Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Aldea Hostel San Jose

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Aldea Hostel San Jose Located at Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E, , San Jose.
Aldea Hostel San Jose
Costa Rica
San Jose San Jose Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E
77% 164
9.9343374 -84.0920591
Aldea Hostel San Jose
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Nov 2016
8.0

Staff could be more helpful. Close to ticabus and the central avenue. Security lockers available and had hot water. Kitchen use was great too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, We would like to thank you for recognizing the convenience of our location, kitchen and hot water. We are also happy that the provision of security lockers did not go amiss. The safety and comfort of our guests is top priority here at Aldea. With that said we are sorry to hear that our staff did not perform at their usual standards. We take pride in our staffs usual cordiality and willingness to help and will keep your comments in our minds. We hope that if you ever find yourself in San Jose again, you would visit us again to see our progress. Sincerely, Aldea Staff

  • cndchick
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
5.7

I booked a private room for my last night in Costa Rica. I just wanted to relax and have my own bathroom. Unfortunately the room was filthy. The floors, the walls, even the light switches! The bathroom was awful. You had to sit sideways on the toilet to keep you legs from touching the filthy walls. The showers were supposed to be hot but it was freezing and there was someone elses hair stuck to the shower wall. For $30/night I expected a nice, CLEAN room and I was very disappointed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, We thank you sincerely for your review and have taken everything you have said to heart. We apologize that our cleanliness was not up to our usual standards. Our custodial staff are normally very thorough and we are truly sorry that you did not get to experience the usual standards of cleanliness that we hold our hostel to. We hope that if you are in San Jose again you will visit us again and have the chance to witness our improvement. Sincerely, Aldea Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
8.3

Very nice hotel, colonial looks, with extremely friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, We would like to thank you very much for your words of praise. We are all delighted that our hard work has been recognized. We hope to host you again should you find yourself in San Jose. Kind Regards, Aldea Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
7.7

Aldea hostel was good overall! We found a cockroach in our bathroom and the room was super dim and it wasn't that quiet in our room. However, you get what you pay for and for a night stay for $35 for 3 girls it was perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guests, Thank you very much for your review of our hostel! We are glad that you thought our prices affordable and that you had a pleasant stay. We have since employed a strict policy of silence that starts after 11:00 pm to help with the noise :) We hope to host you again should you find yourself in our neighbourhood in the future! Sincerely, Aldea Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

3rd year at this hostel. I use it as the base of operations from here I get my rental car and can catch buses to where ever. The staff is the best. From keeping my car safe to letting me in the door at night they are the best. One particular employee stands out and thats Marilyn. She is young and knowledgeable about her country and very enthusiastic about the good places to visit and is interested to hear your stories on your return. The restraunt is good. Leave a valuable? They give it back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the services of our hostel and look forward to your next visit! Thank you so much for your kind words, and we will make sure Marilyn is made aware of how valuable her work is here with us. Until next time, Aldea Staff

18th Aug 2016
8.6

This was a great place to stay while in San Jose. It wasn't within walking distance of a lot to do, but there are a handful of nearby restaurants and bars. I would definitely stay here again when visiting San Jose!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you can come visit us again. Sincerely, Aldea Staff

7th Aug 2016
2.0

Did not have a good experience with this place. Almost got mugged outside, rooms were very crowded and dirty, beds are tiny and the bunks are so low that i hit my head several times, bathrooms were disgusting, shower tiny. I would not recommend a friend to stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, We apologize that your stay here did not reflect our usual standards of cleanliness and quality service. We have taken your comments to heart and will strive to improve. In regard to our neighbourhood, we assure you that it is safe, as is most of San Jose, but we are very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. We hope that you will consider us again so that you can see our progress! Kind Regards, Aldea Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
8.9

Had a great night's sleep here. People were so quiet, I didn't even have to use earplugs! Staff was friendly and helpful. Great value for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Esteemed Guest, We are grateful for your kind review! Our staff is always welcoming and willing to help and are appreciative of being recognized. We hope that we will see you again if you visit San Jose again in the future. Sincerely, Aldea Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.