Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Jul 2017
7.1

The good thing is the location, right in the center close to the train station. The bad thing is that the wifi works only in the kitchen/common room. Only a few toilets and showers in each floor. The common area is just the kitchen and a small lounge, not much ambiance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are currently awaiting the full installation of the WiFi through the building. Work is aiming to be completed by the end of August. All of our toilet and shower facilities are spread across the 3 floors, with several available on each. There are some around a corner which we may need to signpost better so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our common areas are based over two floors, consisting of a large self-serve kitchen, sitting area, lounge and basement. Due to the layout of the building we are unable to increase this. We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Great value for money. Clean comfortable beds. Clean showers and toilets. Will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Regards The Albatross Team

8th Jul 2017
9.1

Hostel is pretty good but the wifi only works in the common room. Luckily my dorm was right above it so I managed to get a bit of wifi out of it. It is right down the street from the train station which was awesome and shops and restaurants are right around the corner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
8.6

Very nice hostel, in a great location. Wash rooms are very basic and rooms are as well but it was perfect for a short stop over!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2017
9.7

Awesome place, staff and location was top notch!! So close to all the main shopping and quay and the train station.. I was a bit bummed the wifi only worked in the lounge and not the room but I met a couple people by all of us being in the lounge :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay here at the albatross we are currently waiting for a date for work to start so we can introduce the wi-fi through out the whole hostel we do hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Jun 2017
7.4

Rooms clean and good beds. Facilities for bathrooms, kitchen and communal areas was great. The only concern is no lockers. I put something behind the front desk (cards/passport). When I went to pick it up on check out the label had stuck to someone else's iPad and so they were confused about what was my property. I found that very worrying given they didn't want to verify my identity and just gave it to me. Most people are honest but they need to improve this on the off chance something happened

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to see you experienced issues during your stay. Our in-room lockers are due for delivery within the next fortnight. We take your concerns very seriously and have since implemented a more robust checking procedure. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Kind regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.4

This hostel was one of the best I've stayed at. Everything was clearly well maintained and clean, and the beds were comfortable. It's well located, just a short walk from the train station and loads of things in the city. Staff were very kind and useful, and the kitchen is well stocked for self catered cooking. Would've loved some lockers in the room and somewhere to hang up my towel while showering but otherwise everything was wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon we are currently waiting on new lockers for the rooms as well as the WI-fI for the whole hostel i will pass your comments on to management about the hangers for the showers. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location right beside metro central station and the main train station ,nice staff one in particular i think nicole , very nice person went out of her way to help. Beds comfortable, kitchen and common room were very clean and chilled out. The only thing it could be a slight be cheaper even for the 12bed dorm. Nice stay and would highly recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. I will pass on all your comments to the team! We hope to see you again, The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
7.1

Security was an issue. Room 104 could be entered via the window as no lock and window opened out onto a flat roof. Didn't feel safe leaving anything in the room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, All our windows do open to allow for ventilation within the rooms, however they are all only able to open a small amount due to Health & Safety. The flat roof is only accessible from the Hostel Reception as all the other access points are again windows that do not fully open. We are sorry you found this to be an issue during your stay, however we must be able to provide ventilation in the rooms via the windows. Kind regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Stayed on quiet days, while mostly elderly people were in there. It didn't bother me that it was just old people though. The hostel was clean and the staff was really kind and willing to help. Overall I really liked the place and would say it was a perfect stay if it hadn't been because I was unlucky and everyone in my room snored very loudly/seemed to be choking, and I couldn't sleep well. Just something to deal with if you're staying in a hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We often have a diverse range of guests staying with us, especially during the week. We are pleased you found our Hostel clean and the staff were kind, I will pass on your comments to the team. Whilst sharing dorms can come with it's issues, our Reception team are happy to help each guest and we can move people in to different dorms should they be having any difficulties where they have originally been staying. We hope to welcome you here again in the future. Kind regards The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.