Hostelworld.com

Aldea Hostel San Jose

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 133 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 133 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Aldea Hostel San Jose Located at Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E, , San Jose.
Aldea Hostel San Jose
Costa Rica
San Jose San Jose Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E
79% 133
9.9343374 -84.0920591
Aldea Hostel San Jose
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
9.1

This was a nice hostel, we were there over semana santa so it was very quiet. The dorm beds were comfortable and the location was only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. I would stay there again if I were in San Jose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
10.0

Two friends and I rented a private room for the night and it was such a lovely stay, we wish we could have stuck around longer! The staff was super friendly and helpful and the space was beautiful and clean. We ate a wonderful dinner at the restaurant attached. Our trip to the airport in the morning took about 15 minutes. I will definitely be staying at Aldea again and recommend it to friends traveling through.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We´re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, Kelsey. Here at Aldea we take pride in offering a friendly and welcoming place to our guests, so we love to hear that you found the staff made this possible. Our location is part of what makes us a great place to stay, as you said, it´s perfect for getting to and from the airport. Thank you for your comment and we hope to see you again soon!

29th Jan 2016
7.4

At first they tried to charge us $15 per night per person even though we already paid deposit on hostel world. The owner tried to say that he doesn't accept that as part of payment even though this is obviously his agreement and contract WITH hostel world. It ended up being taken care of. Other than that it was clean. Just a place to stay one night in San Jose.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment, we are glad you found Aldea clean and pleasant, this is very important to us. Apologies for the misunderstanding, we will endeavor to resolve any confusion in the future. We are happy that the issue was resolved for you and that you enjoyed your stay.

  • goldpalomino9114
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2016
8.3

The ceiling fans did not work. I don't think they worked in any room. I was unable to open the antique windows by myself. They usually would not open it when I asked. I was recovering from plastic surgery, so the sweltering daytime heat was unfortunate. And this is only January!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elliotsparkes9091
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jan 2016
6.6

The guy who checked us in was extremely unhelpful. He directed us to a locked dorm room without a key and then was annoyed when we asked for help

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Dec 2015
8.6

Location great for bus to Nicaragua which was what I wanted, though maybe a bit far from centre of town for other people. Felt welcoming, friendly, nice old house (unusual in San Jose). For the price, could probably offer breakfast as per most other hostels, but kitchen was well enough equipped for own breakfast. Comfy beds, hot (en suite) shower.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2015
5.4

The hostel is very old and it doesn't look clean at all. We thought they had breakfast, but they don't. But the location is good and the staff is really nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2015
10.0

Great staff! Good service!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.