X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Albergue Vila Carioca Hostel Reviews

Rua Est�cio Coimbra No 84, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
601 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Hostel bem localizado,limpo e com um cafe da manhã agradavel.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Pessimo sinal do wifi, muitos pernilongos no quarto, rua sem com poucas vagas*(se não encontrar vaga na rua do hostel(sem saida) terá problemas). bons funcionáros, camas desconfortáveis, nível MEDIO

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location in Botafogo is good, the metro is close and can connect you to everywhere in Rio. The staff was helpful and can arrange airport transfers that are very reasonably priced. Some of the larger hostel rooms I stayed in in Rio, but all the mattresses had think bulky covers that were very uncomfortable for sleeping, though good for cleanliness. The breakfast was good and secuirty was good, but they could use a storage room for luggage if you have to check in or out early.


94%

Es un buen lugar para alojar, cercano al metro y mucha locomoción. Cerca de lugares para beber y comer de noche, tranquilo y bien seguro. El personal nos atendio y aclaro varias dudas sobre tour y lugares para conocer. Los baños siempre limpios y en caso de no estarlo, uno avisaba y a los pocos minutos el personal los va a limpiar. Muy tranquilo lugar, quizas podrian mejorar las habitaciones el tema de las almohadas, a mi parecer podrian ser algo más comodas. Altamente recomendado.


100%

el hostel es el mejor hostel. La gente que trabaja ahi es muy amable y siempre dispuestos a ayudarte. Las habitaciones las limpian todos los dias y los baños en todo momento. el desayuno esta bueno, siempre hay galletitas, tostadas, manteca, mermelada, queso, jamon, pan, te,cdafe,chocolatada, todo para complacer a los gustos de cualqueira. Esta en una calle cerrada cuidada por seguridad, a dos cuadras del subte/metro y pasan todas las lineas de colectivos para llevarte a todos lados.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Eu gostei muito da minha experiência nesse hostel! Eu aconselho para todos e vou voltar com certeza !

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great welcome by friendly, informative staff. Great location for travelling around the city.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

We stayed in a private room, it was fine for what we wanted but could have done with a clean. Our bathroom did not even compare with the bathrooms for the dorms which were much nicer and cleaner. We had no hot water for our shower our entire stay. Air con in the room worked well and the place is very secure with a nice breakfast. If you're looking for dorms I would recommend this place. Maybe not for a private room.


63%

El último dia tuve un percance con una persona del staff y fue muy muy maleducada. Los demas eran correctos echando de menos un poco de alegria. Joao fue el mejor de todos !


94%

Hostel muitíssimo bem localizado, fui muito bem recebido, funcionários prestativos e simpáticos, fiquei bem acomodado, serve um bom café da manhã, enfim fiquei muito satisfeito durante minha estadia, e espero voltar em breve.


66%

Lo pase genial, pero los trabajadores son muy fríos y las limpiadoras antipáticas y ruidosas. Tuve un pequeño hurto y la limpieza brilla por su ausencia, el desayuno Muy pobre!


86%

Stayed at Vila Carioca during carnival and had a blast. Guests were super friendly but it isn't a party hostel. Staff was helpful but not so friendly. Botafogo was recommended by a Brazilian friend because it's centrally located to so many places. I like the private street hostel is located on and it's close to subway and a great supermarket. Biggest complaints I have besides the sketchy wifi is the top bunks are incredibly difficult to get out of and sometimes the showers were hot.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Positives: *Some staff were friendly and helpful *Amazing kitchen *Next to the metro, great for getting around *Safe, nice neighbourhood *Good showers Negatives: *Staff not that knowledgeable about basic tourist info facts like opening times, gave wrong information *No bar so no real evening atmosphere (but to be fair they are on a residential street) *Bins in toilets often full and overflowing


80%

Facilities: wifi was not very good at all, rooms were fairly small. Our room had air conditioning and a fan which was nice for the hot weather. The area is quite nice with the metro nearby so it is easy to get around Staff: not sure if they were new staff, but they weren't too knowledgeable of the area


77%

This was a great hostel during Carnaval. Good atmosphere with people wanting to did te action and really helpful staff. Not a major party hostel but a good balance of a lot of fun and then calm when you want to escape the madness. As there were so many people the cleanliness was probably not the best you've seen but to be expected during the madness of carnaval. As with all hostels it was expensive during this peak time.


94%

Staff fantastic. Very helpful. Clean rooms Toilet cubicles a bit small but not the end of the world. Best hostel I stayed in Brazil by a mile. Staff are superb

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

A hostel with great vibe


77%

Excellent hostel in a nice neighbourhood. Very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms are generally clean and tidy. Could do with a bit more organised fun and activities but a good choice on the whole.


83%

I enjoyed my stay here, the staff are all friendly and the lay out of the place is sociable for chilling out n having a few beers. It said there is AC over night, but my room only had fans, although others said they had AC, I guess that's what I get for the cheapest option, but it didn't really bother me. And the breakfast was always good with fruit, bread, cakes, cheese n ham.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback