Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,057 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,057 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Albatross Located at 51 Grainger Street, , Newcastle upon Tyne.
Albatross
England
Newcastle upon Tyne North East NE1 5JE 51 Grainger Street
85% 2057
54.9706677 -1.6159129
Albatross
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
7.4

Overall the place was fine. Quiet this time of the year so atmosphere wasn't great but on the plus side I wound up having a room to myself. Also there was a bit of a bad smell around the main hallway and reception area which needs addressing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are currently addressing the issue regarding the main hallway and reception area and hope to have this dealt with soon. We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jan 2017
7.4

+location +spacious room -no lockers (whilst the other hostels I be stayed provided lockers in the room) -breakfast options (very less breakfast options)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment and aim to be providing lockers in all rooms soon. We provide the guests with tea, coffee, bread, milk, sugar and butter for snacks and for breakfast. Any other suggestions are appreciated so please feel free to contact us! We hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Only thing I'd fault the place for was there is no mirrors in the rooms to get ready in privacy. So get ready before you go or take your own mirror.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Great Staff Great locate Great atmosphere Great experience - trust me it was Great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We hope to see you on your next visit to Newcastle! The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2016
7.7

The cleaning staff deserve an extra reward. We stayed on New Year's Eve so the place was a state on the early morning but by about 8am it was immaculate. There is definitely a need to put mirrors in the bedrooms. Lots of us girls getting ready in the bathroom was annoying. And the bathrooms aren't exactly the kind of bathrooms you want to get ready in. There are no lockers which is always a downer. However the location is fantastic. Right near the train station and the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, I have passed on your lovely comments to Housekeeping and they are thrilled that you were happy with the cleanliness of the Hostel. They work incredibly hard to maintain our high standards here. As part of our ongoing refurbishment we are looking at placing mirrors in the rooms and updating the bathrooms. Hopefully this will all be completed soon. Hope to see you here again in the near future. The Albatross Team

31st Dec 2016
6.9

Facility ok. Value for money not as it claimed to be. It claimed to be the best hostel in uk, but it's average. Stuffs very average and feel like they don't like you anyway. Suprisingly one light in the room can't be turned off when we want to go to sleep. Breakfast is not good as average hostel but we paid three times more

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Sorry to see that you encountered some issues during your stay. As we are based in the City Centre our prices do need to reflect this, however we have always been very reasonably priced. I will however, raise this with the Management for you. Our team are an incredibly welcoming and friendly bunch, I am so sorry to see that you did not feel that to be the case. The lights within the room are operated by the guests, so we are unable to control if they are on. We do not provide a set breakfast here but we do supply tea, bread and coffee etc for the guests to use at any time. Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.7

Excellent location with very friendly staff. It's a high standard hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback. Our team here are really happy to hear you found them friendly and you consider our Hostel to be a high standard. We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
9.7

Clean hostel in a good location and friendly helpful staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. The Albatross Team

10th Dec 2016
9.1

This hostel is right in the centre of Newcastle giving you easy access to everything and is not to expensive either. The staff are very friendly and there is also free wifi and television to use in the lounge area. I have stayed here everytime I have been to Newcastle and I plan on staying here again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we are glad you have a good stay every time you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Dec 2016
10.0

Perfect for when I cannot return home to Edinburgh after work due to shift patterns. Staying in Newcastle 1-2 per week is not a bad thing but hotels add to the expense. Albatross provides a realistic alternative to this option and the staff are fantastic with wonderful personalities that makes the welcome so much warmer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning , Sean thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us we do try and make everybody welcome here at the albatross and we hope to see you in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.