Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.7

The lad at reception was amazing& it was a good sleep. I'd return xoxo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lamborrari9635
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

The location in Prenzlauerberg is great. So close to restaurants and nightlife in a hip area of Berlin. Only a couple minutes walk away from the U2 line on Eberswalder Strasse, which has direct access to and from the main bus terminal of Berlin ZOB. The staff was attentive and friendly and the rooms were very clean. The wifi works best in the lobby/lounge area rather than up in the rooms but it was free and fast enough. I would definitely consider staying here again next time I'm in Berlin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Location is nice room was clean staff were super nice and helpfull. We had a doubleroom where we had to share a bathroom with another doubleroom. Though we never bumped into them. Only thing we missed a little bit was a bar were you could meet fellow travelers..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely great stay. The only only thing that was a slight problem is the lack of plug sockets in our dorm. However, don't let that put you off, it's still wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.1

Overall our experience of the hostel was great. It was very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative thing I would say is, it probably isn't the best hostel hostel to meet others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.4

There is no internet in the rooms, only in the common area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
6.9

Bathing facilities are old and not very clean, beds make a lot of sound. Location was great and the communal area was also pretty nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Dec 2016
10.0

It was my first time staying at a hostle and I'm really glad I picked this place. It wad clean, staff were really nice and helpful and it was 2 secs away from the underground station and bus. The bathroom.and bedrooms were really clean. I would definitely recommend this place. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay would definitely recommend it to friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
7.4

Alcatraz was a decent spot. The building is really old and it looks a little sketchy but once you're inside it grows on you and the staff were helpful. Not much atmosphere, If you want wifi you need to be in the common area and the lockers are outside the rooms. Cleanliness was good and location was far from city centre but an easy metro ride away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.