Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 796 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel Located at Schoenhauser Allee 133a, 10437, Berlin.
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Berlin Schoenhauser Allee 133a, 10437
87% 796
52.5444557 13.4120965
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay would definitely recommend it to friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel easy to find and right beside trains,tram lines etc. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Great advice on where to go and what to see. Stayed in a private double room beds were comfy and bathroom was cleaned daily. Not a party hostel from what i gathered but 24hr access was handy after a night out. I would definitely stay agaim and reccomend to anyone. Thanks guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Sep 2016
6.6

Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice outdoor area, but you can't sit there after 10pm. Use of the kitchen was great, don't bother to pay for breakfast, check what other people have left (tea/coffee etc), buy some cereal and milk. I booked two rooms but we weren't put together and the rooms were separated by a locked door which you could only get through with your room key, which was frustrating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Clean, very friendly staff. Far enough from the area with all the tourist stuff (Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate) but you can get to the area easily and quickly using the nearby uBahn line. There's a supermarket nearby, we bought food there for breakfast instead of paying for the breakfast the hostel serves. Our room faced the street so it could be noisy at night with the windows open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
8.0

Facilities were generally nice but they put the tables outside away at night so if you want to sit outside you have to sit on the ground. Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean. WiFi only in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
3.4

It was really bad experience.Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.First thing, when we arrived, we had to wait 20 minutes to get to the room, even though they informed us that the room will be ready at 15:00h. The guy on reception was lying us about the price, although we told him that there's a problem, that the price is higher than needed.Next day, on our intervention he gave us back money which he literally stole a day before, without any apologize. Pay attention while paying at the reception.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
8.3

Very nice hostel, staff is amazing and the facilities, like the kitchen, are perfect. You are close to Alexanderplatz and a lot of touristic things but it's not the best if you are looking to live Berlins nightlife. All the interesting clubs are at minimum 30 minutes of walking. Still great hostel would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
8.3

Only issue is that the wifi was slow and didn't work in the dorms. But I was there to ride bicycles, not use Facebook, so I'd call it a minor issue.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
8.3

Everything is above the average level, as a hostel. One thing that's inconvenient is no wifi signal in the bedroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Me and my boyfriend have just stayed here and it was just what we needed for our trip to Berlin. All the main sights easily accessible by many public transport links, which are very easy to get around on, or you can just walk them. The hostel itself is everything we needed, comfy bed in a basic room, the staff were very helpful and had excellent knowledge about the area. We had a fab stay in Berlin and would definitely return to this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.