Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel Located at Schoenhauser Allee 133a, 10437, Berlin.
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Berlin Schoenhauser Allee 133a, 10437
88% 759
52.5444557 13.4120965
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Aug 2016
8.3

Very nice hostel, staff is amazing and the facilities, like the kitchen, are perfect. You are close to Alexanderplatz and a lot of touristic things but it's not the best if you are looking to live Berlins nightlife. All the interesting clubs are at minimum 30 minutes of walking. Still great hostel would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
8.3

Only issue is that the wifi was slow and didn't work in the dorms. But I was there to ride bicycles, not use Facebook, so I'd call it a minor issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
8.3

Everything is above the average level, as a hostel. One thing that's inconvenient is no wifi signal in the bedroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Me and my boyfriend have just stayed here and it was just what we needed for our trip to Berlin. All the main sights easily accessible by many public transport links, which are very easy to get around on, or you can just walk them. The hostel itself is everything we needed, comfy bed in a basic room, the staff were very helpful and had excellent knowledge about the area. We had a fab stay in Berlin and would definitely return to this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.9

Great facilities & incredibly helpful staff. They gave clear directions & tips on where to go. Breafast was not included but was only €3 which was money well spent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rossana9829558
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Aug 2016
8.6

Decent hostel in a good location. My only issue was that wifi was only available in reception - this was especially annoying as we were on the 4th floor. I feel like its inexcusable in this day and age not to have wifi in your room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
9.4

I loved this place. I met some seriously amazing people and by far my favorite hostel I've ever been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Very cosy and colourfull this hostel is situated in a beautifull residential area of Berlin. It is super clean, quilts and bed sheets smell nice! But the most important is the staff. Very friendly and eager to provide any information possible, they will do the best to ensure your stay is enjoyable! Definitely recomended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.0

Fine. Quite quiet but I wasn't travelling alone so that wasn't an issue. Didn't see a bar and the breakfast was a pretty sparse selection. Clean, decent beds with big rooms. Close to restaurants are bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
8.9

The owner and proprietor was very helpful, friendly and knowledgable. This best aspect of this hostel is its homey comfort and small but stylized nature. Not as many amenities as the bigger hostels like Plus but a ver cool and homey feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.