Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 689 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 689 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.0
Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel Located at Rua Estcio Coimbra No 84, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro RJ 22600-000 Rua Est�cio Coimbra No 84, Botafogo
75% 689
-22.9511024 -43.1861400
Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Really good hostel with a terrific environment! I'll definitely stay there when I come back to Rio!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
3.4

It's one of the worst hostel I have stayed! Scumlord management, squeezed in a room like sardines, dirty and inadequate # of bathrooms, and way more expensive for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
7.1

The location was pretty good, it is in a safe neighborhood and 3 minutes walk to the metro. The hostel remained fairly clean throughout our stay. Price was decent considering it was the time of the Olympics. I found some of the staff to not be very helpful or overly friendly, and a few of the cleaning staff were incredibly rude all the time for no apparent reason, not just to me but to other guests too. Definitely not pleased with their attitude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Overall the hostel was pretty good. The location is close to a ton of bars and a shopping center if you want to grab gifts such as Havaiannas for friends and family. Although the Olympics were going on it seemed that the hostel didn't put together many things for it's guests for nightlife so you were kinda on your own. I personally recommend checking out Lapa if you're there on a weekend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
4.6

I was here while i was volunteering at the Olympics and i was only there really to sleep because this hostel was not a fun place to be.The dorm room i was in luckily only had two level beds but was absolutely packed. No space for bags, no space for people.The bathrooms weren't clean.I was volunteering and left at about 7 in the morning.The staff had breakfast out and got angry that i asked if i could have some before i left and said some rude things in Portuguese. Just a terrible hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is in a fantastic location, a couple of minutes walk to the Botafogo metro station. Security is excellent - a guard works a barrier at the end of the street, and there is a guard outside the hostel at night and a buzzer to get inside. We felt very safe at all times. Common area is very cool, and the cat is super cute. The staff helped us out with any questions, and were all a great help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome staff and great location . The staff was very helpful with any question I had and guided me to places to eat and places to go. There was restaurants and bars less then a block away which was always popping. I will be sure to come back .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
8.3

Great hostel, great location 2 minutes walk from the metro! Awesome staff very friendly and always willing to help!! Slight issue with my bed however they did upgraded me straight away! I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who is travelling to Rio!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2016
10.0

I stayed at Vila Carioca hostel more than a month (I always came back there from my trips out of the city/state.) And I think it is one of the best hostels in Rio. The staff is amazing, very friendly and helpful. THANKS GUYS!:) It's clean and safe there, and good located (few steps from underground; close to botanical garden, parque Lage, waterfall, centre and the beach.) It's quite, because it's at the end of a dead-end street.And green, with little monkeys in the tree. I highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
6.0

Staff was nice. Toilets were clean. The rest was so-so

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.