Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alface Bairro Alto Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 655 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 655 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Alface Bairro Alto Hostel Located at Rua do Norte N 98 1ESQ., , Lisbon.
Alface Bairro Alto Hostel
Portugal
Lisbon Rua do Norte N� 98 1�ESQ.
85% 655
38.7128231 -9.1437149
Alface Bairro Alto Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Oct 2016
6.6

Not the best. We had a private double with ensuite but the shower was prison quality and there was only cold water in the sink. No air conditioning so in the summer it would be unbearable. The breakfast was nothing more than corn flakes or white bread with jam and coffee or tea, which is possibly the worst hostel breakfast I have seen so far. Our room was so small that we could barely move around our stuff. And the ground in dirt everywhere made the whole place seem dingy and old.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
4.9

dirty. just dirty and no security at all. stuff very friendly and helpful though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
9.1

Nice place for people who like to be in the middle of the party. If you like to be quiet is not the place. I really enjoy it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rodriguesdelano
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.4

Excellent location. Night life is just at your door step. Only downside is it noisy at nights specifically when your tired and need rest. There is also construction going on in the neighbourhood I would lightly recommended this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.7

Super nice staff. Nice central location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel is really beautiful and the kitchen is great, you have everything you need. It's directly in Bairro Alto so it's perfect for partying and you can reach almost everything of interest by foot or easily by metro. The only downside is sleeping: it's either way too loud when the window's open (oropax do help, though) or you can't breathe because the air is too hot and stuffy. But we can definitely recommend this hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
7.7

The hostel itself is nice, but I really didn't enjoy the location. It's located on a very loud street, making it hard to get some sleep. If you're just looking for a place to crash after a night out, this place would be great. But don't come looking for a nice relaxing time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Really loud and I don't mean the streets outside, even the hostel reception didn't have quiet hours. Facility is clean and nice otherwise and good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

I stay in a lot of hostels. I mean a LOT. The Alface was one of the best experiences I have ever had with a hostel and its staff. Not to say that all will enjoy a place so central and around streets with people, but the experience was so much more about the space within. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, and they don't charge for small things like a day of bag check while one changes location. To me, these are really noteworthy. Also clean and comfy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2016
7.7

Located right in the heart of town. Do to this it is noisy at night. Pack your earplugs and you shouldn't have a problem. The only issue I had were the showers. They could do with a bit of a clean up. Great place though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.