Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 828 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
8.0

Very nice and helpful staff. Older hostel, but clean. Free lockers. Wifi worked on main floor and on the first floor, which was where my room was located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.1

staff were helpful and knew their stuff the location was nice, beds were comfy etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Pretty great hostel. Super friendly staff who sat down for a (very cheap) beer with the guests after cooking a simple dinner for everyone. Rooms were spacious, clean, and secure. Common areas were relaxed, kitchen was well outfitted. Excellent location right in Prenzelauerberg. Can't ask for much more from a hostel. No complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Really nice place with good vibes, the staff were super friendly and happy to help with any questions. I would stay here again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
3.7

NO WiFi IN THE ROOMS, super rude staff, room had a funny smell, toilet was not working, location was fine but there are much better hostels around.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
9.4

Very friendly hostel with great staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.7

The lad at reception was amazing& it was a good sleep. I'd return xoxo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lamborrari9635
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

The location in Prenzlauerberg is great. So close to restaurants and nightlife in a hip area of Berlin. Only a couple minutes walk away from the U2 line on Eberswalder Strasse, which has direct access to and from the main bus terminal of Berlin ZOB. The staff was attentive and friendly and the rooms were very clean. The wifi works best in the lobby/lounge area rather than up in the rooms but it was free and fast enough. I would definitely consider staying here again next time I'm in Berlin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Location is nice room was clean staff were super nice and helpfull. We had a doubleroom where we had to share a bathroom with another doubleroom. Though we never bumped into them. Only thing we missed a little bit was a bar were you could meet fellow travelers..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely great stay. The only only thing that was a slight problem is the lack of plug sockets in our dorm. However, don't let that put you off, it's still wonderful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.