Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 843 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.7

I booked this hostel for a large stag party (bachelor party) for 3 nights in April 2017 and to be honest I was very sceptical about booking another hostel after our past experience in Amsterdam a few years back which wasn't the best at all however, this hostel ticks all the boxes, i.e. very clean, great location and spot on and extremely helpful staff etc. Plus as I was the best man and was responsible which made me happy that all my pal's were also over the moon with the hostel. 10/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.7

Love this place!! Can't wait to go back. Met awesome people in the dorms as well as awesome staff, the place is clean and I love the neighbourhood-it's not touristy, great food, beautiful buildings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
8.0

I styed in the 6 bed mixed dorm for a short weekend holiday. Although we did not spend a lot of time there I have no complaints about the hostel. Everything was clean, there was a nice sized kitchen and the staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Mar 2017
10.0

A fantastic hostel! Location is amazing - in the now trendy hipster part of east Berlin! With the 'u' metro line outside the door- Alexanderplatz is 3 stops away. The common areas are small and cosy -feels homely, however the rooms remain spacious. It's big enough to have all facilities you need but maintains that acclectic hostel atmosphere. Especially loved the courtyard! The staff were amazing! Theg really take time to offer you tourist advice. Mr Bram on front desk was very helpful!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
8.9

A lot of people staying there long term... Was pretty empty and close to a train station but not the most convenient location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
7.1

Very clean, good beds. Location is a bit out of the way but still well connected. However, on the description in tiny print it says 2 euros for the linen as an additional cost, which allows them to advertise as being one of the cheapest hostels in Berlin. I thought this was very sneaky and I do not believe it costs 2 euros to wash some bedsheets

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.0

Very nice and helpful staff. Older hostel, but clean. Free lockers. Wifi worked on main floor and on the first floor, which was where my room was located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

staff were helpful and knew their stuff the location was nice, beds were comfy etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Pretty great hostel. Super friendly staff who sat down for a (very cheap) beer with the guests after cooking a simple dinner for everyone. Rooms were spacious, clean, and secure. Common areas were relaxed, kitchen was well outfitted. Excellent location right in Prenzelauerberg. Can't ask for much more from a hostel. No complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Really nice place with good vibes, the staff were super friendly and happy to help with any questions. I would stay here again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.