Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alfama Patio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1817 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jul 2017
8.3

Alfama Patio Hostel is a super beautiful spot and situated in the best neighborhood of Lisbon. Unfortunately I wasn't able to take advantage of all of the cool events and activities Alfama puts on but would be a great way to meet other people especially for my fellow solo travelers. The few people I did meet were amazing. The patio views are amazing and are worth it alone. Rooms are nice and spacious and have the bed curtains which is a huge plus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
9.7

We absolutely loved our stay in Lisbon. This hostel is amazing as it is very cute and has a great atmosphere. I would fully recommend taking part in the pub crawl as it was one of the best nights we've had. I would also recommend paying the €3 for breakfast as the pancakes are amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
6.3

Lacked atmosphere and was difficult to meet younger travellers. The receptionist was very disinterested and took way longer to check me in than it should've taken. Rooms are basic, safes didn't work and the shower was mouldy. People left rooms unlocked. The area is a bit far from the main hub of Lisbon but fine if you want a more relaxed vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.0

Great staff! Great location if u love and old city.Not clean though.. The bathroom and toilets stunk and is so small u can barely fit in them.. really uncomfortable :/ Beside that,awesome place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • zandillanos190
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Alfama Patio was a chill spot to meet cool travelers and take awesome tours. I highly recommend the beach tour in Sesimbra and the Fado tour. Both are very magical.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.3

This hostel is amazing! The team is amazing and makes you feel like at home If you're travelling on your own this is the place to go. Everyone talk to each other and the team try to make people meet. If you have a chance try the food there it is AMAZING and so cheap it's unbelievable. It would be a shame to miss it. The hostel would need a good clean and refurbishing. One of the shower didn't work and no hot water which made take a shower a challenge Thank you for the best time !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ashaelizabetht1075
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.3

This hostel is beautiful! I really only cared about wandering Alfama, so it was the perfect location. Also, I only had from about 10pm until 2pm the next day. The staff were very nice, the patio is gorgeous! I did not eat their breakfast - there are great cafes nearby so I suggest venturing. The only downfall I can see is the room is very dark and felt unwelcoming. The bathroom was pretty gross, but since I was barely there it didn't matter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.0

If you like staying in hostels then this is one of the best. Beautiful patios to hang out on. Pity smoking is allowed. Only 6 people per room, small loos though. Nice kitchen is always available to guests with full facilities and central location for walking in alfama. The no.28 tram is ALWAYS FULL!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
7.7

Great hostel. Location is really Nice, walking distance to everything. And the Place i really lovely. The toilet on the first floor is not very good, its placed in the reception and it feels a bit weird. By dorm was located Close to the reception and the staff was talking REALLY loud and it woke us up super early in the morning. Bring ear plugs. Good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.4

The staff were exceptional and very helpful for our stay in Lisbon as well as gave very useful advice for further travel in Portugal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.