Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alfama Patio Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2017
8.0

Great location in old Lisbon, helpful staff, breakfast provided. The balcony catches the sun and my room mates were lovely. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th May 2017
7.1

Good things: the ambiance (the hammocks and patio were nice), the included breakfast Eh: the staff, the facilities (beds and ensuite bathroom did not look like the pictures with wallpaper falling off the walls and the top bunks were super difficult to climb) Not near the main sights of Lisbon so if you want to see monuments and other parts of Lisbon easily I would recommend staying somewhere more central, the Alfama neighborhood is cool but not centrally located. Just okay overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2017
10.0

Great place to stay, lovely staff, good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.4

As homely and hip as always. Always someone interesting to talk to

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
7.4

Staff are *fantastic*! Especially Philip who was endlessly helpful, good natured and welcoming. Really nice common hangout areas and terrific breakfast. The bathrooms are not big enough to turn around in with nowhere to put clothes or towel when showering and they were not clean. The "ensuite" bathroom (read: tiny closet converted to bathroom), and was *right* next to the beds with just a sliding door and zero ventilation, so the room was smelly and unpleasant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
9.7

Good stay. Nice staff. Good arrangements for cooking. May comeback soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
8.3

Amazing location in the heart of Alfama. Lovely patio/rooftop. Staff was great. Breakfast was ok. The private double I had was alright (fantastic balcony views but TERRIBLE mattress & would be difficult to find space for 2 ppl's luggage). I don't mind shared bathrooms but this situation was pretty bad with only one toilet and shower (which were in the same TINY room) for the private rooms. It was also weird that the advertised events didn't take place at this hostel but their other location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
9.4

I absolutely loved this place! It was easy to get to the train station and other touristic locations. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast was delicious! I loved waking up to freshly made pancakes and getting to bask in the sun in the top terrace

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.7

Great staff, atmosphere, location. Loved being in the heart of Alfama district. Liked they offered activities if that's what you enjoy (I did just the barbacue night). My only (minor) complaint is that there are a lot of 'little' differred maintenance things (loose, broken) that need tending to which would make the experience even better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
9.7

Could not believe I was staying in a hostel for under €20 while I sat on the sunny patio with an ocean view listening to Tram 28 go by and enjoying my compimentary nutella pancake breakfast and coffee. Blew my mind. Located in Alfama which is absolutely precious, especially in the evenings if you're looking for Fado and Sangria, and a 15 min walk to the center. Staff are warm and extremely helpful, facilities clean and in working order, the beds comfortable and spaced out with room to move.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.