X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alexandrie-Montréal Reviews

1750 Amherst, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1548 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We had a very nice stay at the hostel. The staff and all of the people there were very friendly and helpful. The huge lounge with connected kitchen on first floor invites to hang out and meet people. The hostel is also very well located, so you can reach everything you need by foot. Tip: On the first day we did a walking tour which was offered by one of the staff members and for free. Cool guide, cool facts and nice way to explore the city! Highly recommended

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay with Alexandrie-Montréal. The staff was really friendly and helpful, because they go the extra effort to make sure that guests are comfortable and feel right at home. The hostel was clean, and it had a very cosy and homely atmosphere about it. Would definitely return if I visit Montréal again.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

My stay at Alexandrie was a very pleasant experience. The hospitality staff is warm, dynamic and proactive. Some of them would stay up late at night and get up early to serve the clients with the same energy and enthusiasm of someone who had a full night of sleep. I would not hesitate a minute to hire people like them to manage the B&B I am about to open in the Caribbean.

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Haiti
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A breath of fresh air, gone is the stagnant and sterile atmosphere so commo. Here felt welcome and part of life here from day one. Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities though basic cover all basses. Had student diggs vibe. The free laundry after 6 awesome. Great place to explore Montreal from and meet great people. Word of warning though if what you want if a hotel on the cheep maybe not place for you. Showers semi communal and toilets down stairs from rest of placE top 2 favorite hostel.

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The people that run the hostel are very friendly and make the effort to relate to their guests and learn there names etc. They provided good security for personal items and cheap accomodation

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent atmosphere and great value. Ended up staying for 1.5 weeks.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! Lounge area was really easy to meet people in and the hostel manage Kader was really great. He gave us a small presentation on the city and was a delight to talk to after traveling for a while. Would definitely stay here again and recommend. Only thing that was problematic was if you do not get an ensuite bathroom you might have to walk down a few flights of stairs to go to the bathroom so if that is a problem for you then get an ensuite.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing experience at this hostel. Fabulous staff who were very welcoming and helpful. Awesome atmosphere. Highly recommend!

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff very friendly, wonderful room! And very close to old Montreal, Biodome, etc...

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice. Everything was clean and in working order. The people at the desk knew a great deal of information and they were nothing short of nice and accommodating. The room was great. It was nice having our own kitchen to save up on food.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff was very friendly as were the other guests. A great environment to meet other travelers.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely one of the great hostel in the are if not the best . The staff were beyond amazing ( specially Kader) ... Always Going the extra miles to help you in order to make your staying more comfortable. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. WIFI signal is very strong and it works very fast. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. So you should definitely book this hostel If you visit Montreal .

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I didn't want to leave. This hostel is a special place, so far it's the best hostel I have stayed in. That's simply because of the atmosphere it has created & maintains. It is very easy to relax there because of how welcoming the staff are towards guests combined with a good group of volunteers & long stays supporting them makes you quickly feel very comfortable. The hostel organises plenty of trips & tours around Montreal. The Alexandrie is a very unique place. Highly recommended! :)


83%

Great hostel. The location is close to the major metro hub, and the staff is warm and professional. The facilities weren't fancy, but everything worked. The common room has a repurposed industrial feel and a friendly, chilled-out vibe.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

So friendly!!! Staff even helped me find a parking space! 20 mins from the old town and next to the village.... I really loved it here. Plus on arrival I was given a map and all the spots marked on, this was a god send when I got lost! Cannot speak more highly, excellent!


100%

Alexandrie Hostel is the place to stay in Montreal!!! A unique atmosphere is created by a very colorful "living room" that is perfectly equipped with kitchen facility (everything you need to cook any food) and the staff is supportive whenever you have any questions. They arrange activities for the travellers (guided tour by "H" who provides very interesting information about Montreal, Pumpkincaving for Halloween, Around-the-world quiz, etc) almost everyday which certainly brings people together!


100%

What a hostel! Has to be one of the best I've stayed in Canada. If you are looking for a place where you can relax and hang out with a whole host of other people in a large common area this is the Hostel to head to. The staff are incrediible, Hernan led a awesome walking tour and sorted us out with anything we would need during our time in Montreal.


97%

This is what all hostel should be like. You feel at home straightaway. Cool vibe, lockers, good wifi, not over crowded or too quiet. If you're looking to meet people and hangout this is the place. Do the free walking tour on Sunday! Thanks guys!


80%

I had a short stay but it was a great one!


94%

Great vibe and location for a soft price.

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(80 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback