Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jun 2017
7.1

The location was perfect, close to all sorts of cafés and restaurants, and right next to the u-bahn. It was a very quiet area. We stayed in a private double bed room, which had the necessities. The bathroom was shared with the room next door, and was soaking wet every day after they had a shower. Towels cost extra so we could't just clean it up. We didn't use the common areas much. It was not very welcoming, more of a corridor with some furniture. No wifi in the bedroom.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2017
9.4

The atmosphere of this hostel was positively wonderful. I met some wonderful people there, we had a lot of fun together in the area. It's conveniently located near public transportation, and staff was helpful although sometimes a little bit brusque. The showers tend to flood a bit, but that aside I would love to stay here again in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
10.0

My husband and I stayed in one of their private rooms and it was truly enjoyable, exactly what we needed for our trip to Berlin. The private room is a king bed (2 twin mattresses inside a king frame) with bedside table and lamp on each side, 2 folding chairs, and an armoire. We had just the right amount of space for the two of us. We shared the bathroom with one other room so we never had an issue there. Neighborhood also great-- easy to walk and access public transit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
8.3

We had a great time at the Alcatraz hostel. It's a smaller, more intimate feel and they do a lot to create an atmosphere that fosters connection and community between travelers. It's a little bit off the beaten path location-wise, but we didn't have any issues using the public transportation to get to the city center. The staff was awesome and the rooms were very clean. It's a little annoying that the Wifi only works on the main floor, but I understand the rationale.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2017
8.3

Great location of hostel in art district of Berlin. Very close to metro and tram station. Stayed in 4 bed mixed room and it was big, with table and chair. You can lock your staff downstairs. The showers and toilets are on the floor and they are clean. Good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
9.4

Very nice and well kept with very nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
9.4

Perfect location for a trip to beautiful Berlin, a lot of nice bars and shops around , and easy-to-get connection to town centre by public transport. - Friendly staff in the hostel, nice (even small) rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
7.4

It would have been nicer if there was some sandwich meats, boiled eggs, and yogurt for breakfast. Given, co-ed dorms it would be better if there was more privacy when showering.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th May 2017
9.7

There were 4 of us and we chose a 4 dorm room which was perfect. It gave us the privacy we needed and the rooms were very nice. The shower had great water pressure and it stayed warm through the whole shower! It's a little out of the like the main city, but the transit is really easy to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
7.1

They will allow a late check-in, but you will need to tell them ahead of time. Check in closes early..... The breakfast they offered was expensive for barely anything worth the price

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.