Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel Located at Rua Estcio Coimbra No 84, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro.
Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro RJ 22600-000 Rua Est�cio Coimbra No 84, Botafogo
75% 698
-22.9511024 -43.1861400
Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
9.4

Vila Carioca is a very nice and cozy hostel. Everything was always clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and I met great people. it is very quiet to sleep. Moreover, the locationnis very good next to bus and metro station. You can even walk to the sugar loaf! I definitely recommend the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Really good hostel with a terrific environment! I'll definitely stay there when I come back to Rio!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.3

I stayed in the 6 people room and it was fine. Perfect location, safe, quiet in the night. Helpful staff. Only thing I didnt like was the bathroom. There were 2 showers and one was much better than the other. Toilets on the 1st floor were very uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
3.4

It's one of the worst hostel I have stayed! Scumlord management, squeezed in a room like sardines, dirty and inadequate # of bathrooms, and way more expensive for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
7.1

The location was pretty good, it is in a safe neighborhood and 3 minutes walk to the metro. The hostel remained fairly clean throughout our stay. Price was decent considering it was the time of the Olympics. I found some of the staff to not be very helpful or overly friendly, and a few of the cleaning staff were incredibly rude all the time for no apparent reason, not just to me but to other guests too. Definitely not pleased with their attitude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Overall the hostel was pretty good. The location is close to a ton of bars and a shopping center if you want to grab gifts such as Havaiannas for friends and family. Although the Olympics were going on it seemed that the hostel didn't put together many things for it's guests for nightlife so you were kinda on your own. I personally recommend checking out Lapa if you're there on a weekend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
4.6

I was here while i was volunteering at the Olympics and i was only there really to sleep because this hostel was not a fun place to be.The dorm room i was in luckily only had two level beds but was absolutely packed. No space for bags, no space for people.The bathrooms weren't clean.I was volunteering and left at about 7 in the morning.The staff had breakfast out and got angry that i asked if i could have some before i left and said some rude things in Portuguese. Just a terrible hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is in a fantastic location, a couple of minutes walk to the Botafogo metro station. Security is excellent - a guard works a barrier at the end of the street, and there is a guard outside the hostel at night and a buzzer to get inside. We felt very safe at all times. Common area is very cool, and the cat is super cute. The staff helped us out with any questions, and were all a great help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome staff and great location . The staff was very helpful with any question I had and guided me to places to eat and places to go. There was restaurants and bars less then a block away which was always popping. I will be sure to come back .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.