X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Aldea Hostel San Jose Reviews

Calle 28 y Av.Segunda, frente a Sala Garbo, Casa E, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Our stay at Aldea was very pleasant indeed. We had a wheelchair accessible room aswell as bathroom . Exceptional. We were able to sleep like sloths(very quiet) and cook like Gordon Ramsay(well equipped kitchen) There is also secure parking and a billiard table. Nice one. We have stayed at other hostels in San José and this is definetly the best option in the center of town. Only complaint is that they could have taken care of the rubbish on top of the staircases. Overall:Definite return!


83%

the staff were very friendly and helpful. one thing that was inconvenient was that while staying in a dorm room i did not get my own key, so had to retrieve it from the front desk and walk back upstairs every time i wanted to get back into my room.


63%

The room was large and clean but quite run down, even for costa rican standards. Its at least 15 minutes to walkt to down town san jose. Staff is nice and helpfull. Attached to the hostel is a small, simple restaurant. Pizza was good. You get a 10% discount when you stay in the hostel. The hostel is a good budget option if thats what you are looking for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us and tell us about your experience. We apreciate and are glad that our staff was to your liking plus great food thanks to our neighbors at The Corner; they will be thrilled to know you enjoyed their cuisine.however we would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences you came by the room you were provided with. We do our most to acommodate as best we can, however the charm of a charismatic Colonial house has characteristics that are not for every.

66%

Broken window in #205 means people can see in when you have a shower unless you rig up a curtain with your towel. No water in shower - you have to ask someone to turn it on. Fan in room only works if the light is on - so stupid. Half the lights in the place are out so this hostel is generally dark. There seemed to be a lack of pillowcases (and some pillows). The curtain in # 205 is so thin it did nothing to shield the morning sun. Major lack of powerpoints. Very noisy. I wouldn't stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Allow me to apologize for the general uncomfortable experience you had with us. Aldea is built on a Victorian Mansion in the heart of Paseo Colon,and with its historic charm comes certain issues such as the malfunctions you described. These are but a few of the issues we are dealing with and are working our hardest to rectify them as soon as possible to provide comfort for our guests. We hope that you reconsider your last statement and allow us to make it up to you in the future. Safe travels

80%

Staff was cool and helpful. Eclectic place, which is fun. Security good, felt safe. Was no hot water for my shower, so it was quick :-) overall, just needed a place for the night and Aldea totally worked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review us and allow us to say how grateful we are that you found Aldea to adequate and to your standars. We would like to point out that to concerve on energy and try our best to stay green and save power we have specific hours the hot water throughout the hostel is turned on. We apologize for the lack of information from our staff. We are very happy to have had you stay with us and hope that you will visit us once again in the near future. Safe travels!



View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback