X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel Reviews

Rua Est�cio Coimbra No 84, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
477 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel ever !! Thanks to all the fantastic staff . Saudade !


100%

Hostel perfetto!!! Personale multilingue, competente e socievole. Hostel spazioso e pulito. Posizionato in una strada tranquilla e a pochi minuti dal metrò, con cui si può raggiungere rapidamente il centro e la spiaggia. Se cerchi una seconda casa, l'hai trovata. Un bacio a tutti e alla prossima!!! Grazie Francesco! Ma anche a tutti gli altri..


63%

Not well organised room not available when we arrived. Some staff v good others not very good breskfast


91%

Maybe they should be a little more formal, in terms of uniforms and transmitting that it is a serious business.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hotel. If you need something staf help you with smile. It have airconditioneur but making some noise... Bed are good and cleen. But shower not really cleen and towel too. And they give big and nice breakfast only 8 to 10 am.

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was there 10 days and loved to come back. very good place to stay! Excellent staff! good breakfast. very recommend.


74%

El hostel está bastante bien. En la habitación más barata las camas estan muy bajas, si te acostas no te podes levantar que te chocas la cabeza con la de arriba. Y cuando está lleno en los pasillos están los bolsos en el medio casi no hay lugar para pasar. El wifi no funcionó bien los días que estuve. El desayuno está bastante bueno y el hostel es bastante tranquilo como la zona en la que está.


80%

Das hostel ist ziemlich gut. Botafogo ist ein super stadtteil und die Metro ist keine 5 minuten entfernt. Sauberkeit, hängt natürlich auch von den Gästen ab. Zu erwähnen ist natürlich auch das ausgezeichnete frühstück.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

pase una estadia esplendida, es facil llegar a cualquier punto turistico desde ahi. Las personas que trabajan ahi son lo mas! :) no tuve ni un problema con nada, la limpieza es excelente y el personal es muy atento. Se la pasa muy bien, y es divertido sentarse en la puerta y ver a los pequenios monitos en los arboles. muchas gracias!

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

They should improve the bathrooms

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very helpful staff who spoke excellent English. Felt very secure with locked gate, 24 hr reception, safe and lockers. The place was kept very clean. Short walk to the metro and local bars soma good place to stay in Botofogo


100%

I stayed in February 2014 in Villa Carioca Hostel and i can just say was a fantastic stay!! Toilet cleaned, paper substituted, soap refilled everyday. 6 people dormitory with fan and Air conditioned. Big breakfast, totally not-skimped on quantities. Free wi-fi. Also the location is very comfortable: get anywhere thanks to the Metro station Botafogo close by and Rua Clemente for busses it's simple. Big shopping mall 10minutes on walk. And the companies of little monkeys on three :)


100%

Excellent hostel, relaxed atmosphere, safe area, close to metro (5min walk to station) and busses (5-10min walk to stops) to everywhere around Zona sul. Helpful staff and good facilities. No party going on so good sleep is guaranteed :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
valeu Bob ! bjus Dana

69%

Manuela and Ciuliana were perfect host of the Hostel, capable of serving us in whatever language we wanted.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I have not found better breakfast than yours!!!! =)


83%

Francesco in particular was a very helpful and enthusiastic staff member. Good breakfasts for a hostel. Relaxed atmosphere in common room. Air conditioning only came on at night in the bedrooms, sometimes later than expected.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel is great, in a street with security guards. Perfect connection to the subway. It's good to meet other people but also a lot of southern americans who don't speack english. The rooms with aircon are great, I would not recommend the others. Please be aware that you should not get near to the beach at Botafogo, I was robbed even one block away from the beach. I wouldn't recommend to walk further than to the metro in that direction.


57%

They had locker but number was limited. I had to use earplug to sleep, because an electric fan in the room was so noisy. The hostel was little bit hard to find when you go first time. But still good to stay because it is close to the beach, metro, and bus station.


94%

Consiglio vivamente questo ostello a chiunque vada a visitare Rio! Prima di tutto la posizione è ottima, abbastanza vicina a tutti i maggiori centri di interesse. Inoltre il personale è ospitale e ben disposto a dare informazioni sulla città, creando un'atmosfera amichevole e "di casa" :) Grazie a Giuliana, Francesco, Manuela, Guri e Natalie per l'accoglienza... Ps: un saluto in particolare a Francesco (NOTA: è italiano), grazie per averci sopportato!


94%

I stayed four days, met a lot of poeple and were served very well. Breakfast is tasty and rich of diversity. The kitchen has everything for cooking. The rooms are clean, the sanatories as well but maybe a little bit used. The staff was very nice and like friends to me. The hostel is located in a quit street with little monkeys in the trees - very cute. Botafogo lays very central and all attractions are easy to reach. All in all a very recommandable place for a great stay in Rio.


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback