X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alfama Patio Hostel Reviews

Escolas Gerais, 3, Patio dos Quintalinhos 1, Lisbon, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1333 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

All about this hostel was good! It's really secure place and also staffs were super kind, friendly and so helpful. I definitely enjoyed lisboa while i was staying here :)

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

If you want to explore the old town area of Lisbon, living here is your best option. You will be "forced" to explore this district. I love the breakfast every morning here :) The staffs are super friendly! The only bad thing maybe that the toilet and bathroom is quite small. The hostel is a bit difficult to find at the beginning. However, once you find the tram rail, you can always find the hostel by following the tram rail (or just take tram 23 back home every night like what I did :p)


100%

Definitely the best hostel I've been to! Not only are is the hostel itself great ( and btw the breakfast is amazing, make sure you have some of those crepes they make ;)) but you can also have access to the 'co-family' hostels located downtown and use their facilities! Most of all tho, the staff is *awesome* which makes things even better!!!


89%

great place would stay again

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Cannot speak highly enough of the staff here! They are incredibly helpful and pleasant, and definitely a highlight of my stay. The view from the terrace is lovely, and both rooms I stayed in were neat and tidy. Oh and the crepes at breakfast were amazing!


91%

Staff Andre was super helpful. He really went beyond to make sure his guests are comfortable staying at the hostel. It is a small yet homey hostel. The people we met were also very laid back and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The gate to the hostel is a little hard to find, but well worth it! Ringing the bell to enter every time can be a hassle, but you know you're secure. We checked in with the friendly and informative staff, got a quick rundown of the "charming mess" that is Alfama, and were led through the lovely patio area to our spacious and adorable room. The bathroom was tiny, but hot water was plentiful. Breakfast offerings were fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and buttery pancakes.


97%

If there was an option like exceptional, amazing, perfect or all these together (especially for staff) that will be my choice! With my eyes closed!

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A wonderful stay in the most authentic lisbon quarter. Alfama Patio Hostel is located in my favourite lisbon area, the Alfama quarter. A cozy building with a great terrace which is divided into two different levels, one of them overlooking the sea, the perfect place to chill out after "climbing" through the different lisbon hills. Special mention deserve all the reception team, always eager to help with every need. Big New Year´s Eve Hug for both Joanas. Hope to see you around Seville some day!

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

lovely hostel tucked away in Alfama, Lisboa. Great location, close to the tram stop. Very nice pancake breakfast! Helpful staff. happy happpy


83%

This is a great, chilled and very homey hostel! Staff are all great, friendly and helpful! Great spaces to relax or have a drink and meet people if you want to! Staff cook dinner most nights, great to have a cheap good feed and meet other hostel dwellers! Only one female and male toilet in lower area which was annoying but other facilities were very good, showers and kitchen. Wifi cut out quite a bit which annoyed me when I wanted to skype family. But my time in Lisbon was a great one!


80%

The location is not easy to find but the staff's is so awesome. The check out day they'd close to update, and I over late the promise time back. She is still waiting for me, pretty appreciated.


97%

icredible view for breakfast form the terasse, very friendly and fun staff. loved it!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely fab stay, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and conscientious! Great breakfast/dinner, nice location, hot showers, would absolutely stay again!:D


91%

located in lovely old town of Lisbon,it might be easy to get lost between small lanes but it's a great experience! The hostel is well-organized and with helpful reception,you'll not regret to stay here during your Lisbon days. Forgot to mention,the mattress is super thick to have a sweet dream and the breakfast is great. will definitely stay there again if I go back.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayed for one week in November by myself and couldn't fault it. Location is great, only 10 mins walk or cheap taxi to the centre. Staff were very friendly and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere that I loved. Tours provided through the hostel were fun and a fair price, especially the bar crawls and BBQ which were great fun. If you're looking for an all night crazy party hostel, this place isn't for you. Would highly recommend to anyone travelling alone or with a small group.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really lovely little hostel!! So cosy and the staff were so helpful and knowledgable. The hostel was so welcoming and offered free walking tours everyday as well as other tours which were fantastic!!! Really great!! Will be staying here again 😊

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've stayed at in ages! Lucas and Joanna are awesome and very helpful. Free pancakes for breakfast is totally worth getting up for. Right in the old town is a great location and you can hang outta either of the other two hostels. Meet a great group of people and on the weekend there is always someone to drink with. Would definitely stay again!


94%

Great hostel! Atmosphere was incredible and I wouldn't hesitate to book here again. The beds are super cool, they've got a great kitchen to cook your own meals and save on money, and lots of activities planned to spend your time. You can also go into anyone of their other 2 sister hostels to use facilities or change rooms at no extra cost. Staff is welcoming and very helpful!


94%

Loved this hostel. Amazing atmosphere... Met so many interesting people. Great food, excellent outside area. Loved staying in the oldest part of town! Great tours available, very different and unique. Very cool that it has 2 other sister hostels you can visit! Out of all 3 this one had the most "at home" vibe. Everyone became friends... This hostel made us fall in love with Lisbon!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Lisbon Hostels

Please give us your feedback