Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 811 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 811 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel Located at Schoenhauser Allee 133a, 10437, Berlin.
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
Germany
Berlin Schoenhauser Allee 133a, 10437
86% 811
52.5444557 13.4120965
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
9.1

Overall our experience of the hostel was great. It was very clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative thing I would say is, it probably isn't the best hostel hostel to meet others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.4

There is no internet in the rooms, only in the common area

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
6.9

Bathing facilities are old and not very clean, beds make a lot of sound. Location was great and the communal area was also pretty nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Dec 2016
10.0

It was my first time staying at a hostle and I'm really glad I picked this place. It wad clean, staff were really nice and helpful and it was 2 secs away from the underground station and bus. The bathroom.and bedrooms were really clean. I would definitely recommend this place. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great place to stay would definitely recommend it to friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
7.4

Alcatraz was a decent spot. The building is really old and it looks a little sketchy but once you're inside it grows on you and the staff were helpful. Not much atmosphere, If you want wifi you need to be in the common area and the lockers are outside the rooms. Cleanliness was good and location was far from city centre but an easy metro ride away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel easy to find and right beside trains,tram lines etc. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Great advice on where to go and what to see. Stayed in a private double room beds were comfy and bathroom was cleaned daily. Not a party hostel from what i gathered but 24hr access was handy after a night out. I would definitely stay agaim and reccomend to anyone. Thanks guys :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Sep 2016
6.6

Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice outdoor area, but you can't sit there after 10pm. Use of the kitchen was great, don't bother to pay for breakfast, check what other people have left (tea/coffee etc), buy some cereal and milk. I booked two rooms but we weren't put together and the rooms were separated by a locked door which you could only get through with your room key, which was frustrating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Clean, very friendly staff. Far enough from the area with all the tourist stuff (Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Brandenburg Gate) but you can get to the area easily and quickly using the nearby uBahn line. There's a supermarket nearby, we bought food there for breakfast instead of paying for the breakfast the hostel serves. Our room faced the street so it could be noisy at night with the windows open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
8.0

Facilities were generally nice but they put the tables outside away at night so if you want to sit outside you have to sit on the ground. Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean. WiFi only in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.