X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alex House Reviews

Borgo dei Greci 13, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
303 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Liked my room,spacious and clean . Safe hostel friendly staff


77%

Turning off Wi-Fi at 11 pm was hard because we would get home late and couldn't plan for the next day. 1 bathroom for 10 or more people was a pain to get a shower in the morning.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff were really friendly and helpful,, we had a lovely stay.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

There is no air conditioning - if you leave the window open, however, you will hear the very loud church bells that go off every hour. Apparently you can request towels, but we didn't know this because they were not offered when we checked in. We also lost a whole morning of our very short time in Florence because our lock jammed and we were stuck in our room until 11am when they could get someone out to fix it.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent location close to the station, river and historic centre. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Strong wifi


80%

Towels were not included in the price of the room, but nevermind - great location (3 minutes from anywhere...), friendly staff, okayish beds (two of them were bunk beds), fairly modern bathroom and very affordable price made us book another night in the same place for later. Check-in was early, but no probs leaving our stuff there, guarded behind locks.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Pros: - Perfect location - Safe - Friendly Staff Cons: - No WiFi in the rooms - WiFi in the common area is TURNED OFF at 10-11pm and isn't enabled until ~10am - No air con in the room, we cooked.


94%

The staff and location really made out trip here great. The staff were very helpful and enthusiastic. They answered all of our questions. The location is perfect. It is located in the middle of Florence's old city. Thank you for a great stay.


97%

Fab location right in the heart of Florence, surrounded by cafes and restaurants, everything is within 5mins walk. The staff were very friendly and always smiling. We stayed in a very spacious private room with a view out onto a nice little courtyard. Very peaceful hostel got a good nights sleep.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

My only issue was that on checkout day I had a hard time finding any staff to give my key to, and other guests had the same problem. I understand that with such a small hostel the staff can't be everywhere, but it would have been nice to have a number to call or something. I was late for my taxi.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry for your taxi but you had the keys, in fact, to give maximum freedom to our customers we say to leave the keys on the desk if they have to leave the 'hostel early in the morning or during the night, also if the customer wishes, we can book a taxi for any time of day or night for free. Anyway thanks for your high evaluation of our hostel

83%

Sharing one bathroom for the floor was very inconvenient.


89%

TV in room not working. Have to rent towels. TV not as important but renting towels was not expected. Hard to pack towels when you are traveling with limited baggage. We just had backpacks.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome location!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We were a triple ensuite and had a very large apartment. Lots of room clean comfortable.Staff was great and helped with recommendations , great value. Found a GREAT gelato place close by called Romana. Would definitely recommend Alex house ! How many people can say their home has been in the family for 500 years!

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Location. Very spacious apartment beautiful bathroom


80%

This place is one of the best locations you can stay in Florence. Florence is pretty small and everything is walkable and Alex House is very close to many of the things you would want to do.


89%

Very helpful with printing out tickets/ boarding passes etc. Very accommodating with allowing early check in and storage of luggage after check out

  • 24th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location very close to all sites. Staff ssuper nice and very helpful.


83%

It was a very nice place to stay, great location.


100%

The staff were delightful and extremely helpful ,the locality and the facilities were exemplary. Large and clean room.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(230 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback