Hostelworld.com

Alegria's Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,056 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,056 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Alegria's Hostel Located at Calle 9 # 02-13, , Bogota.
Alegria's Hostel
Colombia
Bogota Calle 9 # 02-13
86% 1056
4.5936345 -74.0720665
Alegria's Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
10.0

I couldn't have picked a better place in Bogota to begin my stay in this amazing country. The location is great and the staff is fantastic. Viviana was more than helpful in suggesting places to eat, where to buy a phone, and where I could go to do my laundry. And Ruben, is more than helpful in allowing you to enjoy a night out and he's always there to welcome you back at 3 in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

Really nice people, welcoming you also in the middle of the night with a smile and helping with everything! You won't regret:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Awesome place! Best word to describe it cozy. If in bogota and available go here!! Everything you could need laundry breakfast kitchen coffee all day clean great location in walking distance from stores and museums.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.1

Alegrias is an old, beautiful, colonial building and has very familiar atmosphere and excellent staff. The good mood of Viviana is outstanding. Being there I've felt in very good hands and I slept very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jun 2016
9.4

Nice friendly place.you would need to have some spanish as they don't have any English but they are v obliging and helpful.only stayed one night but it was lovely.great shower and it was warm!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
4.6

The area is not really safe everyone recommend to be careful, I think that's a matter of Bogota and not the hostels fault. The staff didn't speak English at all which is really difficult to communicate considering none of the guests speak Spanish. The place was clean but the water to take a shower was really cold. The front desk lady was always trying to sell stuff and tours and taxis.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
7.1

Our stay at Alegrias was decent. I read reviews saying basic spanish was needed to talk with staff. This I can confirm, staff were very friendly however spoke no English. While we are visitors in their country however in the tourism industry, this made things difficult. The front door is very secure however our room inside Alegrias didn't lock. Wifi is very average even at the best of times. Breakfast is bread and coffee that is gone very quickly. Showers are cold. Not much common area space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th May 2016
7.1

Our stay at La Alegria was good. Location of hostel was good, as just a short walk to the tourist sights and in La Candaleria. Social areas were ok, although not very big for everyone when it was raining- and it seems to rain a lot in Bogota. Social atmosphere was ok and everyone was friendly. Breakfast was bread and juice. Bathrooms weren't that clean, but this was probably due to there being no shower mat and a plant hanging in the shower!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
10.0

Stayed here a second time for two more weeks. Best decision I made in traveling. Being in the Candelaria is great, but being around such good people and truly dedicated employees is another thing. The hostel is so clean and so well taken care of. There are fireplaces and outdoor settings and a really great social life. Out of all the hostels Ive stayed in, this hostel's social life is the best. It's not forced, but even shy people like me found it to be very inviting and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

This Hostel was perfect! It was far enough away from the crazy center and close enough to safely walk back from the bars/stores. They have two dogs which are very nice. Here I had some of the best staff I've encountered at any hostel, willing to help with anything and always smiling. Beds were comfortable and clean. Hot showers whenever! The breakfast is basic but fresh fruit, bread, and juice is a great way to start off the day! Very clean hostel. I havent had one complaint!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.