Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location right beside metro central station and the main train station ,nice staff one in particular i think nicole , very nice person went out of her way to help. Beds comfortable, kitchen and common room were very clean and chilled out. The only thing it could be a slight be cheaper even for the 12bed dorm. Nice stay and would highly recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
7.1

Security was an issue. Room 104 could be entered via the window as no lock and window opened out onto a flat roof. Didn't feel safe leaving anything in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, All our windows do open to allow for ventilation within the rooms, however they are all only able to open a small amount due to Health & Safety. The flat roof is only accessible from the Hostel Reception as all the other access points are again windows that do not fully open. We are sorry you found this to be an issue during your stay, however we must be able to provide ventilation in the rooms via the windows. Kind regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Stayed on quiet days, while mostly elderly people were in there. It didn't bother me that it was just old people though. The hostel was clean and the staff was really kind and willing to help. Overall I really liked the place and would say it was a perfect stay if it hadn't been because I was unlucky and everyone in my room snored very loudly/seemed to be choking, and I couldn't sleep well. Just something to deal with if you're staying in a hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We often have a diverse range of guests staying with us, especially during the week. We are pleased you found our Hostel clean and the staff were kind, I will pass on your comments to the team. Whilst sharing dorms can come with it's issues, our Reception team are happy to help each guest and we can move people in to different dorms should they be having any difficulties where they have originally been staying. We hope to welcome you here again in the future. Kind regards The Albatross Team

20th Jun 2017
8.0

Huge common area was cool, super quiet and cleanest hostel showers I've ever seen but there were o my tree toilets to an entire floor so...?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review. On each floor we have several sets of toilets for both men and women. Within each of these is up to 4 cubicles. There are some separate from the shower rooms around the corner so you may have missed these! We will pass your comments on and look to perhaps improving our signage around the building. Kind regards The Albatross Team

20th Jun 2017
9.1

I really liked this hostel- extremely accommodating staff, great location and a full kitchen. Atmosphere was a little lacking, but I was there on a Tuesday so that could be why.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. It can be fairly quiet on some weekdays such as when you stayed. Hopefully next time you visit it will be a bit more lively! Kind regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.7

good central location with friendly staff . clean dorms hanging rail or shelves in the room would be a bonus

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for leaving a review. I will pass on your comments regarding a hanging rail or shelves. Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
6.9

No lockers in rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are currently awaiting delivery of the lockers so these will be available in our dorms very soon! Kind regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.0

There wasn't a lot of people at the hostel so it was very nice and quite. Room and showers were very clean, so does the kitchen. Only problem was that there isn't lockers which would have made me feel better leaving my stuff around. The stuff was very welcoming and helpful, and the location is amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for raising some issues you had as we are always trying to improve on are facility's for are guests we are currently looking in to lockers for all are rooms. we hope to see you again in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.9

The Albatross is an ideal location for someone wanting to explore the city. It is very very close to the train station and Quayside. It is accessible and easy to find on the main street. The security is very good, as everyone has a key card to get in and out of the building. The rooms are nice and simple and clean. Every day it seemed as though the bathrooms were cleaned. There is a nice lounge and kitchen area (fully stocked if you prefer to cook).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
7.7

Overall a good hostel. My room was nice and clean, bathroom the same minus not being ensuite. Security to the building was good, but my room was lacking lockable storage for my things. Good common area and kitchen, though there wasn't much going on while i was there. I only stayed one night, so it's hard to say too much, but I wouldn't be against staying there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.