Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2227 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • evans-sam1984
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
10.0

I would heartily recommend anyone to stay at the Albatross Hostel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make my stay pleasant and comfortable. The location is ideal to be able to access all the main sites in the centre of Newcastle. The communal areas are cozy places to sit and relax with the other guests, and the breakfast was great too. Thanks a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
10.0

Great place. Easy to park nearby and easy to find. Close to all the places we wanted/needed. Short walk could access everything. Friendly staff. Always around to ask about any queries. Clean facilities and staff regularly cleaning. Hot showers. Make you own toast and drinks for breakfast. Comfy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
10.0

Excellent stay for the money. Close to the train station. Unfortunately the location also results in it being a bit noisy at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2017
9.7

Excellent location and nice staff. The key card deposit/id card thing was a bit confusing at first. I stayed for one night only but it was a nice visit. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay here at the albatross and we hope to see you again when your back in Newcastle. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
9.7

Great place, great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad to hear you had a great stay with us here at the albatross and we hope to see you again very soon. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2017
9.4

We enjoyed our stay.. rooms are clean.. staff were brilliant really friendly and helpful! Thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are very glad you had a great stay with us here at the albatross and we hope to see you again very soon. with kind regards the albatross team

26th Aug 2017
9.7

I think this hostel is very well maintained. Location is superb, just a stone throw from everything in the city centre. Friendly staff, key card access, clean toilets, comfortable bed, well-equipped kitchen. Yes the wifi is confined to the kitchen and common room. But I was lucky enough to stay in the room directly above the common room, so still managed to pick up the wifi signal in dorm room. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • DreamRunner
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2017
6.6

The location is really close to the train station. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast is just plain bread and tea. Wifi only available in the lounge and there aren't many bathrooms. Our room was pretty dirty and unfortunately my friend and I are both covered in bites from our stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Great stay, hostel was better than expected. Communal areas were good. Only down side could have done with a mirror on the wall in the room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon , Lisa thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a great stay here at the albatross and we hope to see you again in the near future and just a little note about the mirrors they are now kept at reception as found that if left in the rooms they wear getting broke so if you come again please feel free to ask for one and thanks again. with kind regards the albatross team.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
8.9

I stayed in twin bedroom with my wife. No tv inside the room nor wifi. Wifi signal seems to be poor so you can only use it the designated area (kitchen). People are very kind, and very helpful, everything was clear. For the price I payed I'd have expected to have at least free wifi inside the bedroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review, we really value all the feedback. TVs in shared dorms have presented issues in the past, however, we are looking into fitting them in to the twin rooms at the moment to see how this works. The WiFi is being installed into our rooms from next week, it is currently available within our communal areas. We hope to see you again soon. Regards The Albatross Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×