X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Alegria's Hostel Reviews

Calle 9 # 02-13, Bogota, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
728 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It´s a amazing place, I was feeling very comfortable, I was feeling great with the other people, The bedroom was very quiet. I love the decoration, the rustic touch, the flowers, the lights, the colours,the attention, the kindness. It´s the other level. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Ich hatte eine wunderbare Zeit in diesem gemütlichen Hostel in einer so lauten Stadt! Vielen, vielen Dank, dass ihr den Anfang meiner Reise so schön gestaltet habt! Ich komme wieder!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel that I warmed to over my stay. Met some awesome people and there are two GORGEOUS dogs. Staff are lovely (FYI they speak very limited English). Wifi is good. I definitely recommend a 4 bed dorm or private as the 10bed is cramped. Area is safe so long as you keep an eye out and don't go walking alone at night. 24hr reception was great.


40%

After 3 months in SA, this was the worst hostel yet. The private room was so tiny we hardly had space for our bags on the ground. Half way through the night the bed broke in the middle, we kept rolling into each other and didn't sleep. The staff couldn't speak English so we couldn't explain why we didn't want to stay a second night. They put us on the phone with the owner, who said 'Darling, if you don't want to pay a second night, we'll just charge your credit card, welcome to Columbia'


57%

Aside from the beds we slept in, the bathroom shower flooded every time and there weren't enough bathrooms for all the occupants. the front bedroom was NOISY...the staff didn't even bother to whisper when answering the door. clearly the other comments mention the noise level, but they aren't working on that. you hear everything if you stay near the front. its small and staff were 'semi' helpful... (vivian??was bubbly and nice to interact with!:)). stay a few doors down at Anandamayi Hostel!


100%

Muchas Gracias!!!! a todos es como volver a mi hogar ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Carlos!!!!!!!!!!! Esta es tu casa! ESperamos no vengas a saludar durante tu estadia en nuestra ciudad, tienes una familia en Bogota. Cuenta con nosotros, no dudes en llamarme si necesitas algo, esres un huesped soñado, te escribe Alegria mi cel es 313 4191288. Mucha suerte en la U.

49%

When we arrived, the hostess did not smile and the hostel was very disorderly and not welcoming or clean place to walk in. The website is TOTALLY misleading in how the hostel looks!!! he hostess played rap and reggaeton music very loudly until night time. The next day it was better and the hostess was cheerful and kind, but the first impression was not good. Also we had mistakenly thought there were private bathrooms. It just didn't end up being a good fit for what we were expecting.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Ein Hostel das mich rundum zufrieden gestellt hat. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die familiäre Atmosphäre, das hilfsbereite Personal sowie der sehr gute Service. Falls ich nochmal nach Bogota komme, definitiv wieder Alegria's Hostel :)

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place friendly staff clean rooms Strongly recommend this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
wow Kim thanks for take a time for make a beutyfull review! Welcome always at home, we hope to see you soon.

100%

L'ambiance à l'alegira's hostal vraiment bien , on s y sent comme a la maison, le staff est vraiment serviable et gentil et c est vraiment un endoit ou j'ai jamais eu peur de laisser mes affaires sans cadenas et lockers...etc je remercie Viviana, Eduardo, José pour mon sejours de deux semaines et j ai fais connaisances de tres bonne personne durant mon sejour! Vraiment je le recommande apres si on cherche un gros hostal c est pas celui la qu'on va prendre, ici c est plus typique et local! i love

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time at alegrias! Great location and attracted a really cool, mellow but fun crowd. Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are great, thats why you get the best expiriens where ever you are. People like you make our beutyfulll atmospher.Thanks for your coment and please come back soon

57%

Solo me quede una noche.. deberian anunciar la condición real de la instalación, en el sentido de que deberían señalarlo de una manera mas conservadora y real, no tengo nada en contra de las cosas básicas y sencillas, pero pienso q deberían hacer los ajustes pertinentes para competir y ofrecer algo mas competitivo. Espero mi comentario sea tomado en el sentido constructivo y no negativo.


100%

Staying at Alegria's Hostel was nothing short of an awesome experience. Alegria makes you feel like you are at home, and offers travel tips, and ginger tea when you're sick (as I was). There are two big, sweet, gentle dogs, which adds to the feeling of security that the heavy, locked front door provides. The place is absolutely charming, comfortable and safe. The staff is incredibly warm and welcoming. I'm staying again when I return to Bogota in two weeks after traveling a bit.

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amanda Wow, Thanks this is flowers for us, we love to ready this beutyfull comment, thank! This is your house, always we will be here for you, always welcome. Thanks!

77%

Very helpful staff and a nice clean comfortable hostel. The private room was lovely.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Esme, thaks for your time here, thanks for beutyfull comment. This hostel is just love, from people that are happy for to know pleople like you. We love to do this for people like you. Come back soon. Thanks!!!!

100%

Un lugar muy acogedor te sientes en tu casa, las personas encargadas te hacen sentir de la familia, gracias vivi, tu trabajo es excelente, gracias jose, gracias eduardo, gran compañía, muy buena atención, es un lugar muy recomendable, espero volver :D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Carlos eres un divino, mil gracias por tan lindo comentario, esta casa es feliz de tenerte de vuelta algun dia visitandonos, cuenta con nosotros, bienvenido siempre

74%

The place has a perfect location. The neighborhood is good for those who want visit some museums, eat good and cheap food, walk around and feel the young people that moves the culture of bogota. But the staff knows almost no English and nothing about what it's nice to do around. The house is beautiful but it seems to be a little bit abandoned. My room had a terrible smell of humidity and no hot water on the two days. Poor breakfast also! Got potential but needs more attention!


100%

The staff was kind, helpful, and welcoming. The facilities were clean and the breakfast was wonderful! I can't say enough about how much I love this hostel.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Melanie, Thanksssss! We love you too, we will love to have you here soon. This is your house, realy thanks for your beutyfull coments.

80%

I would give this place 3 out of 5. Not enough electric sockets available, especially not in the dorms area and you need to pay 5,000 COP for renting a towel if you're staying in the dorm. No places to hang your clothes in the not so great nor cleaned shower. Small lockers are around the lobby. None for the equipment. The staff are great and the location is fanatic. As I've, I would give this place 3 out of 5.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel! Good to meet people and as central as you can get.. Allegria is hot too.. Just saying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS! LOVELY COMMENT!

91%

Ein gutes Hostel in dem ich für 2 Tage Halt machte! Nette Mitarbeiter, gute Lage und ein leckeres Frühstück (Croissants, Kaffee und Rührei). Hätte mir nur gerne einen Bezug für die Bettdecken gewünscht. Ansonsten war das Alegria's ein gute Wahl

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por el comentario, estaremos siempre atentos a mejorar cada dia y hacer de sus vacaciones un momento inolvidable de sus vidas, esto es Colombia, no nos olviden, y regresen pronto, esta es su casa, su hogar en Bogota

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Bogota Hostels

Please give us your feedback