Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Great place, super friendly staff. There isn't much kitchen space for food storage or cooking

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
8.0

excellent place to stay, good facility's and location. would stay at this hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
8.0

If you're looking for a quieter hostel, this is it, at least when I stayed there. Happy hour is 1,50 beers in a fridge at reception. Location is convenient to public transport (S and U) and restaurants. Staff was friendly. Met some cool people, but I really had to go out of my way to do so. If you're looking for a "party hostel" atmosphere, this is not it. Overall, would recommend for people who don't want to spend a ton of time at their hostel and are looking for a good price for their room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robertan9
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.0

Good hostel. Good host. Enjoyable. No air con in room and a bit noisy but otherwise fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • gkemp94
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.6

Great Hostel, couple of the staff were very helpful and fun to chat with. Facilities are great (although no microwave). Bathrooms could have been cleaner...water from showers and sinks had nowhere to drain so the floor was always wet and gross. Otherwise great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
7.1

Lovely hostel although it wasn't quite as central as we thought it would be

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Really cool hostel perfectly located in a scenic, trendy district close to loads of bars and restaurants. Perfect for young people. Rooms were spacious with good facilities. The staff were excellent especially one Dutch gentleman who is super friendly, helpful and creates a good hostel atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
6.3

Not too impressed with this one one of the staff members was friendly the others were not quite as friendly you really need to really understand the trams Subway's Etc to get about into the main part Berlin but generally did what we wanted it to do which was cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
10.0

I loved it here! The rooms were secure, everything was explained, the staff was amazingly helpful, and everything was super clean! Highly recommend- the tram stop nearby takes you straight to the train station too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
9.1

Great location, friendly staff, nice kitchen & bathrooms. Graffiti decor was kind of ugly (not my taste) and the soap in our bathroom wasn't replaced for at least 24 hours after it was empty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.