Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Came as a group and stayed on a Saturday night (like most of the other residents I think!) Positives: - The dorm was spacious and clean - The hostel was super central - Bunkbeds were comfortable - Staff were friendly - Hostel was secure (key cards for the hostel and dorm rooms) Negatives: - Despite booking an eight bed dorm, the bathroom facilities were along the corridor and shared with the whole hostel - The blinds didn't keep much of the light out - Noise (which was expected tbh)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. All of our toilet and shower facilities are placed outside of the dorms, but located conveniently throughout the Hostel. I will pass on your comments regarding the blinds to see if we can resolve this issue as soon as possible. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.1

Nice hostel with a confortable kitchen and living room, just a little problem of organisation between the bedrooms and the toilets/showers witch could be quite far from each others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay overall and we are sorry to see you experienced an issue with the building layout. Due to this being an old building, we are limited in where we could initially place certain facilities. We hope this would not prevent you from booking again and we look forward to seeing you in the future. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
6.9

Location is great, can walk everywhere as it's so central. Hostel's basic- no atmosphere! No lift. Windows don't open in toilets and vent was sealed up so the smell in there was AWFUL. No mirrors in room which was crazy for a group of six. Staff weren't great. Lost all electricity for over an hour and no one came to explain/give any info so we were just sitting in darkness. One very sad staff member called the police (!!) into the hostel for bringing 2 friends over at 7am so we lost our £150.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am really sorry to hear you encountered some issues during your stay here. I have passed on the information to the relevant teams so they can address these issues immediately. During the power outage we were unable to access our systems to see which rooms were occupied in order to go round informing all guests of the situation. As no guests from your group came down to see what was happening we were unaware of this issue. During this time, our door entry system was not working due to the power outage so the member of staff on shift had to remain by the door in order to allow access to guests. It is part of our code of conduct, which all groups sign on check-in, that visitors are not allowed in to the Hostel rooms, this is to ensure the safety and comfort of all of our guests. The police were called after the staff encountered difficulties in removing the visitors. I apologise for any distress this may have caused, however our team and guests must follow Hostel procedures and policies at all times. Regards The Albatross Team

6th Apr 2017
9.1

Perfect location, helpful and friendly staff, very nice common rooms. Loved it! Definitely the hostel to go to in Newcastle. Maybe a recycle bin in the kitchen would be nice and greener!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and I will pass on the comment regarding the recycling bin to see if we can look at implementing this. We hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
9.7

A lovely, friendly, bright clean and very centrally located hostel! within walking distance of everything, yet very quiet and peaceful for sleeping. i would definitely stay here again if i come to newcastle.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are glad you had a good stay with us and we do hope you consider us when and if you are back in Newcastle. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
9.1

Taking a 2 year old to a hostel for 4 nights would be challenging at the best of times but the staff were really accepting & welcoming of her. It was really clean with very comfortable beds. The kitchen facilities were good. It was quiet (mid-week though) apart from noisy gulls in the early hours. Nothing to be done there! Really good central location. The distance to the shared toilet/shower was tricky with a toddler!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay with us and it was nice to me you and your family and we hope to see you and your family in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
9.1

Surprisingly good. It was a great place to sleep for the night (family room). We had a quiet experience because we booked a weeknight. There were only a few people there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Everything was good and I would probably stay there again. The only downside in my room was that all of the plug sockets were situated next to one person's bed, behind their headboard; this is fine if you all know each other but in this case I didn't want to impose on the other person's space so I had to charge my phone elsewhere everyday. Perhaps bring a portable charger with you. People are using this hostel for nights out in Newcastle on the weekend so be prepared for noisy evenings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning , ellie thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are sorry you found some issues with your stay we take all are guests comments on board and we are currently making some changes here with introducing wi-fi through out the hostel and putting lockers in the rooms as well as moving the sockets so that all beds have one we do hope you will come back and stay with us again when your in Newcastle. with kind regards the albatross team

17th Mar 2017
6.0

My major problem with this hostel was the lack of a locker in the bed room, I'm sure it said somewhere there wasn't but really? A locker in a hostel, it's not hard. The room was very basic for what I was paying (nearly £30) for one night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We do have luggage storage available at Reception whilst we are undergoing the refurbishment of our rooms, which will include the provision of lockers. Regards The Albatross Team

16th Mar 2017
9.1

Centric location, helpful staff and clean facilities. Stayed one night in an all-female dorm and room was ok. Room did get a bit cold, even with heaters on, and I could feel some of the springs in the matress, but I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. I have passed on your comments regarding the heaters and mattress. We hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.