Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
8.9

I stayed in twin bedroom with my wife. No tv inside the room nor wifi. Wifi signal seems to be poor so you can only use it the designated area (kitchen). People are very kind, and very helpful, everything was clear. For the price I payed I'd have expected to have at least free wifi inside the bedroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review, we really value all the feedback. TVs in shared dorms have presented issues in the past, however, we are looking into fitting them in to the twin rooms at the moment to see how this works. The WiFi is being installed into our rooms from next week, it is currently available within our communal areas. We hope to see you again soon. Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay. Very welcoming. Just no Wifi in our room was the only negative.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. The WiFi is currently available in the Lounge and Kitchen as we are awaiting the new WiFi being fitted throughout the whole Hostel. This work is due to be started next week so if you do visit us again, this issue will have been resolved. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and hopefully we see you again. Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.4

Staff is fine, room is fine, facilities are fine...Just fine, nothing special. The only thing that stands out is the location, it's city centre and everything you need is in walking distance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for leaving a review of your stay here. We value all feedback from our guests. If you have any specific suggestions for improvements to our facilities or services, please get in touch. We always like to take on board what the guests are looking for. We hope to see you again soon. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

The hostel is located in the city center, close to the station and to the most touristic places. The rooms are quiet, but some of them have the windows facing a wall which is not that good if you're claustrophobic. The members of the staff are very kind, and they let me change room from a 4 beds mixed bedroom to a 6 beds female only bedroom when I told them I didn't feel good in the room. Thanks again. The beds aren't that confortable. But if I go back to Newcastle I'll go there again. :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
10.0

I was pleasantly surprised by albatross. It was a last minute booking and I wasn't expecting much but the staff was lovely, the location excellent with central and monument metro stations a short walk away, and the people staying there were friendly and always up for a chat. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside the building is well maintained and quite charming. I will be reccommending this place to others in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning , Sophie thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a fantastic stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross team

24th Jul 2017
10.0

Been staying here quite a few times in the past years, unarguably the best hostel in Newcastle ! Holla to Nicole and Craig!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We really value our guests feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again! Regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
8.9

The Albatross was easy to find and the first person who greeted me was incredibly friendly and helpful. The only problem I had was with the shower. It wasn't very intuitive to operate. I was traveling by bike and it was stored away safely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are pleased your stay was good overall. I have passed on your comments about the shower to the relevant team who will look into this immediately. We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team

12th Jul 2017
7.1

The good thing is the location, right in the center close to the train station. The bad thing is that the wifi works only in the kitchen/common room. Only a few toilets and showers in each floor. The common area is just the kitchen and a small lounge, not much ambiance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are currently awaiting the full installation of the WiFi through the building. Work is aiming to be completed by the end of August. All of our toilet and shower facilities are spread across the 3 floors, with several available on each. There are some around a corner which we may need to signpost better so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our common areas are based over two floors, consisting of a large self-serve kitchen, sitting area, lounge and basement. Due to the layout of the building we are unable to increase this. We hope to see you again. The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel, great location, staff friendly and helpful, internet great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Great value for money. Clean comfortable beds. Clean showers and toilets. Will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Regards The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.